hosted by liquidweb


Go Back   Web Hosting Talk : Web Hosting Main Forums : Web Hosting : Dedicated T1 line - Is it worth it?
Reply

Forum Jump

Dedicated T1 line - Is it worth it?

Reply Post New Thread In Web Hosting Subscription
 
Send news tip View All Posts Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-04-2001, 03:37 PM
evertheory evertheory is offline
Junior Guru Wannabe
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: USA
Posts: 33
Okay...

What I want to know is this.

Through my phone company, I can get a dedicated 1.5 mb T1 line for around $300 a month.

I currently have a dedicated server hosted somewhere else that I pay for.

Could I host my 30 websites on the T1 line without having many problems? Would the dedicated T1 line support the sites? How much can a dedicated T1 support without having problems?



Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 05-04-2001, 05:11 PM
Phoenix Phoenix is offline
Web Hosting Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Boston Metro
Posts: 345
$300 for a T1? I'll take two!

My first question, is are you sure you are getting a 'real' T1 and not a DSL line being sold as a dedicated T1 (you'd be surprised)? $300 is suspiciously cheap for a dedicated T1. What's the breakdown of the costs, local loop vs Internet transit? We pay 1200 for one of our T's and that's transit only, not local loop, another provider is charging us 2500 for local loop plus transit.

As to how whether or not your sites can be supported by a single T1, that really depends on the traffic they are getting, and how important reliability is.

If you've got 30 low profile, static presence sites with not a lot of graphics, no streaming video, etc. you've got bandwidth to burn with a full T, but if you are hosting 30 busy porn sites or sites where a lot of other content is being downloaded, you'll need a lot more bandwidth than that.

Bandwidth usage is bursty, and there are times when a site may get slashdotted or whatnot and you'll get a tremendous amount of traffic. If you don't have the available capacity to accomodate that spike, it will be the equivalent of a DoS attack on your network.

What we do on our network is we determine our average traffic usage and use that as a benchmark, and that amount represents 20% of our total capacity. If our average usage goes over that 20%, we bring in more transit.

Also think of points of failure. A single T is a single point of failure. The T goes down, all of your sites are down. T1's are the most reliable form of connectivity, but they aren't perfect. Most likely, where you have your server hosted now, they've got multiple transit providers and multiple circuits to protect you from connectivity based outages as well as ensure you've got enough bandwidth.

__________________
http://forums.webhostdir.com/
All your hosts are belong to us

  #3  
Old 05-04-2001, 05:48 PM
evertheory evertheory is offline
Junior Guru Wannabe
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: USA
Posts: 33
Yes, it is a real T1 line.

Its through Southwestern Bell in Arkansas so things might be cheaper here?

They also charge a $1000.00 set up fee.

I have DSL now, but it is so shotty its not even worth having.

I can either get a new office (that sux) or get a dedicated T1.

Also, with a 5 year contract, the monthly price drops to $220.00 a month.

Sponsored Links
  #4  
Old 05-04-2001, 05:56 PM
DigitalXWeb DigitalXWeb is offline
Web Hosting Evangelist
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 524
Quote:
Originally posted by evertheory
Yes, it is a real T1 line.

Its through Southwestern Bell in Arkansas so things might be cheaper here?

They also charge a $1000.00 set up fee.

I have DSL now, but it is so shotty its not even worth having.

I can either get a new office (that sux) or get a dedicated T1.

Also, with a 5 year contract, the monthly price drops to $220.00 a month.
Maybe I should pack up and move WEST!! That price is $800 less per month compared to the East Coast prices.. Even the set up is less.. If your options are limited to the two listed above I would go with the DED line.. At that price I would go with 3!!

__________________
Regards,
Brian P.
Digital X Web[TM], LLC
http://digitalxweb.net

  #5  
Old 05-04-2001, 06:06 PM
Phoenix Phoenix is offline
Web Hosting Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Boston Metro
Posts: 345
Moving NOC to Arkansas

We are paying about 15K/month for our bandwidth and transit, that's it, we are packing up the servers and moving from Boston metro to Halahootcha Holla, Arkansas.

One question, is that a burstable T1? or is that flat rate? Burstable T1's can be a low monthly fee, but then you pay for your actual bandwidth consumption on top of that and that can be higher than a full T. Otherwise, I can't see how they do it for that price. We pay more than that for just the local loop. Are you next door to the CO maybe?

__________________
http://forums.webhostdir.com/
All your hosts are belong to us

  #6  
Old 05-04-2001, 06:27 PM
evertheory evertheory is offline
Junior Guru Wannabe
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: USA
Posts: 33
Im not kidding you on this one.

I have been checking this out for a while now.

It is a sustained, dedicated 1.5 mb T1 line.

For a basic contract it is $1000.00 set up, and $360 a month.

For a 5 year contract, it is $440 set up and $220.00 a month.

<EDIT>

Oh wait, I think they did check how close I was.
I guess I am close?

</EDIT>

  #7  
Old 05-04-2001, 06:50 PM
evertheory evertheory is offline
Junior Guru Wannabe
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: USA
Posts: 33
If its that much cheaper, I will show you guys the ropes here in Arkansas when you move your offices

No seriously...

The main Southwestern Bell office number is 1-800-464-7928

I guess it is priced on how close you are.
I live right in the middle of Fayetteville, Arkansas (college town) Go RazorBacks! hehe

  #8  
Old 05-04-2001, 07:40 PM
DHWWnet DHWWnet is offline
NOC DOC :)
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: USA
Posts: 866
Smile

I'd go for it, only for backup purposes or low traffic sites...

T1 price here in southern cali...
$499 per month , No setup
Real T1 line
includes router
includes local telco loop
etc... point to point t1 connection.

http://www.pajo.net


cheers,
elijah john

  #9  
Old 05-04-2001, 10:25 PM
lith lith is offline
Junior Guru Wannabe
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 45
hmm..i'm in fort smith, ar. I've never heard of a $300 T1, unless its fractional. But if it is a full T1, it will most likely support your purposes. I'm sure it will cost alot for the hardware.

__________________
.

  #10  
Old 05-04-2001, 10:51 PM
jimb jimb is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Wash. DC
Posts: 702
Hey,

One other thing that you have to realize by moving from a "true" NOC (web hosting company) to your home is the techincal support. If something goes wrong, and you dont know what is happening, your screwed.

By colo your servers, you are also giving yourself the tech support and network that you need.

---------------------------------------------------------------

Anyways, you said you were in a college town. Ive heard that college's give really good deals on T-1 lines since they normally have huge connections. Also, I know that you can get free T-1 access in your dorm rooms.

Jim

  #11  
Old 05-05-2001, 02:13 AM
ebird ebird is offline
Web Hosting Guru
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 331
dsl

Why not choose some business DSL services?

I saw something like:
download at 8M
Upload around 1M.
Price: around $200 per month.

ebird

  #12  
Old 05-05-2001, 07:53 AM
evertheory evertheory is offline
Junior Guru Wannabe
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: USA
Posts: 33
Trust me,

If I could get anything better in DSL than I have now...I would. Like I said before, the DSL connection I have is so shotty its not even worth it.

No amount of money will make the phone company run all new lines for DSL.

They are building "project pronto" witch will greatly improve DSL in my part of town, but that will not be ready until the end of 2002.

  #13  
Old 05-05-2001, 09:24 AM
NetRemedy NetRemedy is offline
WHT Addict
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Canada
Posts: 105
Arrow Better pricing than here in Canada!

WOW.

We just paid 650.00 US (995.00 Canadian) for installation and will be paying 1400.00 US (2200.00 Canadian) per month for a one year contract for a T1

Real T1 line (with Internet access)
includes Cisco 1601 router
includes local telco loop
8 IP addresses

We shopped around and this was the best deal we could get...

  #14  
Old 05-05-2001, 10:49 AM
MattF MattF is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: UK
Posts: 3,132
Just a note; pajo.net $499 T1 is fractional at 512kbps. The full T1 is $799 - $999/pm.

__________________
Matt Freeman - Reassuringly cynical and controversial

  #15  
Old 05-05-2001, 12:03 PM
Sharpnet Sharpnet is offline
Disabled
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 22
T1

We have a full T1 as well as co-location and we're in Lawton, OK. Ours is from UUNET and is ran to OKC and then back-hauled to Dallas. Our total monthly cost is $1102 which drops to $852 sometime in September when we're down paying off the router they gave us Cisco 2621) and setup fee..

So far it has been nothing but stable. I wander at night though sometimes if I made the right decision in building my own NOC. Once you factor in the cost of: Office space, racks, *power*, backup power (we had a high-wind storm/small tornado last night, power out for 23 min.), paging devices, cell phones and the list goes on and on and on, co-location may sometimes be better for you.

However, if you plan on putting hundreds of boxes somewhere co-location can sometimes be a hassle.. So it just pretty much depends on what you want.

Reply

Related posts from TheWhir.com
Title Type Date Posted
SingleHop Updates Dedicated Servers for Improved Performance Web Hosting News 2013-10-29 15:32:46
Hivelocity Launches Intel DC S3500 SSD Dedicated Server Line Web Hosting News 2013-07-03 14:28:36
ServerHub Expands to Dallas-Fort Worth with New Data Center Web Hosting News 2013-04-12 15:45:06
UK Web Host Daily Internet Launches Dedicated Servers Packages Web Hosting News 2013-01-29 14:36:15
Web Host ServInt Launches Line of Semi-Dedicated, Fully Managed Servers Web Hosting News 2013-01-14 11:06:33


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Postbit Selector

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump
Login:
Log in with your username and password
Username:
Password:



Forgot Password?
Advertisement:
Web Hosting News:



 

X

Welcome to WebHostingTalk.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

WebHostingTalk.com is the largest, most influentual web hosting community on the Internet. Join us by filling in the form below.


(4 digit year)

Already a member?