Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    81

    Centos automatically changing from static to DHCP

    So, atleast every week on the same day, my server resets it's IP address in eth0 from static to dhcp.. causing my server to become unresponsive to pinging, i have to contact the datacenter to get them to go in via local console and change the ip address and power cycle the server... which obviously causes heaps of downtime for our customers.

    I initally thought it was a cronjob, but i've looked and cannot find much.

    Could this be a faulty nic?

    ~B

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    1,794
    Try disabling and stop the network manager service.
    LVPSHosting.com|Virtual Private Servers|Dedicated Servers|
    Managed Hosting Solution|24/7/365 Support
    Datacentar and servers location: Holland, Europe

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    81
    Hello, Thanks for the response.. NetworkManager is already disabled..

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Varna, Bulgaria
    Posts
    1,270
    /etc/sysconfig/network-scripts/ifcfg-eth0
    what do you have in that file?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    81
    Hello,

    DEVICE=eth0
    BOOTPROTO=none
    ONBOOT=yes
    HWADDR=00:30:67:72:b3:a5
    NETMASK=255.255.255.0
    IPADDR=removed
    GATEWAY=removed
    TYPE=Ethernet

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Varna, Bulgaria
    Posts
    1,270
    Yes, sounds correct (bootproto=none).
    How about uninstalling the dhcp client?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    81
    [[email protected] ~]# service dhcpd status
    dhcpd (pid 19209) is running...
    [[email protected] ~]# service dhcpd stop
    Shutting down dhcpd: [ OK ]
    [[email protected] ~]# chkconfig dhcpd off


    Seems it was running... lets see how this goes.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Varna, Bulgaria
    Posts
    1,270
    dhcpd is dhcp Server. You need to remove the dhcp client, not server.
    yum remove dhcp

    But if you don't need the dhcp server you could remove that too.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    81
    Ah i see my bad, anyway, i removed both of them dhcp and dhpcd, hopefully this sorts it.. been a real pain to say the least.

    Thanks for the advice.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    819
    Quote Originally Posted by Badmanh View Post
    Hello,

    DEVICE=eth0
    BOOTPROTO=none
    ONBOOT=yes
    HWADDR=00:30:67:72:b3:a5
    NETMASK=255.255.255.0
    IPADDR=removed
    GATEWAY=removed
    TYPE=Ethernet
    BOOTPROTO should be set to "static"

    BOOTPROTO=static


  11. #11
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    81
    Any idea why it keeps changing? pretty sure the guys at the DC changed that..

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Ashburn VA, San Diego CA
    Posts
    4,571
    AFAIK 'none' is the documented setting for static, although 'static' works as well. This has nothing to do with the issue at hand... it's probably the fact that dhcpcd was running.
    Fast Serv Networks, LLC | AS29889 | Fully Managed Cloud, Streaming, Dedicated Servers, Colo by-the-U
    Since 2003 - Ashburn VA + San Diego CA Datacenters

Similar Threads

  1. CentOS DHCP Install
    By jonessc in forum Employment / Job Offers
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 07-25-2010, 01:59 PM
  2. Change IP DHCP to Static using Xen VPS
    By r0kawa in forum VPS Hosting
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 11-20-2008, 04:55 AM
  3. Changing The Title of a Page Automatically
    By N8Webs in forum Web Design and Content
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 12-28-2005, 01:29 AM
  4. Changing dynamic to static with Mod.
    By VolkNet in forum Programming Discussion
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 02-02-2005, 12:18 AM
  5. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 01-10-2003, 07:05 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •