Results 1 to 33 of 33
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    2,735

    what is your shared hosting server specification ?

    Hi,

    can you share your hardware specification ?

    it may inclue cpu,ram,hdd,raid,...etc,


    thanx

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Sydney Australia
    Posts
    580
    Xeon E5520 @ 2.26GHz
    12Gb Ram
    4x250Gb HDD raid-10
    100mb port
    offsite backup

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    whitehouse
    Posts
    656
    Should it not be a 1000Mbps port?



    Quote Originally Posted by EmuHost-Pete View Post
    Xeon E5520 @ 2.26GHz
    12Gb Ram
    4x250Gb HDD raid-10
    100mb port
    offsite backup
    James B
    EzeeloginSetup your Secure Linux SSH Gateway.
    |Manage & Administer Multiple Linux Servers Quickly & Securely.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    4,035
    We use the following exclusively across all servers:-
    • Dual Quad Core CPU (8 Cores)
    • 32GB RAM
    • 15K SA-SCSI (SAS) Hard Drives
    • RAID10 Array
    Aspiration Hosting [US • UK • SG • AU] - Cloud Web Hosting | Managed Cloud Server
    • LiteMage / LiteSpeed Cache for Magento, WordPress, Joomla, Drupal & XenForo •

    • Web Development Support • Unmetered Bandwidth • Aspiration CDN • Magento Optimized •

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Sydney Australia
    Posts
    580
    Quote Originally Posted by BarackObama View Post
    Should it not be a 1000Mbps port?
    I've found 100 to be more than enough for the number of clients i like to keep per server. Plus it is easily upgraded if extra capacity is required

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    12
    We run the following accross all off our shared servers:

    2x Intel Xeon CPU X3440 @ 2.53GHz
    12GB ECC REGISTERED RAM
    4x 250GB HDD's (RAID-10 SETUP)
    100mbps port
    Running: cPanel/WHM, Ngnix etc

    Works out to be a rather nice setup

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    294
    The connection speed on the server is 100 mbps (mega bits per second)

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    1,733
    2 x Intel Xeon E5620 (16 threads)
    24GB DDR3
    6-8 SAS drives in RAID10

    We like to use Dell R610 or Dell R710.
    Darren Lingham - UK Webhosting Ltd. - (0800) 024 2931
    Tsohost.co.uk - Quality UK Windows and Linux hosting since 2003
    UK WordPress Hosting - Fast, easy, cloud based WordPress Hosting

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    2,735
    can any other freind share me with your experience ? thanx

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    2,735
    Quote Originally Posted by Giant View Post
    We run the following accross all off our shared servers:

    2x Intel Xeon CPU X3440 @ 2.53GHz
    12GB ECC REGISTERED RAM
    4x 250GB HDD's (RAID-10 SETUP)
    100mbps port
    Running: cPanel/WHM, Ngnix etc

    Works out to be a rather nice setup
    can X3440 install two on the one mother board ?thanx

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Berkshire, UK.
    Posts
    161
    Quote Originally Posted by ttgt View Post
    can X3440 install two on the one mother board ?thanx
    I always was led to belive that you couldn't dual the X34 series?!

    Anyhow our shared boxes are all;

    Dell PE 2U Units
    Single Xeon CPU (2nd CPU kept in stock incase needed)
    8GB Min Ram
    8x SAS HDD
    RAID 10
    With all redundancy options ticked (dual psu etc).
    100Mbit Port

    We tend to run quite a low number of clients per box to always have strech space for any client.

  12. #12
    Intel® Xeon® X3440 Quadcore 64 Bit
    16GB RAM
    2x 1,500 GB SATA II-HDD RAID
    100Mbit Port

    My first server, for now is doing ok

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Cincinnati
    Posts
    1,583
    Quote Originally Posted by Rob-Rackedeu View Post
    I always was led to belive that you couldn't dual the X34 series?!

    Anyhow our shared boxes are all;

    Dell PE 2U Units
    Single Xeon CPU (2nd CPU kept in stock incase needed)
    8GB Min Ram
    8x SAS HDD
    RAID 10
    With all redundancy options ticked (dual psu etc).
    100Mbit Port

    We tend to run quite a low number of clients per box to always have strech space for any client.

    http://ark.intel.com/Product.aspx?id=42927

    Max CPU Configuration 1


    He is just trying to inflate his low low end quad cores ego by saying 2X....

    We run a beastly hybrid server setup

    2x 5640s
    24GB Ram
    12x 600GB 15k Raid 6.

    400 Accounts with Percona MySQL.

    Regular shared mysql is quad with 4x 1tb raid 5... iowait is considered ok for el-cheapo shared hosting.
    'Ripcord'ing is the only way!

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    2,735
    for centos,the more ram the better?im sure it is yes,

    but if the ram is 16g,should i set any setting for centos to tell his there is 16GB ram ?

    or centos/os will do his best to use all the ram for better performance if he need ?


    thanx

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    1,733
    Quote Originally Posted by Visbits View Post
    http://ark.intel.com/Product.aspx?id=42927

    2x 5640s
    24GB Ram
    12x 600GB 15k Raid 6.
    Which chassis do you use for that?
    Darren Lingham - UK Webhosting Ltd. - (0800) 024 2931
    Tsohost.co.uk - Quality UK Windows and Linux hosting since 2003
    UK WordPress Hosting - Fast, easy, cloud based WordPress Hosting

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    2,735
    do you think more ram is important ? or sas is important than sata ?

  17. #17
    Xeon E5520 @ 2.26GHz
    16Gb Ram
    2x600Gb HDD raid-10
    100mb port
    R1 soft offsite nightly backup

  18. #18
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Berkshire, UK.
    Posts
    161
    Quote Originally Posted by HostGuts View Post
    2x600Gb HDD raid-10
    Really?..

    Raid 10 requires 4 drives.

  19. #19
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    2,735
    any more suggestion or experience to share ? thanx

  20. #20
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    3,582
    a lot of solid not possible configurations in this topic.

    We run the following

    Dual Xeon 5520 Or Dual Xeon 5620
    12gb ram
    4x300GB 15K SAS in Raid-10 (Adaptec 5405 or 5405z)
    We use R1Soft for backups

    It does the job for us.
    Tony B. - Chief Executive Officer
    Hawk Host Inc. Proudly serving websites since 2004
    Quality Shared and VPS Hosting
    PHP 5.3.x & PHP 5.4.x & PHP 5.5.X & PHP 5.6.X & PHP 7.0.X Support!

  21. #21
    Looking at the specs of some of these servers is IO the biggest limiting factor on the number of accounts you can fit on a single box?

    2x 5640s
    24GB Ram
    12x 600GB 15k Raid 6.

    400 Accounts with Percona MySQL.
    That seems like a lot of spec for 400 accounts. What are you charging for each plan for the ROI to be worth it?

  22. #22
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    2,735
    any other friend can share your experience ? thanx

  23. #23
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    US
    Posts
    61
    We run the following configuration on our shared servers:

    (Quad core) Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU X3450 @ 2.67GHz or
    Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU E5620 @ 2.40GHz (Dual CPU) (Quad core)
    8GB ECC REGISTERED RAM
    4 X 1T HDD's (Software RAID-10)
    100mbps port

    We limit amount of users per server.
    usually keep the load below 3/4 of the resources.
    Rotmax - Advanced Hosting Solutions
    | Providing premium hosting since 2001.
    | http://www.rotmax.com
    | Follow us on Facebook: Rotmax-Facebook

  24. #24
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Graz, Austria
    Posts
    298
    Secret

    But lots of Ram (16Gb+), SAS HDDs in RAID, 16-32 CPU Cores, 1000Mbit Port.
    They run behind a very good Caching/Loadbalancing system and we also do Daily backups to other Servers.

  25. #25
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    4,548
    While we work on out our plans for our own 100% owned and operated Cloud we're renting resources from another upstream provider.

    Basically, once we're utilizing about 65-75% of our current allotment for our Shared server we'll simply add more RAM/Storage/CPU. This way, we're never really paying too much more than we need and we're able to maintain a pretty steady percentage of unused resources to accommodate any sort of spikes in usage (non-overloaded server). The same for our Reseller server.

    Combined with Varnish Cache, the performance is great.
    vpsBoard - An active resource for all things Virtual Private Servers. Tutorials, Guides, Offers and more!
    Come join the conversation! 90,000 posts and growing daily! The fastest growing hosting forum around!

  26. #26
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    163
    We run our shared and resellers plans in:

    2 X XEON 5630
    12 GB RAM
    4 x SATA 1TB WD RE3 RAID 10 Hardware (Areca cards)
    2 x 120 GB SSD Software Raid 1 for mysql
    2 x 120 GB SSD Software Raid 0 for caching (swap, /tmp, eaccelerator and Litespeed cache)
    Chassis Norco RPC 2008
    Litespeed Enterprise

    SSD enterprise drives for mysql and caching make a big different

  27. #27
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    2,735
    Quote Originally Posted by Datacenter1 View Post
    We run our shared and resellers plans in:

    2 X XEON 5630
    12 GB RAM
    4 x SATA 1TB WD RE3 RAID 10 Hardware (Areca cards)
    2 x 120 GB SSD Software Raid 1 for mysql
    2 x 120 GB SSD Software Raid 0 for caching (swap, /tmp, eaccelerator and Litespeed cache)
    Chassis Norco RPC 2008
    Litespeed Enterprise

    SSD enterprise drives for mysql and caching make a big different
    can i ask more detail about your board ? raid card ? thanx

  28. #28
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    163
    Quote Originally Posted by ttgt View Post
    can i ask more detail about your board ? raid card ? thanx
    Sure...

    RAID Cards: Areca 1210
    Mother Board: Supermicro X8DTL-iF-O
    Hard Drives: SATA II 1TB WD RE3
    SSD: OCZ Vertex 2 MLC
    Chassis Norco RPC:2008 (8 hot swap drives)
    Memory ECC Kingston
    CPU cooler Dynatron
    PSU 400 watts Athena or similars

    You can find all those parts in newegg
    Last edited by Datacenter1; 04-21-2011 at 09:36 PM. Reason: Typo

  29. #29
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    2,735
    for a x3440,8g or 16g ram,500g*4 with raid10,is it enough to run 200 normal websites with php/mysql ? like wordpress or phpbb.thanx

  30. #30
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Berkshire, UK.
    Posts
    161
    Quote Originally Posted by ttgt View Post
    for a x3440,8g or 16g ram,500g*4 with raid10,is it enough to run 200 normal websites with php/mysql ? like wordpress or phpbb.thanx
    Impossible to answer correctly.

    Sure you could run 200 empty wordpress/phpbb websites, but when you start loading them up for example lots of users using a forum etc you will quickly start to eat resources.

    For example i host a club phpbb installation which has 16K+ members and its quite busy for most of the day. Their installation requires a fairly large VPS to be able to hand the load. Typically using 2GB+ RAM most of the time.

  31. #31
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    2,735
    if each website transfer about 50G bandwidth per month,how about it ? thanx

  32. #32
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    2,735
    i have a question,one forum transfer 10,000G per month on a server,and 200 websites transfer 50G each websites per month(total is 200*50=10,000G),will they use almost the same system resource(cpu/ram/io...etc) ? thanx

  33. #33
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Berkshire, UK.
    Posts
    161
    Transfer means nothing. In hosting its quite simply not a case of how many sites can fit. Each and everysite has different usage patterns, some require more I/O, some more RAM. There is no correct answer for it. Will all databases be correct optamised, will plugins be used with wordpress or addons on the forums. All these little things effect the requirements of a website.

    Something you may want to take a look at is a product called CloudLinux, it can help provide a hosting enviroment where no one site/client can steal the whole box resources aswell as other features. Much like a automated fair usage system.

    **I think if a admin spots this split these last replys into a new subject in the dedicated server section as its going a little off topic. **

Similar Threads

  1. Server Specification Recommendations
    By MrSaints in forum Dedicated Server
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 08-30-2010, 08:55 AM
  2. need specification dedicated server
    By denbagus in forum Dedicated Server
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 02-02-2010, 10:16 AM
  3. Ideal Server Specification
    By zachary.lai in forum Dedicated Server
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-18-2006, 10:49 PM
  4. Server Specification for forum
    By MrLlama in forum Dedicated Server
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-28-2005, 12:49 PM
  5. i want to buy a new server for this specification
    By zeko in forum Dedicated Hosting Offers
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 03-12-2003, 12:16 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •