Hybrid View

Troubleshooting "Connection timed out" on my server

I hope someone can help me troubleshoot this. I've been trying for weeks.

I have a managed VPS with WiredTree. At the end of December, I stated getting slow responses and "connection timed out" errors every time I accessed any of my sites. I would sit for literally a minute or more and the page would either load minimally or the connection would time out.

The only thing WT noticed was the amount of memory each apache thread was using on the server. (I'm no expert...don't know exactly what this means.)

They restarted, and said they noticed in the logs that there were a few users, mainly "nobody" which is the webserver, using quite a bit of the server's memory.

They tried to get me to upgrade to something called LiteSpeed which I declined at the moment.

I've tried to troubleshoot on my end, to see if it might be something to do with my connection, computer, etc but not seeing anything there.

I don't have any problems with ANY other site...just those on my server.

In looking at the server stats today (again, I'm no expert when it comes to all this) I notice that the CPS utilization I/O spikes every few hours -- 75% up to 94%.

I just don't know what to do to remedy the situation. I have a SMF forum on one of the sites with over 98,000 posts on it and almost 1500 registered users, although only a handful of users active at a time.

I was having memory issues about a 1 1/2 years and upgraded my plan to their vps768 with 768 RAM.

I'm just not sure what to do. I'm considering switching hosts. I can't seem to get any real answers from WT on how to resolve this but I know it can't keep happening as I can't work on my sites in this condition. WT just keeps telling me it isn't a problem with the server. Well, that makes no sense...because I only have problems with the sites on that server.