Smile jumping onto the train :-)

hi all

my name is randy and i just started. i am aware that i am a total newbie and i have to learn a lot of things yet. but i am not total stupid. at least i have good linux knowledge as well as php.
    so far i have built up a server from parts i got from ebay. i did not buy a complete ready to go server because i really wanted to learn the matter. what i have here now i a HP proliant DL360 G3 with 2x dual 3.2GHz CPU, 4GB Ram and 2 SCSI harddisk, each 147GB. The server has yet 1 PSU only but i just got another one on ebay as well.
    i believe that is a good start hardware-wise. i have installed ubuntu server with the latest version of EHCP which gives me as much of freedom as cPanel or confixx. for the client managing stuff i am using WHMCS.

my first question would be: i plan to start with colounlimmited the cheapest possible package to start with. since i have no customers yet i believe the 10Mbps is good enough until i host a few pages with regulary access? i must say that i live in england and i will have to send the server with fedex to the datacenter.
    is there any advice which datacenter i should use? or doen't that matter? i belive they have several datacenters, right?
    also, i have heard that if i make my prices to cheap, customers demand just to much and become cheeky etc. so i will use the average price, you guys offer. (from 5.99$ +)
    any good advise or tips you guys can spare for a absolut beginner whoch has no job and is strugling to survive but just desperately is looking for a way to make some aditional $$$ (i am just happy if in total i make 50$ a month)
    btw. as registrar i am using eNom which allows me to use their service directly from my website with a script (automated registering)

im greatfull for any ideas and tips, even if they sound stupid.
    thanks a lot for the help

randy

Hello Randy,

My advice: