Thread: OpenVPN hosting

OpenVPN hosting

Hi, first of all, i'm still a super noob right now so be gentle at me

I'm currently trying to find a cheap vps hosting for openvpn.. i want to make a site like proxpn, airvpn, macrovpn, etc.
    i found this specs at thrustvps.com:

512MB RAM, 1GB Burst
    15GB Disk Space
    1TB Transfer
    1 IP
    Linux Only

My question is:

** i wanna know how many clients can this handle
    (all people simultaneously using it ).. people with normal browsing and few abusive people using it in downloading torrent.

** will it consume too much resources like rapidleech if people would use it to download torrents?

** how will i know how much RAM and CPU speed would I need?

** does these webhost have control panel that i could use to monitor my server or i need to install one on my own? or i could just access it through ssh?

** how will i know how fast would my client's internet speed be if they'll use my vpn? i want to know what specs would i look for in a webhost so my vpn would not slow them down..

** does RAM would affect their internet speed too if they'll connect through my vpn?

thats all or now, thanks for those who would help

oh, a few more thing..

its a $5.95/mo.
    its a 1TB bandwidth so, is it a scam? or am i allowed to use up all those 1TB bandwidth? i'm not aware of webhost pricing
    Last edited by shinjikenny; 02-08-2011 at 11:35 PM.

How much do you know about running a VPN? Perhaps you'd be better off reselling VPN for another existing company rather than investing your time and money building your own site?

well, i want to learn about it...
    i'm not really after the money XD

I think that for openVPN that would be better to take a VPS or at least low end dedicated server.
    WebIntellects - Fully Managed Dedicated and Virtual Private Servers since1999.
    WebhostGIANT - LOW Cost Hosting