Results 1 to 30 of 30
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Novosibirsk, Russia
    Posts
    1,593

    Burst.net: main site, customer portal etc unavailable from certain networks

    Hello,

    For at least 6 hours (perhaps the situation exists for longer period of time) Burst.net main site, customer portal and several VPSes are not accessible from at least two major Russian providers.

    I can log in to helpdesk through a USA-based proxy, so only certain type/directions of traffic are blocked.

    The strange thing is that traceroutes reach VPSes, even though other kinds of traffic is unavailable/unstable.

    Could someone confirm having similar problems with certain Burst.net resources from other locations? I would like to know whom to contact further to handle this connectivity problem.

    Comment from a Burst.net representative would be greatly appreciated.

    Thanks.

  2. #2
    Same problem for me, both burst.net and burstnet.eu

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Milan, Italy
    Posts
    74

    Angry

    Same thing here (Italy): many networks cannot reach neither burst.net nor our servers.
    I opened a ticket yesterday, solicited it several times but still no response (aside from: we flushed the iptables from your server, should work now... sure guys...!)

    Come on, please help! It is not tolerable a service like this!!!
    We have two servers on your network, and both have the same problems!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    United States, MI
    Posts
    766
    Burst's site is loading for me, albeit terribly slow on my personal computer.

    Could be having possible network congestion, DDoS or similar. I'm sure CSR will update this thread shortly.

    Also Burst's site is not loading via Lynx from my server in PhoenixNAP, not sure if its related.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    41
    Same issue with me, I have several servers with Burstnet and many clients are complaining that they can't access the server. Issue exists for more than 24 hours now.

    Location : Sri Lanka

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    United States, MI
    Posts
    766
    Burst seems to be returned/returning to normal now.

    Their page load time seems to have stabilized a bit:
    http://internetsupervision.com/scrip...st.net/&email=[Enter+Your+Email+Address]

    Everything within 1-2 seconds (which is pretty normal for sites without high performance tweaks) with some under a second.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    41

    Unhappy

    Quote Originally Posted by Crothers View Post
    Burst seems to be returned/returning to normal now.

    Their page load time seems to have stabilized a bit:
    http://internetsupervision.com/scrip...st.net/&email=[Enter+Your+Email+Address]

    Everything within 1-2 seconds (which is pretty normal for sites without high performance tweaks) with some under a second.
    May be Burst.net site is okay, but still we are experiencing the same issue with our servers with Burstnet. I have opened several tickets and waiting for an update.

    Also for most of the US locations, there is no issue, but we are unable to reach them/servers from networks outside US.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Novosibirsk, Russia
    Posts
    1,593
    Quote Originally Posted by Crothers View Post
    Burst seems to be returned/returning to normal now.
    I am sorry, but our problems still persist, wthout any hint from Burst.net on what is going on and when it could be handled/fixed.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    1,036
    I am awaiting more details from our Network manager but his inital look into this is the same as the logic you have looking at it.

    America = getting there
    Russia and parts of UK = Not getting there
    Traceroutes = okay

    Summation: Not a BurstNET issue that we can work on.

    It IS an issue, as we always hope our customers can reach their sites, but this seems to be an issue with particular ISP's or routes that are far beyond our reach.

    There's simply nothing we can do but contact our providers and see if there's an issue elsewhere, which takes time as they have to contact people, and so on and so forth.

    I wish there were more we can do.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    41
    Quote Originally Posted by BurstNET_CSM View Post
    I am awaiting more details from our Network manager but his inital look into this is the same as the logic you have looking at it.

    America = getting there
    Russia and parts of UK = Not getting there
    Traceroutes = okay

    Summation: Not a BurstNET issue that we can work on.

    It IS an issue, as we always hope our customers can reach their sites, but this seems to be an issue with particular ISP's or routes that are far beyond our reach.

    There's simply nothing we can do but contact our providers and see if there's an issue elsewhere, which takes time as they have to contact people, and so on and so forth.

    I wish there were more we can do.
    Also from Sri Lanka and some ISPs in Asia, we can't reach our servers.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Novosibirsk, Russia
    Posts
    1,593
    Quote Originally Posted by BurstNET_CSM View Post
    Summation: Not a BurstNET issue that we can work on.
    The two mentioned Russian providers are mainstream providers for a significant part of Russian Internet users. As far as I know, connectivity loss scenario in the majority of cases looks like this: either available or not; "ICMP OK, SSH unstable, all the rest times out" isn't a likely case of mentioned providers' fault.

    Several people have already posted here notices of servers at Burst.net being unavailable. Although I can admit that yes, two mainstream providers from the same country could both have the same routing/connectivity issue (with the same symptoms), the assumption that dozens of them worldwide have the same issue at the same time is very unlikely.

    To me, it looks like faulty firewall or counter-DDoS means in effect from Burst.net side.

    If you wish, I can send you recent Host-Tracker.com scan results for one of our sites at Burst.net as an illustration to my viewpoint.

    Thank you.
    Last edited by Master Bo; 03-06-2011 at 10:55 AM. Reason: typo

  12. #12
    I can't access any of my 5 servers at burst.net either (hosting an Alexa 4000 website there). I've tried connecting from Lithuania (major ISP) and France (OVH).

    Downforeveroneorjustme.com (it's in Dallas, Theplanet) couldn't access the site either. So it looks like nobody can access my site.

    The traceroute stops and time outs with an IP address that belongs to Highwinds.
    Last edited by NuPagady; 03-06-2011 at 11:27 AM.

  13. #13
    Here is my traceroute, SSH hangs after a few minutes, mail hanging, web hanging...

    7 149.6.98.5 (149.6.98.5) 160.647 ms 160.184 ms 160.927 ms
    8 te3-4.ccr02.lon02.atlas.cogentco.com (154.54.36.169) 160.998 ms 161.152 ms 161.053 ms
    9 te0-0-0-1.ccr22.jfk02.atlas.cogentco.com (154.54.30.21) 238.025 ms 238.199 ms 236.929 ms
    10 te3-2.ccr01.phl01.atlas.cogentco.com (154.54.31.54) 240.005 ms 243.012 ms 238.827 ms
    11 te3-4.ccr01.phl03.atlas.cogentco.com (154.54.0.190) 240.390 ms 240.153 ms 239.997 ms
    12 38.104.114.214 (38.104.114.214) 304.953 ms 294.150 ms 291.970 ms
    13 xe1-01.agg02.sctn01.hostnoc.net (64.191.116.242) 245.081 ms 246.353 ms 244.904 ms
    14 my server

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    56
    30-40% packet loss from my South-East Asian ISP to BurstLA (184.82.xx.xx)
    30-40% packet loss from BuyVM(Fremont) to BurstLA (184.82.xx.xx)

    I suspect they're under DDOS again

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Lithuania
    Posts
    2,147
    Quote Originally Posted by NuPagady View Post
    I can't access any of my 5 servers at burst.net either (hosting an Alexa 4000 website there). I've tried connecting from Lithuania (major ISP) and France (OVH).

    Downforeveroneorjustme.com (it's in Dallas, Theplanet) couldn't access the site either. So it looks like nobody can access my site.

    The traceroute stops and time outs with an IP address that belongs to Highwinds.
    Yeah my friend, your site is completely down. I tried from many providers around the world - result the same.

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Bharat
    Posts
    4,722
    All okay from New Delhi, using Airtel and MTNL network, can open their main sites burst.net and burstnet.eu.

    My servers both in PA and LA are opening fine too.

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Huntersville, NC
    Posts
    72
    Please PM me your ticket number and Ill look into it.
    Last edited by BurstJoeM; 03-06-2011 at 01:21 PM.

  18. #18
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    41
    Traceroute to one of my VPS with burstnet -


    1 18 ms 15 ms 13 ms 220.247.232.3
    2 * * * Request timed out.
    3 * * * Request timed out.
    4 * * * Request timed out.
    5 16 ms 17 ms 15 ms 222.165.184.150
    6 13 ms 15 ms * 222.165.184.149
    7 14 ms 14 ms 14 ms 222.165.130.21
    8 15 ms * 53 ms 222.165.130.166
    9 * 161 ms * so-7-3-0-dcr2.par.cw.net [195.10.54.89]
    10 144 ms * 144 ms as0-dcr1.par.cw.net [195.2.10.161]
    11 144 ms 144 ms 145 ms 195.2.2.98
    12 * 143 ms * te0-3-0-6.ccr22.par01.atlas.cogentco.com [130.11
    7.51.146]
    13 225 ms * 456 ms te0-5-0-5.ccr22.jfk02.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54
    .43.161]
    14 353 ms 305 ms 413 ms te3-2.ccr01.phl01.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54.31.
    54]
    15 * 228 ms * te3-4.ccr01.phl03.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54.0.1
    90]
    16 262 ms 296 ms * 38.104.114.214
    17 271 ms 262 ms * xe1-01.agg04.sctn01.hostnoc.net [96.9.191.10]
    18 267 ms 264 ms 269 ms ec0-61.bf2803.sctn01.hostnoc.net [96.9.184.61]
    19 255 ms 253 ms 255 ms vserver177.hostnoc.net [64.120.201.106]
    20 * 254 ms 253 ms My VPS

    Trace route to one of my my dedicated servers -

    1 * * * Request timed out.
    2 135 ms 138 ms 201 ms 192.168.87.26
    3 145 ms 158 ms 118 ms 172.19.21.193
    4 145 ms 128 ms 138 ms 172.19.21.71
    5 156 ms 218 ms 148 ms 172.19.21.100
    6 155 ms 148 ms 138 ms 192.168.89.181
    7 135 ms 129 ms 147 ms 172.19.18.116
    8 244 ms 238 ms 248 ms pos12-2-1.palermo7.pal.seabone.net [195.22.198.2
    53]
    9 332 ms 338 ms 338 ms telia.franco34.fra.seabone.net [89.221.34.166]
    10 335 ms 328 ms 328 ms telia.franco34.fra.seabone.net [89.221.34.166]
    11 325 ms 338 ms 338 ms ffm-bb1-link.telia.net [80.91.246.224]
    12 338 ms 335 ms 328 ms prs-bb1-link.telia.net [80.91.245.103]
    13 395 ms 398 ms 409 ms nyk-bb1-link.telia.net [80.91.253.122]
    14 407 ms 438 ms 398 ms nyk-b5-link.telia.net [80.91.253.102]
    15 406 ms 438 ms 438 ms 213.248.95.190
    16 445 ms 458 ms 518 ms xe1-01.agg03.sctn01.hostnoc.net [96.9.191.2]
    17 424 ms 478 ms 799 ms ec0-61.br4001.sctn01.hostnoc.net [64.120.243.6]

    18 644 ms 428 ms 468 ms My server

  19. #19
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    41

    Angry

    Quote Originally Posted by BurstNET_CSM View Post
    I am awaiting more details from our Network manager but his inital look into this is the same as the logic you have looking at it.

    America = getting there
    Russia and parts of UK = Not getting there
    Traceroutes = okay

    Summation: Not a BurstNET issue that we can work on.

    It IS an issue, as we always hope our customers can reach their sites, but this seems to be an issue with particular ISP's or routes that are far beyond our reach.

    There's simply nothing we can do but contact our providers and see if there's an issue elsewhere, which takes time as they have to contact people, and so on and so forth.

    I wish there were more we can do.
    I don't think just telling it's not a BurstNET issue will be a solution if only servers at BurstNET are unreachable?

  20. #20
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Novosibirsk, Russia
    Posts
    1,593
    Confirming that the mentioned problems currently are gone.
    Thanks.

  21. #21
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    41

    Unhappy

    -- Edited Post.

  22. #22
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    8,910
    Anyone else still seeing packetloss? I've been having 10-25% for a few hours now. Last 2,500 packets have been 27% making SSH unusable... put in a ticket asking what's going on, hopefully it's sorted soon.

    Edit:

    Problem seems to be with ec0-60.be0603.sctn01.hostnoc.net... all other hops look OK.
    Last edited by Patrick; 03-06-2011 at 10:41 PM.

  23. #23
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Moon
    Posts
    1,165
    same here I can not open their website or help desk

  24. #24
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    on the ninkynonk!
    Posts
    907
    I have a php-fusion test site at one of thier resellers that's working it's in scranton burstnet DC. burstnet main is working here as well.

  25. #25
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    on the ninkynonk!
    Posts
    907
    wow its actually pretty good here for me.... strange
    Attached Images Attached Images

  26. #26
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    41
    Issue seems fine with my dedicated server now, my VPS client is still didn't confirm whether it's solved or not.

    Thanks.

  27. #27
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Moon
    Posts
    1,165
    still not works for me

  28. #28
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    1,036
    Hi everyone,

    Although all signs point to it not being an issue with us, as it turns out no one has really opened a proper ticket for this issue. At least, that's what my engineers are telling me.

    What we need is the following:

    Open a ticket in our support system (support.burst.net or e-mail to [email protected]): You need to PASTE a traceroute TO and (if possible) FROM your server. Do NOT ATTACH A FILE as our ticket system does not accept attachments.

    Also, if you cannot give us a FROM traceroute, please make sure the TO can be traced back by our engineers.

    Any traceroutes posted here will be ignored. You MUST open a support ticket and provide us this basic info.

    Thank you.
    Last edited by BurstNET_CSM; 03-07-2011 at 11:28 AM. Reason: typos

  29. #29
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    1,036
    Okay. At this point, since not one person has sent us a ticket or a traceroute, we're considering the issue resolved and will remove ourselves from this thread. If you have any issue, please follow my instructions above and use our actual support route.

    Thanks.

  30. #30
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Australia, Brisbane
    Posts
    147
    I have provided everything you asked for in ticket ID: 2613159

Similar Threads

  1. Worst Customer service and Wrong Billing from Burst.net
    By melorhosts in forum Dedicated Server
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 11-13-2010, 08:36 AM
  2. Customer Portal Or Control Panel Like : Softlayer Portal
    By Fudevs in forum Hosting Software and Control Panels
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 09-12-2008, 04:42 AM
  3. Spam comming from a burst.net customer
    By wmac in forum Web Hosting Lounge
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-17-2002, 11:51 PM
  4. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-14-2001, 10:33 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •