Lost soul seeks help building web site

I am totally new at website building. I signed up at hostgator.com. I got a sightbuilder account too. I managed to create a small page for practice using the sightbuilder. Now I have many questions.

First of all, how do I properly delete a page? I assume I delete a file in the file manager in the public_html folder. But how do I know which file? There are a ton of file in file manager. Or better yet, how do I know which files are for what and which files are never to be deleted.

I'll wait to see how this thread goes before I ask a bunch more questions.

Thanks.

Hello,

First thing that you need to learn is to always make backups before doing anything either with files or database.

Yes, you can use the internal file manager to delete/edit, but again "compress" and save the compressed files to your desktop.

What I like to do and I am sure many do as well, is get that backup and make a copy of it and then extract that backup on your desktop call the folder "mysite" or something like that. Use that on your desktop to make your edits and such. Then upload what you did. If you messed up then no worries cause you have the backups or the back key on your editor.

I think the sitbuilder you are using is strictly html and do correct me if I am wrong.

The homepage or first page that you go to when you enter your domain/url is typically called the index. In file manager or that external ftp program you will edit the index.html. Usually other pages will be shown in the URL or names you create.

as in : simplehosting.html ect...

Another tip when unsure is to use your mouse, right click on your live site and select source. This will show you the raw code of that page. You can then match it to what you have. The url though will usually be named for that page as I mentioned.

The source will also tell you what pertinent information that page is using as in the image locations, javascripts and/or css files.

good luck
    Erick T.