Results 1 to 22 of 22
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Neenah, WI
    Posts
    388

    Simultaneous OS on PC

    Hello;

    Do any of you run simultaneous OS's on your desktop computer? I'm thinking about trying Parallels Desktop 4. I run Windows 7 and for most things I can just ssh into a server for; but at times it would be nice to have a local linux box. I have a i7 2.8 with 8GB of ram. I can do dual boot, and have Untunbu loaded, but it's too inconvenient, I have too many things I need in Windows.

    (I've thought of flat out converting to linux, and a lot of programs are available now for linux, unfortunately Roboform isn't, I use that so much that it's pretty essential.)

    My other option is that I have a PIII I could load up and run as a dedicated nix machine. But, I already have 5 computers on my extended desk.

    Is anyone using the Parallels product? Is there any other software that does the same thing? Basically a vps type of setup for both linux and windows - to run on the same physical machine.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Indiana, USA
    Posts
    16,087
    I just use VirtualBox (virtualbox.org) when I need an environment other than the one currently installed.
    Michael Denney - MDDHosting LLC
    New shared plans for 2016! Check them out!
    Highly Available Shared, Premium, Reseller, and VPS
    http://www.mddhosting.com/

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    NJ, USA
    Posts
    6,456
    I considered doing similar but I don't want to kill my SSD..
    simplywww: directadmin and cpanel hosting that will rock your socks
    Need some work done in a datacenter in the NYC area? NYC Remote Hands can do it.

    Follow my "deals" Twitter for hardware specials.. @dougysdeals

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Neenah, WI
    Posts
    388
    Quote Originally Posted by MikeDVB View Post
    I just use VirtualBox (virtualbox.org) when I need an environment other than the one currently installed.
    Thanks. I'm downloading and installing now.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    569
    I run some secondary OS in vmware inside of windows 7. Virtualbox works well also. I tested it with ubuntu and it worked great.
    GorillaServers Inc | Direct Unmetered Dedicated Servers

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Bournemouth, UK
    Posts
    55
    Depending on the windows apps you need, you can also run a windows emulator. I have had good results with WINE even when running complex accounts packages but there are may applications that are not fully supported so you might want to check first.
    The Server Centre
    Custom tailored solutions and services
    Specialists in managed server hosting in the UK

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    127.0.0.1
    Posts
    558
    +1 for Vmware
    If you steal from one author, it’s plagiarism; if you steal from many, it’s research

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Bournemouth, UK
    Posts
    55
    Quote Originally Posted by Boadicea View Post
    Depending on the windows apps you need, you can also run a windows emulator.
    Ahh!! Just realised I got it the wrong way around! Yes, vmware is probably your best bet. There are Linux emulators for windows so it is still an option but I have never tried them.
    The Server Centre
    Custom tailored solutions and services
    Specialists in managed server hosting in the UK

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Neenah, WI
    Posts
    388
    Virtual Box seems to be working well. I haven't quite figured out how to be able to connect to it remotely, via ssh. However, I am find getting outbound connections from it.
    Thanks.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    181
    vmware is nice . but need at less 2GB of ram to work with a acceptable speed
    Articles and news about Dinosaurs and dinosaur forum.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    UK - England
    Posts
    82
    VMware is probably best, I have Windows 7, Ubuntu and Chrome OS all installed on my HDD on a gnome multiple boot configuration and only ever use Windows 7, just because it is set up as default and I don't want to waste HDD space on multiple software installs.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    on the ninkynonk!
    Posts
    907
    I love VMWare.
    Something awesome
    coming soon....

  13. #13
    VMWare is good, but not the best

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    660
    I agree with mike, ever since i started to use virtualbox i never looked back at dualbooting or the woes involved with it ... Long live virtulization baby !!!! ;-)

  15. #15
    I use vmware to perform virtualization, specially if I'm testing something that has something to do with networking.

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Indonesia
    Posts
    464
    I've been running virtual machines under my windows pc since 2004.

    Maybe you can try each of this :

    - Microsoft Virtual PC
    - Connectix
    - Oracle Sun Virtual Box ( Still using it until now for testing software running Windows XP SP3 inside the Virtual Machine)
    - VMWare
    - Parallel Workstation
    - Qemu

    Maybe there is another software's, but i forgot the name.
    www.erawanarifnugroho.com - my personal homepage

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Indonesia
    Posts
    464
    At 2007, i just trying to run multiple boot inside my pc because I did not have much money for buying more memory.

    For my multiple boot, i ever try this :
    - Windows Vista
    - Windows XP
    - Ubuntu

    or

    - Suse
    - Ubuntu
    - Windows XP

    or

    - Redhat
    - Ubuntu
    - Windows XP

    Now, memory is getting cheaper, so i just need to run virtualization softwares.
    www.erawanarifnugroho.com - my personal homepage

  18. #18
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    South Wales
    Posts
    29
    First ever post on this forum, joined to ask a question of my own but I spotted something else I knew the answer to, this from jamiedolan:

    Virtual Box seems to be working well. I haven't quite figured out how to be able to connect to it remotely, via ssh. However, I am find getting outbound connections from it.
    Thanks.

    The way vbox (also applies to vmware etc) sets it's network adapter up by default (NAT) only allows outbound connections and you may note it's local address is 10.0.0.* whilst your 'real' machine is probably on something like 192.168.0.*

    To remote in (or run any server processes like apache, mysql etc) you need to change the network adapter in the VM's settings from NAT to Bridged Adapter, once you have done this your VM will have a 192.168.0.* local address

    Naturally you will most likely have things like static addressing in the VM and port forwarding in any routers/firewalls to configure depending on where you'll be remoting in from etc

    Hope that helps

  19. #19
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    on the ninkynonk!
    Posts
    907
    VMWare ESXi is nice. you can remotely connect to it.
    Something awesome
    coming soon....

  20. #20
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    South Wales
    Posts
    29
    Any os that you can remotely connect to as a physical machine mate, you can remotely connect to as a virtual machine, regardless of the platform it runs on ... it's all in the configuration of the vm

    If remote connections to virtual machines were incredibly difficult to do we wouldn't see many VPS providers around, a vps is basically a virtual machine, usually some flavour of linux or other, configured to run server processes like web, mail, dns etc. These tend to use a different kind of virtualisation such as xen or kvm, but I don't think either of those methods would be what the OP is looking for

    Back to the original poster's question though, after a quick read up on parallels desktop it seems to be more of a virtual environment than a virtual machine, similar to wine in linux

    Meaning, instead of being a complete windows you would boot with something like vmware or vbox, it's like a simulated windows environment that allows you to install windows apps on a mac os, exactly what wine on linux is for

    You can also do a similar thing with linux apps on windows, though a lot of the more popular linux apps have been ported to windows these days anyway

    For a look at linux apps on windows, check out cygwin and/or kde for windows

    As for roboform, there is a roboform firefox addon for linux and mac, but linux already has stuff for managing passwords etc built-in


    My suggestion to you jamie would be this, before just deciding you wanna dive in and flat out convert to linux as you put it, try a few different linux systems in something like vmware and virtualbox, get yourself used to the differences between a few different linux systems, in terms of installing them and using them

    This would also give you the opportunity to try out linux alternatives to the windows software you're accustomed to using and whether there are viable programs in linux to do the same things that you can get along with

    A good site for getting accustomed to what linux systems are out there and getting some info on them is distrowatch.com ... Over the years I've tried and used just under 20 of those on that top 100 list (as well as some that aren't on it) and in case you're interested, my linux of choice which both my server and main desktop machine run on, is opensuse

  21. #21
    I use VirtualBox in linux to run Windows 7. Works like a charm!

  22. #22
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    on the ninkynonk!
    Posts
    907
    I'm gonna try to run ESXi within vbox soon..... as soon as i feel better....hell i wanna try all the vms i can within vmware, vbox, and parellels. im on a huge virtulization kick.
    Something awesome
    coming soon....

Similar Threads

  1. simultaneous visitors
    By RackSolidHost in forum Dedicated Server
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 10-29-2008, 03:15 PM
  2. [Ask] Running 2-3 Os simultaneous?
    By -Dan in forum Computers and Peripherals
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 01-29-2007, 09:52 AM
  3. how many simultaneous users?
    By jasjbow in forum Hosting Security and Technology
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-07-2005, 02:20 AM
  4. Only 2 Simultaneous Downloads
    By hyedipin in forum Web Hosting Lounge
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 06-26-2003, 12:38 PM
  5. Too Many Simultaneous Visitors
    By NVB in forum Dedicated Server
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 01-07-2002, 06:30 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •