Question Need suggestions on Equipments

Hi All,

First time poster here, and long time reader of this forum

Going straight to the point, my managed/semi-managed hosting business is at a turning point due to acquiring good sized customer, and my upstream possibly going out of business!

The CEO/President of the company offered myself to take over Force10 E300, but I can not justify myself purchasing such a beast (for $$$$$)

Currently within the network, I have following equipments.

x2 Force10 E300 Router (**This will be taken away from me soon**)
    x19 Cisco 2960 24/48 Ports mix and match (Connected via fiber)
    x480 Servers (mostly 1U, 10Mbps customers)

Total bandwidth usage:
    95%tile : 1.28Gbps
    Peak : 1.89Gbps

I am not a network engineer and would truly appreciate if pros can lead me to a right product. I did look at Cisco 6503-e but after everything, it's just out of my price range... My budgets are around $10K.

I also am considering about acquiring 2x bandwidth provider and acquire my own ASN.

My only concerns are not being able to provide my friends/customers with right products and services... Loans are not an option as I just put a huge deposit to build out a second cage for racks to be built.

You can find a lot in the used market that will work for you around the $10K mark (and even way under it). I would normally suggest a Juniper, but it looks like you really need more of a core switch. A 6500-series chassis would work fine and they are very inexpensive used. If you don't need full routes, you could start out with a SUP720-3B (non-XL) version and take carrier routes only from your two future providers. At your bandwidth levels, I think you could get by with a WS-6724-SFP or similar line card and be perfectly OK. You could get it all (and probably even a spare SUP) for your budget.