Hosted Nameservers

I've been using my own server and domain to host my own sites and nameserver, the servers been going down a bit lately (thats another story) and i'm wondering what you would suggest for hosting my nameserver ns1.mysite.com ns2.mysite.com externally.. it would be a pain (and borderline impossible) to contact alot of the owners of the domain names and have nameserver information changed so i'd really preffer to keep the scema as is.. is this a difficult task 80 sites later ? I'm no expert but i've winged it for a pretty long while.

use Child name server to configure your nameserver

I do not know, but in my opinion that would be better for you if you change your web hosting services. (find another provider)

Is your DNS server and webserver hosted on same physical server? If yes, I would suggest if you move your domain's DNS service to be hosted elsewhere as DNS service or "named" services quite resource consuming sometimes. I think most hosting provider will provide for free DNS hosting.

My DNS server and webserver IS located on the same physical server and 'named' does fail.. i'm totally willing to take dns service off especially since reading around it looks like its a good practice.. would i be able to keep my naming schema (ns1.mymaindomain.com ns2.mymaindomain.com) ?
    of course tech support at my dedicated box says "get a new server" lol

Just point your ns1 and ns2 to another server.
    Sam Barrow - CEO @ SQUIDIX (1-855-SQUIDIX)
    Ask Us About Sponsoring Your Web Site (High Traffic Sites Only)
    Squidix - Shared, Reseller, Semi-Dedicated, Managed VPS and Managed Dedicated Hosting
    Midwestern Web - Web Design & Development Services