Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1

    Point SubDomain to a different IP

    Hello
    I have one problem which I like to resolve. I have domain.com pointed to xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx IP (everything is working fine with the domain).

    But now I want to make something like this. When users will enter a1.subdomain.com, I want them to be redireced in a different IP.

    How can I do this? Should I add any record to my domain registrar dns managment? Or everything is done from my domain server WHM?

    Regards
    Kristi

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Good question
    Posts
    693
    That should be done from your DNS panel. If you didn't change your domain nameservers from the registrar's ones, then most likely, it'll be in your registrar's panel somewhere.
    Use an A record to point it to the needed IP.
    Last edited by Wintereise; 03-25-2011 at 08:27 AM. Reason: Typo'd, doh

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    India
    Posts
    224
    Hello,

    Is the new IP in the same server or another server ?

    In both cases the You need to add A record to that IP and change the hosting to the new IP.
    Techs4GNU :: Remote Tech Support & Server Management
    Per server support and Shared Team Specialists
    support[at]nixtree.com
    Cpanel Per Server Management Plan

  4. #4
    The new IP is on another server. Please advise me what to do step by step.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    31
    Hi,

    You can do this via your WHM by pointing this subdomain to the correct IP address.

    Please go through the following tutorial, this will help you in editing the zone file.

    ==========
    http://docs.cpanel.net/twiki/bin/vie...MDocs/EditZone
    ==========
    I work in Linux for a living, Going from windows to Linux is like buying a Rolls Royce for zero dollers

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Bharat
    Posts
    4,722
    Quote Originally Posted by KristiKristo View Post
    The new IP is on another server. Please advise me what to do step by step.
    You don't have to create a subdomain in this scenario.

    Just add an A record for that subdomain in the zone file (use zone editor in WHM) of the main domain. And on the destination server create an account for that subdomain to accept connection (for apache) and serve content.
    Vinsar.Net - Quality Web Hosting at Economical Price on USA & European Servers
    Offering domains, shared, reseller & VPS hosting.
    Reliable Domain Reseller Account Resell Domains with Confidence

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    India
    Posts
    224
    Hello KristiKristo,

    Steps by steps to set up subdomain.

    - Setup subdomain in remote server.
    - Edit the DNS zone file for the main domain and point the subdomain to the IP where the subdomain hosted.
    Techs4GNU :: Remote Tech Support & Server Management
    Per server support and Shared Team Specialists
    support[at]nixtree.com
    Cpanel Per Server Management Plan

Similar Threads

  1. Subdomain to point on subdomain on another domain
    By Tiger's Way in forum Web Hosting
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-17-2010, 02:00 AM
  2. Subdomain point to ip?
    By codek in forum Hosting Security and Technology
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 10-20-2004, 03:41 AM
  3. point subdomain to gameserver ip?
    By monkey2499 in forum Hosting Security and Technology
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-03-2004, 08:35 PM
  4. subdomain point to host B?
    By ayabrea in forum Domain Names
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-28-2004, 06:03 PM
  5. How do i point subdomain.mydomain.com to subdomain.anotherdomain.com
    By bala in forum Hosting Software and Control Panels
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-27-2003, 10:58 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •