Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: 1u server

  1. #1

    Question 1u server

    I'm thinking of building my own 1u server but if there is a limit of 0.4 amps by the datacenter, can I have the following configuration:

    - 1 x Quad Core CPU
    - 8GB of RAM
    - 1TB hard drive

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    5,627
    The question is, .4A at what voltage?

    You aren't going to get very far @ 120v with .4A. If you are 2xxV you should be able to use a lower powered Intel or AMD Quad, X3440 with light usage should fit in .8 @ 2xxV

  3. #3
    Assuming voltage @ 230V.

    What about Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550S?
    Also, do I have to choose a specific PSU (how many watts)?
    Last edited by kshazad86; 03-06-2011 at 01:51 PM.

  4. #4
    Xeon E3-1260L (Sandy Bridge, 4 cores/8 threads) = 45W
    two RAM sticks
    mobile 2.5" HDD

    80plus-Gold rated PSU - (90% efficiency at 50% load, 87% efficiency at 20% or 100% load)
    "how many watts" - to maximize efficiency, PSU watts = 2*target watts = 180W. But it's OK to have a 300W PSU, cause efficiency would fall only 2-3% then.
    Last edited by OneLittleBird; 03-06-2011 at 02:10 PM.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    776
    Assuming you haven't already contracted for the DC, don't assume that all Data Centres are power limited and can only supply 0.4A per 1U colo....

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    10
    @110V the only 0.4Amp-05Amp machine is the desktop grade box. For any descent 1U with proper ventilation (fans) the minimum you can pull in is 0.8-1.0Amp

  7. #7
    a xeon x3460 with 8gb ram and a single hard drive, using an 80+ psu (not 80+ gold) will use about 60w idle, and maybe double that at peak cpu load, which roughly translates to 0.3a 230v idle, 0.6a peak, keeping in mind power factor. a core2quad uses more idle power by a fair margin. You can drop this power use a bit by using an SSD or a 2.5" hard drive (maybe 5-10watts), and an 80+ gold instead of regular 80+ psu (another 5-10 watts). You also have to be careful about fans, because they can add a fair number of watts if you use powerful fans when you don't need to. a low power xeon will use about the same power at idle (already a very low amount), but should save you quite a bit during peak cpu load.
    Phoenix Dedicated Servers -- IOFLOOD.com
    Email: sales [at] ioflood.com
    Skype: iofloodsales
    Backup Storage VPS -- 1TBVPS.com

  8. #8
    Quote Originally Posted by OneLittleBird View Post
    Xeon E3-1260L (Sandy Bridge, 4 cores/8 threads) = 45W
    two RAM sticks
    mobile 2.5" HDD

    80plus-Gold rated PSU - (90% efficiency at 50% load, 87% efficiency at 20% or 100% load)
    "how many watts" - to maximize efficiency, PSU watts = 2*target watts = 180W. But it's OK to have a 300W PSU, cause efficiency would fall only 2-3% then.
    worth keeping in mind that power supply watts rated capacity is the watts delivered to the equipment, whereas the amps used at the wall socket is more than that by about 10%. And then again, that because of power factor, the amps pulled is higher than you would assume for watts used. for example, you would assume 1a at 120v is 120watts, but because a typical power factor is 0.85, 1a at 120v is probably only pulling 100 watts. for a 90% efficient power supply, this means supplying 90 watts of power to the equipment. so in this case, pulling 1a 120v from the socket, you would reach peak efficiency on a psu that's rated at 180 watts, whereas it would appear at first glance that 240 watts would have been ideal.
    Phoenix Dedicated Servers -- IOFLOOD.com
    Email: sales [at] ioflood.com
    Skype: iofloodsales
    Backup Storage VPS -- 1TBVPS.com

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Cincinnati
    Posts
    1,583
    R310 with i3-550 and 2x 250gb sata use about .3 amps on 208V, just saying... We run 4 of them at 1Amp drawl on our metered PDU.

    http://www.dell.com/content/topics/t...555&l=en&s=biz
    'Ripcord'ing is the only way!

  10. #10
    Quote Originally Posted by Visbits View Post
    R310 with i3-550 and 2x 250gb sata use about .3 amps on 208V, just saying... We run 4 of them at 1Amp drawl on our metered PDU.

    http://www.dell.com/content/topics/t...555&l=en&s=biz
    that's about right at idle. is your PDU accurate to tenths of an amp? Easily that's under 1.5a at idle cpu, but I would be surprised if it's at 1.0a at 208v. In any case, the cpu usage matters a lot for the power use, because the new intels are good at reducing power use at idle. Easily an extra 50w at peak vs idle.
    Phoenix Dedicated Servers -- IOFLOOD.com
    Email: sales [at] ioflood.com
    Skype: iofloodsales
    Backup Storage VPS -- 1TBVPS.com

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Cincinnati
    Posts
    1,583
    Quote Originally Posted by funkywizard View Post
    that's about right at idle. is your PDU accurate to tenths of an amp? Easily that's under 1.5a at idle cpu, but I would be surprised if it's at 1.0a at 208v. In any case, the cpu usage matters a lot for the power use, because the new intels are good at reducing power use at idle. Easily an extra 50w at peak vs idle.
    When the CPU is a total of 85W there will not be that much fluctuation. The PDU is accurate to .125 amps.

    A server is not going from .2 to 1 amp under load... that's something i'd expect from dual quad or more maybe.
    'Ripcord'ing is the only way!

  12. #12
    Quote Originally Posted by Visbits View Post
    When the CPU is a total of 85W there will not be that much fluctuation. The PDU is accurate to .125 amps.

    A server is not going from .2 to 1 amp under load... that's something i'd expect from dual quad or more maybe.
    The cpu by itself is using almost no power during idle periods, so if you're using 60w at idle, i'd say at least half of that has nothing to do with the cpu. 10w easy from a hard drive, another 10w easily from fans in the system, and 10-20w probably from the motherboard and ram. @120v, that's 0.3-0.4a right there, assuming the cpu uses zero during idle. If the cpu uses 20w idle and 80w at full load, then yes, the 60w difference, at 120v, is easily 0.6a between idle and full load.
    Phoenix Dedicated Servers -- IOFLOOD.com
    Email: sales [at] ioflood.com
    Skype: iofloodsales
    Backup Storage VPS -- 1TBVPS.com

Similar Threads

  1. Natcoweb: Quad Server, Storage Dedicated Server, Blade Server Solutions
    By Natcoweb in forum Dedicated Hosting Offers
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-14-2009, 09:32 AM
  2. 3+ Server Cluster, 1TB File Server, 10M (3,240G xfer) Included, $99/Server
    By alias_willsmith in forum Dedicated Hosting Offers
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 08-28-2007, 05:40 PM
  3. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-13-2006, 12:23 AM
  4. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-24-2005, 10:55 AM
  5. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 09-25-2004, 06:37 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •