Results 1 to 30 of 30
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    181

    * AAAH god! someone help me. server stop working evryday

    everyday about 4a:m my server getting so busy. read and write of server goes very high and all sites on server stop working.

    most times i have to Reset (i even can't login to console for reboot the server) all Vm's.
    i installed VMware vSphere 4, linux and kloxo.

    i don't know why that happens but maybe its because of cron jobs??
    or maybe of vmware??
    does vmware have cron jobs too?

    i took a look to cron logs. in that time server start running cron.daily and cron.hourly
    i erased all cron daily files. but i still have the problem.
    i attach one of my cron logs here.

    please help me in every way you know. it really made me sick


    (p.s: please do not spam with messages like contact to provider)
    Attached Files Attached Files

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    260
    probably your server is backing up on that time.
    disabling the backup configuration may solve your problem

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    181
    hi Rezaa, thanks for reply
    where are backup configuration ? how i can disable that function?
    if it's backup, so why i don't get any new backup files in my list everyday?
    (and i don't have that much free space in server)

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    260
    I said Probably, I'm not sure!
    Did you ever configured a backup cronjob on your server?
    What kind of control panel you are using on your server?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    181
    i use kloxo (lxadmin)
    and no. i do not configured any backup cronjob

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Ashburn, VA
    Posts
    1,314
    I suggest you run FSCK to check the file system.
    Preetam Jinka

    Isomerous - High performance web services for business and individuals.
    Bitcable Colocation, KVMs, cPanel hosting, Oracle expertise, and more.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    San Francisco/Hot Springs
    Posts
    988
    I'd agree that its likely backups, but it could also just be all the nightly cronjobs firing up at once and beating your poor disks to death. What kind of drives do you have in the system?
    AppliedOperations - Premium Service
    Bandwidth | Colocation | Hosting | Managed Services | Consulting
    www.appliedops.net

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    181
    I'd agree that its likely backups, but it could also just be all the nightly cronjobs firing up at once and beating your poor disks to death. What kind of drives do you have in the system?
    hi appliedops. can you tell me what do you mean of "what kind of drives?"


    Quote Originally Posted by Bitcable View Post
    I suggest you run FSCK to check the file system.
    it send some warnings for run FSCK command. is it safe? what is that command ?

    this server made ma really mad. also i don't have money to buy a better one. i just want to kill myself. one day

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    278
    Quote Originally Posted by sashaiel View Post
    hi appliedops. can you tell me what do you mean of "what kind of drives?"



    it send some warnings for run FSCK command. is it safe? what is that command ?

    this server made ma really mad. also i don't have money to buy a better one. i just want to kill myself. one day
    He means what size (GB) and speed of them (RPM), you have to run FSCK on a live disc for the root partition.

    At around the time it dies can you #top and see what processes are being used.

    Also what Operating System is it? Ubuntu, Centos?

    Marty

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    181
    i use Centos 5.5

    At around the time it dies can you #top and see what processes are being used.
    i tried that. server load is about 40 in that time!
    and i tried htop but i couldn't find out anything.

    i ran FSCK.
    you can see result in picture below.

    http://upload.harferooz.com/images/985ser1.jpg


    i have 2 VM running linux and 1 VM with windows. i do not have any problem in windows .it's ok all the time

    here is info of linux drives. this can help you to understand the proble?


    http://upload.harferooz.com/images/135ser2.jpg

    http://upload.harferooz.com/images/233ser3.jpg


    also it's not backup. i checked back schedules and there is nothing. they are disable.
    it's not cron job i think because i changed the cron jobs time. ( i even erased the once)
    and also i tried to disable yum. because i though maybe it's the problem.

    is there anyautomatic update system in vmware (or linux that i forgot) ?

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    278
    I hope you didn't run FSCK on / while the OS was running...
    What processes are running in top when it occurs?

    Also you are using alot of ram for your spec...

    Are those results off your VM stats or the hardware box?

    #free -m

    Please paste the results.

    Marty

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    WebHostingTalk
    Posts
    16,960
    Moved > Hosting Security and Technology.
    Specially 4 You
    .
    JoneSolutions.Com ( Jones.Solutions ) is on the net 24/7 providing stable and reliable web hosting solutions and services since 2001

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    181
    Quote Originally Posted by Rapid2214 View Post
    I hope you didn't run FSCK on / while the OS was running...
    What processes are running in top when it occurs?

    Also you are using alot of ram for your spec...

    Are those results off your VM stats or the hardware box?

    #free -m

    Please paste the results.

    Marty
    hey my friend, i run FSCK just in a few past minutes. i really really don't know what to do anymore. is it dangerous for server?

    yesterday i saw about " yum-updatesd-he" and also "python" i think.
    i tried to delete yum-updatesd (i'm not sure it's yum-updatesd-he) and still i have the problem.

    free -m results (right now results) in 2 VM's

    http://upload.harferooz.com/images/886ser5.jpg

    http://upload.harferooz.com/images/996ser6.jpg



    Also you are using alot of ram for your spec...
    should i increase the Ram of VM's or Decrease? (my total ram in server is 2GB)

    Are those results off your VM stats or the hardware box?
    i didn't understatd the question. forgive me for my bad English (probably Vm stats)

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    278
    You shouldn't run FSCK while your server is on as it may damage the filesystem, thats what those warnings were about.

    Can I see the result of #free -m on your hardware server, not the vms...

    Thanks,

    Marty

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    181
    Can I see the result of #free -m on your hardware server, not the vms...
    only VMs have terminal. maybe i need use putty!?

    ok. another way
    maybe these pictures would help?

    http://upload.harferooz.com/images/519ser10.jpg

    http://upload.harferooz.com/images/548ser11.jpg

    http://upload.harferooz.com/images/876ser12.jpg

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    278
    Ok, that kinda answers my query...

    I'm not entirely sure how ESXi works, but if you could putty(ssh) in run #top, around the time the VMs crash, I would imagine that the ram usage is getting to high and ESXi is forcing off the VM's to save the whole system from crashing...

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    181
    maybe if i decrease the Ram of VMs it would help?
    i have about 2000 viewer per day on each VM. how much a VM need RAM for this number of visitors you guess? is that enough 192MB for each VM??

  18. #18
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    278
    I think you need to allocate them some more cpu, on a vm can you tell me the load averages?

  19. #19
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    181
    most times like picture below (except 4a:m that everything crash)

    http://upload.harferooz.com/images/357ser20.jpg

  20. #20
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    278
    Ok, On one of your linux vms, can you run #cat /proc/loadavg

  21. #21
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    181
    mmm. ok so here is the result
    0.15 0.09 0.06 1/129 8927

  22. #22
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    278
    Ok... Thats fine... Do you have ssh access to 'd4.localdomain', your VM host?

  23. #23
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    181
    i think "no". it send error.

  24. #24
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    278
    What error?

  25. #25
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    181
    in fact there is no ssh panel in "vmware client" for connecting to main ip.
    i used putty but sent "network error :connection refused" .
    i could use putty when i had hyperVM in past.

  26. #26
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    278
    How strange, you should be able to use putty... :/
    See my PM.

  27. #27
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    934
    Actually, you might want to direct your attention to the windows VM. You're well below the minimum RAM, and at that point, any scheduled tasks like windows update will cause massive swap usage rendering the other VMs unresponsive.

  28. #28
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    278
    Quote Originally Posted by tchen View Post
    Actually, you might want to direct your attention to the windows VM. You're well below the minimum RAM, and at that point, any scheduled tasks like windows update will cause massive swap usage rendering the other VMs unresponsive.
    Good point!

  29. #29
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    San Francisco/Hot Springs
    Posts
    988
    Quote Originally Posted by sashaiel View Post
    hi appliedops. can you tell me what do you mean of "what kind of drives?"
    Are you using SAS or SATA drives? 5400rpm, 7200rpm, 10000rpm, or 15000rpm?
    If you're using slow drives, one vm can destroy your performance.

    it send some warnings for run FSCK command. is it safe? what is that command ?
    Yeah, don't run fsck on a running system with Linux...

    this server made ma really mad. also i don't have money to buy a better one. i just want to kill myself. one day
    Well, don't kill yourself, but maybe buy the right server for the job next time? Your hosting provider can probably help you figure out the right thing to use.
    AppliedOperations - Premium Service
    Bandwidth | Colocation | Hosting | Managed Services | Consulting
    www.appliedops.net

  30. #30
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    181
    Quote Originally Posted by tchen View Post
    Actually, you might want to direct your attention to the windows VM. You're well below the minimum RAM, and at that point, any scheduled tasks like windows update will cause massive swap usage rendering the other VMs unresponsive.

    hi. thanks for point. i disabled automatic updates in windows now.


    Quote Originally Posted by appliedops View Post
    Are you using SAS or SATA drives? 5400rpm, 7200rpm, 10000rpm, or 15000rpm?
    If you're using slow drives, one vm can destroy your performance.


    Yeah, don't run fsck on a running system with Linux...


    Well, don't kill yourself, but maybe buy the right server for the job next time? Your hosting provider can probably help you figure out the right thing to use.
    hi. i'm not sure about rpm but i thinks sata. and server is cheap so it must be low speed.

    i contact to person i bought server from him, and he said that data center will not answer you because server is unmanaged.

    anyway. thanks for help.

    i wanna buy new server for this month . anyone knows about servers with low price but good quality???

Similar Threads

  1. directadmin server httpd suddenly stop working
    By seachen in forum Hosting Security and Technology
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 02-06-2011, 01:55 PM
  2. Replies: 19
    Last Post: 10-10-2010, 01:18 AM
  3. Do you ever stop working?
    By Ronald_Craft in forum Web Hosting Lounge
    Replies: 60
    Last Post: 08-23-2010, 09:58 PM
  4. Hi, when I moved to Dedicated server, decryption stop working.
    By goodmorningsky in forum Programming Discussion
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 10-17-2007, 11:44 PM
  5. Mail Forwarding stop working after server migration (WHM/Cpanel). Anyone ?
    By DVD in forum Hosting Security and Technology
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-07-2004, 03:26 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •