Newbie at dedicated servers

Hi all

First off, I am very new to servers and hosting etc. I usually use shared, but that no longer meets my needs.

I have purchased a computer server, which I believe has enough specs to host what I want, however I am stuck on the software and OS Side.

I dont know if I should go with windows or linux, my experience and knowledge with linux is very minimal (I cant even install a piece of software "ISPConfig3"), my experience with windows is greater, but not good with the windows server operating system (Specifically 2008) is there a operating system anyone can recommend that would be easier to troubleshoot, and of course allow me to install control panels for managing email setups and health etc?

Secondly, this is the harder part, I have a domain and I need to setup my server to connect the nameservers with, I dont know how to do this?

any help would be greatly appreciated. sorry if this is a little hard to understand, if it is I will re-write

Thanks

Depending on your needs, if you will only use php/mysql, then linux is better.

If you want asp/asp.net/mssql, better go for windows.

But then, you need to make sure you get a fully managed server so you do not have to worry about software installation.
    Specially 4 You
    JoneSolutions.Com ( Jones.Solutions ) is on the net 24/7 providing stable and reliable web hosting solutions and services since 2001

I personally prefer CentOS (Linux) as the OS.
    It will be much easier to manage if you just want to use hosting.
    You can try many free hosting panels. cPanel is the most widely used and easy. You get ready made OS templates which will get you started ASAP.
    Just ask your DC to install it for you.
    Softaculous - Auto Installer for cPanel, Direct Admin, InterWorx, Plesk, H-Sphere
    The only Auto Installer that installs 260+ scripts. Install in just ONE STEP!
    Virtualizor - VPS Control Panel supporting OpenVZ, Xen, KVM and has 60+ OS Templates