Results 1 to 21 of 21
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    1,320

    Question Is there any way to speed up RDP?

    There is a lot of lag, is there any way to make it more smooth?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    /dev/null
    Posts
    2,131
    Citrix XenApp, but it's not free.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    /dev/null
    Posts
    2,131
    Also, use a client that allows you to see it with 256 colors only (instead of 16/32 bit). The normal RDP6 client that comes with windows doesn't support 256 colors anymore on its interface, but if you use Terminals (terminals.codeplex.com) then you can still use that color depth and speed up the screen loading.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    India
    Posts
    222
    How much is your bandwidth speed?
    Thanks,
    Netedge Technology 24x7 webhosting support, Monthly server management, Dedicated support.
    Nelichso Live chat support software

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    the hot aisle
    Posts
    557
    I'd imagine you're not looking for an answer like "disable desktop background?"

    Are you looking for things like registry tweaks?

    RDP was designed for a connection with a moderate amount of latency. You can tweak the setting by editing "[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\Terminal Server\WinStations\RDP-Tcp]" in the server's registry. Edit [InteractiveDelay] to a lower value than the default of 50, see if that improves performance.
    BudgetVM - The Virtualization Experts
    Mike Gazzerro, Account Manager
    Chicago, Miami, Dallas, Los Angeles
    Wholly owned by Enzu Inc., an Inc500 Company.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    1,320
    Quote Originally Posted by thewebedge View Post
    How much is your bandwidth speed?
    I am on a 3mbps DSL line and the server is on a gigabit port.

    Quote Originally Posted by zomgmike View Post
    I'd imagine you're not looking for an answer like "disable desktop background?"

    Are you looking for things like registry tweaks?

    RDP was designed for a connection with a moderate amount of latency. You can tweak the setting by editing "[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\Terminal Server\WinStations\RDP-Tcp]" in the server's registry. Edit [InteractiveDelay] to a lower value than the default of 50, see if that improves performance.
    Looking for all tweaks to improve the lagging. Do I tweak that registry value in my computer or the server?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    the hot aisle
    Posts
    557
    Quote Originally Posted by chasebug View Post
    Looking for all tweaks to improve the lagging. Do I tweak that registry value in my computer or the server?
    The server
    BudgetVM - The Virtualization Experts
    Mike Gazzerro, Account Manager
    Chicago, Miami, Dallas, Los Angeles
    Wholly owned by Enzu Inc., an Inc500 Company.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    3,807
    Quote Originally Posted by chasebug View Post
    I am on a 3mbps DSL line and the server is on a gigabit port.
    Move to 640x480, drop down colours, turn off sound, don't replicate clipboard, don't replicate sound, don't replicate any drives or share anything

  9. #9
    Your bandwidth is good enough to run.
    Are you sure you are getting the 3MBPS ?
    Softaculous - Auto Installer for cPanel, Direct Admin, InterWorx, Plesk, H-Sphere
    The only Auto Installer that installs 260+ scripts. Install in just ONE STEP!
    Virtualizor - VPS Control Panel supporting OpenVZ, Xen, KVM and has 60+ OS Templates
    Webuzo - Softaculous for the Cloud i.e. Softaculous Standalone

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    81
    What ping do you get to the server?

    That is mostly the #1 issue

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    1,320
    Quote Originally Posted by quantumphysics View Post
    Move to 640x480, drop down colours, turn off sound, don't replicate clipboard, don't replicate sound, don't replicate any drives or share anything
    Thanks, will try all those.

    Quote Originally Posted by alons View Post
    Your bandwidth is good enough to run.
    Are you sure you are getting the 3MBPS ?
    I am monitoring the bandwidth speed and it downloads about 30kb/s to 70kb/s from the RDP port.

    Quote Originally Posted by Badmanh View Post
    What ping do you get to the server?

    That is mostly the #1 issue
    Tried to ping the IP, returned with 100 165 42 116ms

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    3,807
    Quote Originally Posted by chasebug View Post
    Thanks, will try all those.



    I am monitoring the bandwidth speed and it downloads about 30kb/s to 70kb/s from the RDP port.



    Tried to ping the IP, returned with 100 165 42 116ms
    I hope that's 142 or else there's an issue somewhere

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Ashburn VA, San Diego CA
    Posts
    4,571
    logmein.com instead of RDP will usually speed things up significantly, especially over latent connections.
    Fast Serv Networks, LLC | AS29889 | Fully Managed Cloud, Streaming, Dedicated Servers, Colo by-the-U
    Since 2003 - Ashburn VA + San Diego CA Datacenters

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Raleigh, NC
    Posts
    816
    Can you provide more info on your platform? Is it a dedicated server? VPS? That may help in assisting you. You shouldn't need to tweak any of the default RDP settings. It's probably not an issue in that regard.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Kshatriya
    Posts
    2,725
    1. Disable Visual Effects, Screen-savers, etc..
    2. Change RDP color setting.
    Dewlance® Cheap Windows VPS - Chicago/Orlando/Vegas/AZ - SSD
    WHMCS ReadyMadeKB - Tutorials for cPanel/InterWorx/Softaculous& Growing..
    Super Cheap Annually Shared Hosting - Canada/US/UK

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    597
    Make sure you have an up to date client. RDP7 has major performance enhancement over pervious versions.

    You could also look at tunneling over NX.

  17. #17
    RDP is slow? To be honest, every other client I've tried has been FAR slower then RDP.

  18. #18
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    238
    Quote Originally Posted by thezombiehunter View Post
    RDP is slow? To be honest, every other client I've tried has been FAR slower then RDP.
    Then you haven't tried a lot of rdp alternatives.

    To the OP, RDP doesn't work well with high latency or with huge variation/lag. You may try other rdp clients other than the built in windows client which usually perform better in such cases.

  19. #19
    Don't use high resolution and 32bit color.

  20. #20
    You should look at Ericom Blaze, a software product that accelerates RDP performance by up to 25 times, and helps deliver higher frame rates and reduce screen freezes and choppiness.

    Ericom Blaze works with any standard RDP host, including VDI, Terminal Servers and remote physical machines.

    You can read more about Blaze and download a free evaluation by visiting Ericom dot com.

    Note: I work for Ericom

  21. #21

    RDP NEEDED!

    RDP NEEDED! DID ANY ONE HAVE AND HOW MUCH ?

Similar Threads

  1. Please Appraise : RDP.IM
    By viruz99 in forum Domain Name Appraisals
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-08-2011, 07:48 PM
  2. Need AU RDP
    By harpreetxi in forum VPS Hosting
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-20-2011, 03:43 AM
  3. RDP windows server and HDD limited speed per user
    By jessepure in forum Dedicated Server
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 10-07-2010, 11:45 AM
  4. Will 2TB b/w be enough for RDP to VM's
    By imoz in forum Dedicated Server
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-19-2008, 01:16 PM
  5. RDP Mac
    By loot in forum Dedicated Server
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 10-17-2007, 01:16 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •