Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1

    Dedicated Machine Build

    I built a very nice dual quad 5520 dedicated server to start my company in the middle of 2009 with the assistance of Apaq Digital. Unfortunately, I put it on hold and sold the machine.

    I am working on a new build now and will be placing the order for parts soon. Would like to get some feedback if possible. I will be running very RAM intensive game servers primarily, which is what the excessive amount of RAM is for.

    (2X) Quadcore Intel Xeon E5620 Westmere 2.4GHz
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...-234-_-Product

    (2x) Western Digital RE4 500GB HDDs (Raid 1 Setup)
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16822136697

    Supermicro Dual LGA 1366 X8DTL-iF w/ IPMI+iKVM
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...-190-_-Product

    1U supermicro SC811TQ-520B Chassis (2-bay)
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...-085-_-Product

    Dynatron Heatsinks
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16835114084
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16835114085

    I am not sure on RAM right now. For my previous build, Apaq Digital suggested Kingston Non-ECC http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820134854 and it worked great.

    Would one of these two work for this build?
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...-357-_-Product
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...-309-_-Product

    Everything else is pretty similar to my build before. I am using the exact same Chassis (I have an extra one), CPUs are upgraded, Motherboard is the same, Heatsinks are the same, etc.

  2. everything looks good except RAM selection.

    ECC RAM is dirt cheap nowadays, I would choose 4G ECC modules:
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...1333d3e9s%2f4g
    put on either 3pos or 6psc for triple channel mode, then you are golden.

    if you do need over 24G RAM, then you will need some 8G ECC registered DDR3-1333 modules which cost more than $160 ea at this time. Westmere takes 256Mx4 or 128Mx8, quad-rank or dual-rank, it doesn't matter....

    you will need a hardware RAID-1 card, such as adaptec 2405 or 3ware 9650SE-2LP unless you want to install software RAID1 which requires no RE4 drives! WD caviar black will do.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Cincinnati
    Posts
    1,583
    What's you realistic budget on this? Probably get just as much system by going through a Dell Rep.. I normally get 26-38% off a system.

    You could look at Vista Computers, get ahold of Justin Bush. http://www.vistacomputer.net/servers...t-servers/r610 That would be a good base, an R410 would work good to.

    They can do some pretty insane pricing if you just ask, we buy systems on a regular basis that are 40% off list.
    'Ripcord'ing is the only way!

  4. #4
    Thanks so much Apaq, I will go ahead and use the memory that you listed. Will the non ECC not work at all, or just strongly ill advised?

    @Visbits: Well I was just going to buy the parts over the course of the next month or two, but I will contact him and see what we could work out. Thanks for the contact!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Cincinnati
    Posts
    1,583
    Quote Originally Posted by CrimsonGT View Post
    Thanks so much Apaq, I will go ahead and use the memory that you listed. Will the non ECC not work at all, or just strongly ill advised?

    @Visbits: Well I was just going to buy the parts over the course of the next month or two, but I will contact him and see what we could work out. Thanks for the contact!
    I'll give him a heads up on the thread so he isn't caught off guard about it.

    Hes a good guy and will do the best he can on pricing.

    Their systems are *refurbished* from dell but they are all just like new, maybe a scratch or to. They also warranty them for 3 years.
    'Ripcord'ing is the only way!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA
    Posts
    555
    A lot of dual 1368 boards have 12 DIMM solts (some even 18). I would go with one that is atleast 12 so you can easily add more ram in the future without replacing them all if you need to. Of course I would think you would be maxed out in CPU before ram with game-severs unless you expect to run a *ton* of them on the server and expect many to be running empty in which case yes you should have lots of ram.

    DEFINITELY use ECC. I didn't use ECC in the past and I hated that I didn't in the past. A machine became unstable and I wasn't sure if it was ram, PSU, or something else. I ended up completely replacing the machine because I couldn't take it down to test the ram. When ram goes bad, BAD things can happen. If a fsck runs you can totally hose a file-system and even if not get lots of corrupt files.

    With ECC you will usually get MCE's or other indications specifically that the ram is going bad and the machine will crash due to data integrity checking of ECC vs the machine crashing or going unstable with no definitive evidence with bad non-ECC ram.

    ECC can add latency so its not always great for a desktop board but I think there is no reason to not run ECC on a server running game-servers.

Similar Threads

  1. Build my own machine Opt or Xeon for server!
    By Charlesnj2005 in forum Dedicated Server
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 01-04-2007, 06:24 PM
  2. Replies: 10
    Last Post: 03-05-2005, 06:30 AM
  3. Best-machine.com dedicated?
    By maxmachine in forum Dedicated Server
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 08-27-2003, 01:21 AM
  4. Learn to Build a Linux Machine
    By davet in forum Hosting Security and Technology
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 10-16-2002, 11:50 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •