Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 40 of 47
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Chile
    Posts
    43

    vps burstnet down

    addresses 184.82.2.116
    Traceroute

    Tracing route to nn [184.82.2.116]...

    hop rtt rtt rtt ip address fully qualified domain name
    1 1 1 1 70.84.211.97 61.d3.5446.static.theplanet.com
    2 1 1 0 70.87.254.5 po101.dsr02.dllstx5.networklayer.com
    3 1 2 2 70.85.127.109 po52.dsr02.dllstx3.networklayer.com
    4 1 4 0 70.87.253.29 e5-2.ibr04.dllstx3.networklayer.com
    5 4 1 1 63.218.23.25 ge5-3.br02.dal01.pccwbtn.net
    6 46 46 46 63.218.31.42 vl0019.gwy02.sctn01.hostnoc.net
    7 46 46 46 96.9.191.14 xe1-02.agg04.sctn01.hostnoc.net
    8 47 47 46 96.9.184.61 ec0-61.bf2803.sctn01.hostnoc.net
    9 * * *
    10 * * *
    11 * * *
    12 * * *
    Trace aborted


    almost two hours now...

    Anyone?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Nevada, US
    Posts
    5,433
    The node is currently being worked on.
    .
    .

  3. #3
    It's not just the VPS node... all of my web sites are down but my server is accessible via everything but port 80 so it's the burst network that is having issues.

    UGH

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    8,909
    Quote Originally Posted by poke8181 View Post
    It's not just the VPS node... all of my web sites are down but my server is accessible via everything but port 80 so it's the burst network that is having issues.

    UGH
    If everything is accessible but port 80 then it's not the BurstNET network, it would be something specific to your VPS or the server itself. If you have root access to your VPS and can login, try manually starting Apache:

    /usr/local/apache/bin/apachectl start

  5. #5
    It's a physical server not a VPS.. restarting apache was the very first thing I did

    Now everything is down, not just port 80 traffic

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Chile
    Posts
    43
    Burst oh burst, i wonder why we keep some smal VPS with this company, the support is as good as a square wheel...
    last reply two hours ago:
    note the use of the phrase "it seems" after 4 hours downtime and this is the first official reply we get.... outrageous falls VERY short...
    guess we can sit and wait for a few days, i asked for an ETA and i still got no reply at all...

    -------QUOTE;

    Kevin B. has responded to your ticket.

    Please preserve the subject line. This is important.

    -----------------------------------------------
    (Kevin B.)
    -----------------------------------------------
    Hello,

    It seems that the main node you're hosted on is in need of a file system check. Sorry for any inconvenience caused by this issue.



    Kevin B.
    Technical Support Representative
    BurstNET Technologies, Inc.
    Technical Support is always available via support.burst.net

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    1,036
    You were told 20 minutes after posting here what was going on with the node. The node was being worked on, and it is in presently in an FSCK.

    It is impossible to tell how long an FSCK will take on a vserver.

    I do apologize for the delay in getting back to you this morning, but it's been an unusually busy Monday.

  8. #8
    Mmm...

    Why just to this hour???

    How many time take do a FSCK ? 1 week ?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    1,036
    Quote Originally Posted by jjsanchez View Post
    Mmm...

    Why just to this hour???

    How many time take do a FSCK ? 1 week ?
    And FSCK on a vserver as large as some of ours, takes several hours. Not weeks.

  10. #10
    Quote Originally Posted by jjsanchez View Post
    Mmm...

    Why just to this hour???

    How many time take do a FSCK ? 1 week ?
    file system checks don't come with a progress bar. It can take hours to 10s of hours to complete.

    my dedicated server with burst is still down, completely down now where before only port 80 was down. I was able to login via ssh about 30 minutes ago; all services were up and running and my software raid was not reporting any issues and uptime was 3 months.

    BurstNET_CSM, any known network issues at the moment? Thanks for your help!

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    1,036
    No known issues right now with the network. Did you open a ticket with us? Could you include a traceroute? Can you PM me the ticket number?

  12. #12
    well you suppport staff just removed my IPs and said they were not configured correctly... WTH! The server was up a few hours ago... how do working IPs go from being configured correctly to not configured correctly? I didn't touch anything....


    I found that the IPs on your server were not correctly configured and they were preventing the server from connecting to the network. I removed them and added just the primary IP to eth0. You can connect to the server at: 184.82.xx.xx

    Thank You,
    Al Kane
    Technical Support
    Burstnet Technologies Inc.
    Last edited by poke8181; 03-14-2011 at 03:33 PM.

  13. #13
    Quote Originally Posted by BurstNET_CSM View Post
    No known issues right now with the network. Did you open a ticket with us? Could you include a traceroute? Can you PM me the ticket number?
    I don't think i can PM you yet..

    Ticket ID: 2612025

    Please get this Al Kane person off of my server.. I feel he is doing more damage than help

    Also, my server went from 3 months uptime to just 53 minutes of uptime now? So support just rebooted my machine?

  14. #14
    Why just to this hour???

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    11,521
    Quote Originally Posted by poke8181 View Post
    I don't think i can PM you yet..
    You can't PM you're too new it seems.

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    1,036
    Quote Originally Posted by poke8181 View Post
    I don't think i can PM you yet..

    Ticket ID: 2612025

    Please get this Al Kane person off of my server.. I feel he is doing more damage than help

    Also, my server went from 3 months uptime to just 53 minutes of uptime now? So support just rebooted my machine?
    Al is a very good tech. I can only surmise what happened, but my thought is you (or a package you might have installed) may have changed a config, but had not committed it/rebooted your server since doing so I.E. 3 months of uptime). When your system had to be rebooted today (for reasons still unknown Al found it unresponsive ), your config change took place which was the problem Al saw. Al fixed the problem, but lef tonly your main IP hooked up due to his not knowing how you were utilizing the other IP's.

    It's only a WAG, but I'm pretty good with my WAG's. WOudl you like us to attach the rest of your IP's again?

  17. #17
    Quote Originally Posted by BurstNET_CSM View Post
    Al is a very good tech. I can only surmise what happened, but my thought is you (or a package you might have installed) may have changed a config, but had not committed it/rebooted your server since doing so I.E. 3 months of uptime). When your system had to be rebooted today (for reasons still unknown Al found it unresponsive ), your config change took place which was the problem Al saw. Al fixed the problem, but lef tonly your main IP hooked up due to his not knowing how you were utilizing the other IP's.

    It's only a WAG, but I'm pretty good with my WAG's. WOudl you like us to attach the rest of your IP's again?
    Yes definitely you are correct that rebooting the machine caused the new issue. I'm pretty sure it was me canceling a block of IPs, I forgot to delete them from my WHM config... so when the server was rebooted possibly the old IPs were not able to bind and caused the errors.

    I would like to know why the server was rebooted. I didn't do it and after 20 minutes of submitting the support ticket the server magically rebooted. It went from 3 months uptime to 53 minutes of uptime. The server has been inaccessible since around 11AM-12PM central US time so the server reboot was not the cause for the initial downtime.

    Sorry for the statement towards Al, empathize and realize I'm a bit frustrated, sorry Al.

    Please do try to bind the rest of my IPs, I ran into errors when trying to do so.

    Thanks!

  18. #18
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    1,036
    Your server has a non-default ssh port so Al went out into the data center to look into it, and found your server unresponsive. He rebooted it then, and then noticed the problems with the IP's.

    Al has already been back out to the datacenter and binded (Bound?) the rest of your IP's.

    No problems. Glad you're back up and running. let's go for three years before you go down this time

  19. #19
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Posts
    4,028
    I just wanted to chime in and say I've hosted with many VPS providers and ALL of them run into issues with FSCK. Be patient and keep communicating with your customers if you're hosting on the VPS. All you can do and all Burst can do is wait.

  20. #20
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Australia, Brisbane
    Posts
    147
    My server is down as well, I have put in my ticket, (been down for at least 3 hours now). Hope it can be resolved soon.

  21. #21
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Chile
    Posts
    43
    10 hours and still downed....

  22. #22
    Same here, down for 9-10 hours, asked for an update in the ticket and got nothing (this was 3 hours ago), ticketid 2611473.

  23. #23
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Australia, Brisbane
    Posts
    147
    Someone from burst please take care of this ticket {100-2612255}
    Ticket was put in an hour ago. Server is still not back up.

  24. #24
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,135
    May I add that a server of ours is experiencing network traffic issues. I hope none of our clients try to backup their VPS now.

  25. #25
    My Dedicated server down from 3 hours

    Ticket ID: 2612625
    Status: OPEN
    When Created: 03-14-2011 - 07:45PM
    Elapsed Time: 28 minutes
    Since Last Action: 2 seconds

    and no one reply me in ticket

  26. #26
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Australia, Brisbane
    Posts
    147
    It is very frustrating not having this resolved after so long. They say the server is up, yet no one can access it. It is like everyone is blocked from accessing the server. I have not installed anything or changed anything on my dedicated server tho.

  27. #27
    i think its network problem i able to access my server now and i see my uptime
    19:33:59 up 11:18, 1 user, load average: 0.00, 0.00, 0.00

  28. #28
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,135
    Quote Originally Posted by forlinuxs View Post
    My Dedicated server down from 3 hours

    Ticket ID: 2612625
    Status: OPEN
    When Created: 03-14-2011 - 07:45PM
    Elapsed Time: 28 minutes
    Since Last Action: 2 seconds

    and no one reply me in ticket
    I have a feeling something is up, and they're all scrambling to sort it out

  29. #29
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Australia, Brisbane
    Posts
    147
    Quote Originally Posted by RS Shamil View Post
    I have a feeling something is up, and they're all scrambling to sort it out
    Scrambling would not be the word i'd use currently.

    Ticket ID: 2612255
    Status: OPEN
    When Created: 03-14-2011 - 04:53PM
    Elapsed Time: 4 hours
    Since Last Action: 2 hours


    To me it feels like they don't even know what is going on, and that they don't know how to resolve it. My patience is running very thin.

  30. #30
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Australia, Brisbane
    Posts
    147
    This was my reply:
    The primary IP address had been changed from 66.***.***.69 to 66.***.***.79 and the gateway had been removed from the server. I have correct this and the server is again responding.

    How in the world does something like this occur???? and secondly it was short lived. I accessed the site fine for 30 seconds, and now everything is timing out.

  31. #31
    Did anyone else with Scranton network issues just come back up now?
    Hope it stays up...

  32. #32
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Chile
    Posts
    43
    well i opened this thread and i still dont have service, its been way over 12 hours....!
    were is burst support??????? wait and wait, not even a work in progress update...
    burst sucks, thats all i can say right now.

  33. #33
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Australia, Brisbane
    Posts
    147
    Yeah I feel the same right now. My service has been down for 18+ hours now. So frustrated at how long it is taking to resolve and the lack of communication.

  34. #34
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    India
    Posts
    139
    Down down down again its down. Created a ticket just now lets see how much time it will take.

  35. #35
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Australia, Brisbane
    Posts
    147
    This is useless......

    I finally got this response "Please allow SSH traffic from our office IP address of 64.191.49.8 so I may look into this for you. "

    What don't they get.....I can't access SSH, WHM, my site, nothing. This started out of the blue, I did not change or install anything on my server.

    I wait all day for a response like that! I am getting no where, except more frustrated.

  36. #36
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    124
    We still have a VPS down as well, we were asked for a tracert to and from the machine....which would be a great idea if we could actually access it

    Ticket 2612057 if anyone from Burst wants to check it, 4 hours since our last update (with a tracert to the machine) and no response.

  37. #37
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Chile
    Posts
    43
    News are news, even tho hey are quite bad news:
    --------------------------------------------
    Dear BurstNET® Client,


    We recently encountered a critical error with the drive array on the server/node hosting your container.
    Our engineers have been working on two different fronts to resolve the issue:

    First they are restoring your VPS containers (So you will have the same VEID’s and same IP addresses).
    We are going to set up for you a new container, on a new server/node, so you can upload any backup of your site you have, and get up and running while we work on recoving the data.
    Your username and passwords may change, but you will be given that info when your system goes live again.
    You will receive a welcome letter with your new VPS access information.
    We expect to have all this completed within the next 4 to 5 hours.


    At the same time they are working to restore the data from the drive array.
    We still have no firm ETA on when, and if, data will be available, as there is, obviously, HUGE amounts of data to be checked and verified.
    Our hope is to have everything completed by 9AM EST on 3-15-2011.

    We will update you again once we complete restoring the containers.


    Service Affected:

  38. #38
    Is that an email? because i didn't have received it.

  39. #39
    How many time? 2 weeks ?

  40. #40
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Chile
    Posts
    43
    Its the reply they are sending in a copy/paste manner to all our mails sent yesterday to [email protected]......

    go figure....
    i came to think that working with these node arrays is a mistake, when they fail they fail bigtime and the process of fixing them is slower than buying a brand new server with all the pain and restoration involved.
    cheaper is expensive thats all i can say right now.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-23-2007, 12:21 PM
  2. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-15-2007, 01:45 PM
  3. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 09-30-2006, 06:31 PM
  4. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-19-2006, 12:48 PM
  5. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-08-2006, 12:13 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •