
02-24-2011, 04:03 PM
|
|
Poooooonnyyy :*
|
|
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,896
|
|
DotDomein.com stealing designs
Hello everyone,
Figured i'd bring this up here since worldstream won't enforce anything with it. Yesterday we got informed on MSN that dotdomein.com lifted our design. After a quick check, as anyone can see, it's obviously true!
Our original site: http://frantech.ca
Stolen site: http://dotdomein.com
At this point we've emailed worldstream pointing it out and they've forwarded it to the owners. The owner has emailed us today with the following:
Quote:
Hello,
Pretty funny claming us that we steal your website.
We are going to take further steps to take Frantech down since it is a copy of our website.
Thank you for understanding.
Yours sincerely,
S. Scholte
DotDomein
|
I'm quite confused to say the least considering I have the PSD's of the design on my desktop right here
Francisco
__________________
BuyVM - OpenVZ & KVM Based VPS Servers - Chat with us
- All popular VPN methods supported
- Affordable offloaded MySQL & DDoS protection
- 5GB backup space, unmetered private LAN bandwidth & native IPv6 included. All with a strong serving of pony
|

02-24-2011, 04:13 PM
|
|
Junior Guru Wannabe
|
|
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 76
|
|
Well unless they've used it on a previous domain they aren't going to get very far as their domain was registered in 2011-02-13 (11 days ago) according to DomainTools.com
They're obviously blushing to try and get you to give up. Anyway best of luck 
|

02-24-2011, 04:15 PM
|
|
Web Hosting Master
|
|
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: NYC
Posts: 1,756
|
|
Judging from his/her response, it could be that s/he paid someone to create the site and has no idea it was lifted from yours. Otherwise, s/he's just a terrible person.
Good luck getting this resolved.
|

02-24-2011, 04:17 PM
|
|
Poooooonnyyy :*
|
|
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,896
|
|
All of the content is lifted as well is the interesting part
The only parts changed were the EUR signs but the TOS and AUP are lifted 100% as well as a few other pages near 100% as well.
Francisco
__________________
BuyVM - OpenVZ & KVM Based VPS Servers - Chat with us
- All popular VPN methods supported
- Affordable offloaded MySQL & DDoS protection
- 5GB backup space, unmetered private LAN bandwidth & native IPv6 included. All with a strong serving of pony
|

02-24-2011, 04:19 PM
|
|
Web Hosting Guru
|
|
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 278
|
|
Banner Home - DotDom - If-Modified-Since:Mon, 14 Feb 2011 20:11:46 GMT
Banner Home - FranTech - If-Modified-Since:Mon, 31 May 2010 16:15:55 GMT
All of Frantech's last modded are in May 2010, where as DotDom, is in Feb 2011.
Not conclusive but definitely convincing, that it is indeed your site.
|

02-24-2011, 04:21 PM
|
|
Aspiring Evangelist
|
|
Join Date: May 2010
Location: 10.0.0.17
Posts: 382
|
|
@Rapid2214;
Fran's design is, as usual, rock solid. The only public page of that site that sees regular updates is when I'm expanding on our Terms of Service. The rest we haven't really had to change since the site launched.
__________________
BuyVM - OpenVZ & KVM Based VPS Servers - Chat with us
- All popular VPN methods supported
- Affordable offloaded MySQL & DDoS protection
- 5GB backup space, unmetered private LAN bandwidth & native IPv6 included. All with a strong serving of pony
|

02-24-2011, 04:21 PM
|
|
Web Hosting Master
|
|
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: NYC
Posts: 1,756
|
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by DeltaAnime
All of the content is lifted as well is the interesting part
The only parts changed were the EUR signs but the TOS and AUP are lifted 100% as well as a few other pages near 100% as well.
Francisco
|
Yeah... just noticed that as well. Definitely not giving these guys the benefit of the doubt.
|

02-24-2011, 04:25 PM
|
|
WHT Addict
|
|
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: England
Posts: 102
|
|
I cannot believe some people. Fair enough they have the cheek to lift the design and use it as their own, but then to go and tell you that you must be out of your mind to think they stole it. Wow.
Also, if they did get it done by a designer who sold it to them as his own I'd suggest pursuing the contact if they provide you with one
However, it would not usually be a designer that created the TOS for the company would it? I wouldn't want to be liable for creating anything legal for any of my customers anyway!
Good luck,
Dean.
|

02-24-2011, 04:28 PM
|
|
Aspiring Evangelist
|
|
Join Date: May 2010
Location: 10.0.0.17
Posts: 382
|
|
Dean;
There's plenty of sites out there that offer guidance and templates when it comes to a TOS. That's why many companies' Terms look strikingly similar as far as layout
But you're 100% right. If you hire an outside designer, you're not going to pay the extra buck to sit an explain to a guy all of your rules and regs just so he can do a minor static HTML insert for you 
__________________
BuyVM - OpenVZ & KVM Based VPS Servers - Chat with us
- All popular VPN methods supported
- Affordable offloaded MySQL & DDoS protection
- 5GB backup space, unmetered private LAN bandwidth & native IPv6 included. All with a strong serving of pony
|

02-24-2011, 04:33 PM
|
|
Community Leader
|
|
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: cognito
Posts: 17,328
|
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by DeanHarper
I cannot believe some people. Fair enough they have the cheek to lift the design and use it as their own, but then to go and tell you that you must be out of your mind to think they stole it.
|
Once caught someone who copied my somewhat unique textual content verbatim, changing only the business name. When confronted, he stated he wrote it, and that he'd come and physically harm me for accusing him of theft. I showed proof of mine predating his by a long period, there was nothing he could to.
Cheek indeed. 
__________________
Have problems (don't we all)? Head over to the help desk
If at first you don't succeed, that's one data point.
|

02-24-2011, 04:42 PM
|
|
Junior Guru Wannabe
|
|
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 34
|
|
Sir,
This was a stand-alone message and has nothing to do with the abuse ticket.
We are just informing you regarding your infringement practices of our content wich we do not tolerate.
Our copyright is clearly listed at [our site] thus:
"Copyright © 2011 DotDomein. All Rights Reserved.".
Thanks for understanding.
Yours sincerely,
S. Scholte
<<Signature to be setup in your profile>>
Last edited by anon-e-mouse; 02-24-2011 at 06:02 PM.
|

02-24-2011, 04:45 PM
|
|
Poooooonnyyy :*
|
|
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,896
|
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by supers
Sir,
This was a stand-alone message and has nothing to do with the abuse ticket.
We are just informing you regarding your infringement practices of our content wich we do not tolerate.
Our copyright is clearly listed at [our site] thus:
"Copyright © 2011 DotDomein. All Rights Reserved.".
Thanks for understanding.
Yours sincerely,
S. Scholte
<<Signature to be setup in your profile>>
|
Content that many has proven is ours?
Francisco
__________________
BuyVM - OpenVZ & KVM Based VPS Servers - Chat with us
- All popular VPN methods supported
- Affordable offloaded MySQL & DDoS protection
- 5GB backup space, unmetered private LAN bandwidth & native IPv6 included. All with a strong serving of pony
Last edited by anon-e-mouse; 02-24-2011 at 06:03 PM.
|

02-24-2011, 04:46 PM
|
|
Aspiring Evangelist
|
|
Join Date: May 2010
Location: 10.0.0.17
Posts: 382
|
|
Mr Scholte;
You are more than welcome to attempt to prove ownership of this content. My writing style is rather unique, however, and you will have a rather difficult time finding another company with a "tl;dr" section in their TOS, let alone proving that I took this concept from you.
Perhaps, for clarity, I could dig up a few old threads to link you to where clients complained quite loudly about specific passages when I caught them on an infraction?
__________________
BuyVM - OpenVZ & KVM Based VPS Servers - Chat with us
- All popular VPN methods supported
- Affordable offloaded MySQL & DDoS protection
- 5GB backup space, unmetered private LAN bandwidth & native IPv6 included. All with a strong serving of pony
|

02-24-2011, 04:46 PM
|
|
Aspiring Evangelist
|
|
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 418
|
|
just let them be,
i have a feeling it could be one of your ex-customer,
they are worshiped you by duplicating your site,
just like that directspace affiliate thingy

__________________
please cmiiw always
|

02-24-2011, 04:48 PM
|
|
sean [at] speedysparrow.com
|
|
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 10,183
|
|
__________________
██ l SpeedySparrow • Marketing Guru • Ksplice Secured
██ l LiteSpeed • CloudLinux • R1Soft Backups • RVSite Builder • cPanel/WHM®
██ l Trendy Site Builder • Installatron • Softaculous • SEO Tools (Attracta)
██ l VPS Hosting • CloudFlare Partners • Dallas Texas & Ireland Datacenters
|
| Thread Tools |
Search this Thread |
|
|
|
| Display Modes |
Linear Mode
|
| Postbit Selector |
|
|
Posting Rules
|
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
HTML code is Off
|
|
|
|
|
|
| Login: |
|
|
| Advertisement: |
|
|
| Web Hosting News: |
|
|
|