1and1 - Holding my Domain Hostage

I am a small business owner and i just started my website up in December with the provider 1and1.

They are denying my release of my domain name due to unpaid fees on something i did not order. I attempted to make a payment three times and each time it came back "Declined Debit Note," i transferred money into another account and it came back "Failure" again. I waited a few weeks to see if it was my error, they locked me out and i tried to process the transaction again, "Declined Debit Note."

I got fed up with wasting precious sleeping time trying to pay this repeated failures. They "Locked" my account again and i am not allowed to have my Domain Name for 13months. I have less business now due to not having a operating site.

I am on the hunt now for a new web hosting company and not really all too sure i want to go back down this road but, the website has helped my business dramatically.

Suggestions? I would also like to know if anyone knows how i can get my domain name, with out them taking me for money? I own the Domain, it is registered to ME! Not 1and1...

Matt

1and1 is super nasty.

They are not allowed to hold your domain hostage but they will probably make it extremely difficult for you to transfer it out. You'll need the domain to be in the UNLOCKED state and you also need the AUTH CODE. Both of these things are usually done via control panel. The other route is their super unhelpful and outsourced support. It's tough man, I'm sad for you :\

Get your domain from a trusted registrar like Internet.bs and then find a reputable host right here. Good luck.