Results 1 to 17 of 17
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    London
    Posts
    71

    Server Power usage

    Im looking to start colocating some new Dell R410's dual cpu, 12Gb ram, 2 HDD's etc.. or maybe some new Dell R415's with roughly the same spec. what sort of power usage am i looking at for these, as you know many 1u colo packages only come with 0.4 amps, eventually they will go in a full rack but for now with no space gotta use single colo, just wondering is it really going to cost me that much more!!

    Regards

    p.s ive noted that the R415's even with 12cores Opteron4176HE and 16 LV Ram is still over 500 cheaper than the intel equivalent, is this worth it? for the extra cores and lower power usage? compared to performance?
    Last edited by iActivate; 02-27-2011 at 07:02 AM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    San Francisco/Hot Springs
    Posts
    988
    Which CPU's are you looking at?

    The difference between a full power nehalem and a low voltage Nehalem can be 90 watts. The higher end Nehalems are around 130w each (which is a bit over 1 amp @ 120v), and if you've got two you can be looking at a server that'll be pulling 2.2 amps just on CPU alone. If you add in drives+chipset/etc you'll be bumped up to 2.5A.

    The great thing about the Nehalem's is the idle power usage is pretty low, I think its around 20w per CPU die.

    The AMD's do have slightly lower power utilization, but they're not quite as fast.
    AppliedOperations - Premium Service
    Bandwidth | Colocation | Hosting | Managed Services | Consulting
    www.appliedops.net

  3. #3
    the opterons don't provide more performance per watt and the whole 12 cores thing is a bit misleading since the cores don't get much processing done each.
    Phoenix Dedicated Servers -- IOFLOOD.com
    Email: sales [at] ioflood.com
    Skype: iofloodsales
    Backup Storage VPS -- 1TBVPS.com

  4. #4
    Did you ever figure out how much power the R410's or R415's consume?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    London
    Posts
    71
    yeh, running in the UK at 230v~ neither consumed more than 1amp, which was fantastic. This was running benhmarks to raise cpu usage to 100%, i was pretty impressed with the power saving features actually, both at idle consumed under 0.5amps, i will test further as this was a quick 15 minute thing.

  6. #6
    Good to know! 100% CPU running at 1A (2A @ 120v) is great! Exactly what I was looking for.

    I have experience with the R710's, which idle at 167W (1.4A) with 4 SATA drives and a 16-core Xeon. Dell is on the ball in terms of energy efficiency!

    Thanks!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    London
    Posts
    71
    yeh it is good , the r415 was actually a little lower as it was running low power opterons it was roughly 0.75amps, but yeh with proper optimization and the fact the i dont know anyone that runs there server 100% load 24/7 means the power on these are fantastic

  8. #8
    Which CPU and RAM were you running in the R415?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    London
    Posts
    71
    4174HE version and LV RDIMMs i miscalculated it was slightly higher at 0.85 amps. Im oging to test again next week for a long period of time say 24 hours to get an accurate reading.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    London
    Posts
    71
    im sure with the EE edition opterons or the L series Xeons we could get those numbers down even more, but i got none to test anyone wanna send me some hehe

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Cincinnati
    Posts
    1,583
    Quote Originally Posted by mrbmw99 View Post
    Good to know! 100% CPU running at 1A (2A @ 120v) is great! Exactly what I was looking for.

    I have experience with the R710's, which idle at 167W (1.4A) with 4 SATA drives and a 16-core Xeon. Dell is on the ball in terms of energy efficiency!

    Thanks!

    http://dell.com/calc

    Tell that to the supermicro fan boys, they will swear on both feet SM is epic power efficient.

    The PSU for the R610 are both 80+ GOLD certified.
    'Ripcord'ing is the only way!

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    L.A., CA
    Posts
    3,706

  13. #13
    Thanks for the beautiful post/....

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    London
    Posts
    71
    haha funny that, im just about to place an order for a supermicro server with the exact same specs as the dell (ofcourse it worked out cheaper) but that aside once ive done some tests ill post back here

  15. #15
    Quote Originally Posted by CGotzmann View Post
    and you can get 80+ GOLD Certified PSUs with Supermicro too...
    80+ platinum even if you look around enough.
    Phoenix Dedicated Servers -- IOFLOOD.com
    Email: sales [at] ioflood.com
    Skype: iofloodsales
    Backup Storage VPS -- 1TBVPS.com

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Cincinnati
    Posts
    1,583
    Quote Originally Posted by funkywizard View Post
    80+ platinum even if you look around enough.
    At like 1500 watt to probably.. took that much power to make it efficient
    'Ripcord'ing is the only way!

  17. #17
    Quote Originally Posted by Visbits View Post
    At like 1500 watt to probably.. took that much power to make it efficient
    SC219A-R920LPB

    920 watt platinum, non-redundant, comes in 2u case.

    So sure, kind of hard to use the 460 watts needed to get you to the 50% power usage level to get maximum efficiency.
    Phoenix Dedicated Servers -- IOFLOOD.com
    Email: sales [at] ioflood.com
    Skype: iofloodsales
    Backup Storage VPS -- 1TBVPS.com

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 16
    Last Post: 12-14-2010, 02:59 AM
  2. Estimating server power usage
    By jjtoday in forum Colocation and Data Centers
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 11-13-2009, 01:17 PM
  3. Post your server's power usage!
    By PCS-Chris in forum Colocation and Data Centers
    Replies: 38
    Last Post: 04-22-2009, 01:02 PM
  4. Power Usage
    By TheGreat1 in forum Colocation and Data Centers
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 03-11-2007, 05:30 PM
  5. P4 server power usage?
    By Eiv in forum Colocation and Data Centers
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 06-08-2004, 11:28 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •