Results 1 to 22 of 22
  1. #1

    PacificRack down again?

    All my sites and servers are down.

    Im getting a bit tried of the continual fiasco. I can count more than 3 occassions this has happened in so many months.

  2. #2
    Up again after about 15min.

  3. #3
    have you contacted them? Did they give you a reason? Is this isolated to a dedicated server?

  4. #4
    Nope, i have more than 1 server on multiple subnets.

  5. #5
    It might be good to contact their support department to see what is up. They should be able to tell you what the problem was. If not, PM CGotzmann, I'm sure he would be more than glad to assist you.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    627
    what lax are you at?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    L.A., CA
    Posts
    3,706
    No, we did not have downtime ....

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    California USA
    Posts
    13,294
    Quote Originally Posted by CGotzmann View Post
    No, we did not have downtime ....
    I saw downtime on a couple routes... My main monitoring node is on the PR network, there was some blips to a few areas during the OP's timeframe.

  9. #9
    So im imagining it? I lost all my ssh sessions. I tested websites on multiple boxes all returned page not founds and my email clients reported triangles indicating that it could not connect to any server. It lasted a good 15 - 20min.

  10. #10
    Quote Originally Posted by Steven View Post
    I saw downtime on a couple routes... My main monitoring node is on the PR network, there was some blips to a few areas during the OP's timeframe.
    oops, that could change things up a bit.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA
    Posts
    38
    This is due to one of our upstream having an unexpected router reboot. When their router rebooted it took some minutes/seconds while BGP found a different path to us.

    Chris should be able to provide more details when he has them.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    L.A., CA
    Posts
    3,706
    Did you get a traceroute? Please submit it to our helpdesk so we can investigate.
    We didn't get any monitors going off though it could have been isolated to a few specific routes. Though we for sure did not have an all out outage. We are checking a bit deeper now.

  13. #13
    Now if that isn't contradicting..

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA
    Posts
    38
    Quote Originally Posted by IH-Chris View Post
    Now if that isn't contradicting..
    Yes, because we were both checking it out at the same time.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    L.A., CA
    Posts
    3,706
    Quote Originally Posted by IH-Chris View Post
    Now if that isn't contradicting..
    We have many upstreams, if one of their routers rebooted it could cause some routes to be affected (the ones going over the affected backbone) until BGP re-converged.

    I'm not going to make factual statements until I have more information, we are still researching and waiting for a reply from the backbone's NOC. The one fact I do know is that the downtime was not network-wide.

    Update:
    I'm looking at all the uplinks to our backbones/peers and I see which one had the issue and we are waiting on a response from their NOC as to what happened, as the issue did not occur on our end. Looks like there was a short dip in bandwidth which jumped back to normality shortly there after.

    This is probably best a conversation for our own community forums or support desk however.

  16. #16
    Cool deal, figured you would be on it. But was confused with the previous comment.

  17. #17
    No problem thanks for looking into this.

  18. #18
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    L.A., CA
    Posts
    3,706
    Theres a thread started regarding this in our community forums (I dont think I can link to them per WHT rules), I will update it once we have more information from nLayer. It's probably a better place to discuss this.

    If the issue begins to repeat itself throughout the night, we will drop them from BGP to alleviate the issue until we have a response/resolution. Though, I would guess that it was probably just a one-time thing as nLayer is usually very reliable.

  19. #19
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Tasmania, Australia
    Posts
    34,798
    Quote Originally Posted by CGotzmann View Post
    (I dont think I can link to them per WHT rules),
    You can down here if it is pertaining to the outage.

  20. #20
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    5,158
    Quote Originally Posted by Motiv View Post
    Sorry to hear about your bad experiences with the network there. Where is PR located?
    They are located in LA, but I think they also have a location in Dallas.

  21. #21
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    850
    Quote Originally Posted by THAMAN View Post
    They are located in LA, but I think they also have a location in Dallas.
    Yes, they have DC in LA y TX

  22. #22
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA
    Posts
    38
    You can check our forum thread here: http://forum.quadranet.com/showthrea...1-1-02AM-GMT-8

    Right now the RFO is still being diagnosed. No further issues have occurred on the uplink but if any emergency maintenance is planned, we will let you know there.

Similar Threads

  1. pacificrack down
    By Peter-SexyWing in forum Providers and Network Outages and Updates
    Replies: 23
    Last Post: 05-06-2010, 11:33 PM
  2. pacificrack.com down ?
    By cubigworm in forum Dedicated Server
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 04-24-2010, 02:58 AM
  3. is pacificrack down?
    By denoxis in forum Dedicated Server
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 04-21-2010, 05:25 PM
  4. Pacificrack
    By shoupz in forum Dedicated Server
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 08-21-2008, 02:51 AM
  5. Pacificrack?
    By SWiM in forum Dedicated Server
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 03-03-2008, 09:12 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •