Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1

    we can't rebuild the array with software raid1.

    Jan 10 13:10:01 nodexx smartd[6096]: Device: /dev/sda, 1 Currently unreadable (pending) sectors
    Jan 10 13:40:00 nodexx smartd[6096]: Device: /dev/sda, 1 Currently unreadable (pending) sectors
    Jan 10 14:10:00 nodexx smartd[6096]: Device: /dev/sda, 1 Currently unreadable (pending) sectors
    Jan 10 14:40:00 nodexx smartd[6096]: Device: /dev/sda, 1 Currently unreadable (pending) sectors
    -------------
    i request to replace the sda,and rebuild the array with software raid1.
    he told me :we can't rebuild the array with software raid1.
    anybody knowns what's reason?

  2. #2
    maybe the server is unmanaged, and since this is software raid it's not covered?
    You can try rebuilding it yourself though, try googling "mdadm rebuild".
    But if you're unsure, you better hire a sysadmin to do it for you.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    3,077
    It's very easy to rebuild a software RAID array. As mentioned if you are not sure how to do it, hire an admin to have a look. It's no more than 10 minutes work.

  4. #4
    he told me:
    We are going to set the whole server from 0, and we will add SDB as external HD through USB so you can copy the data.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    3,077
    Ask your provide to just replace sda and you will sort out the rebuild yourself.

    There is no point starting from scratch, its just a waste of time.

  6. #6
    thanks
    I do not understand why he want to replace SDB HD too and set the whole server from 0?
    my god,it is difficult to replace a disk,my provide do not know how to do it?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    whitehouse
    Posts
    656
    There is a high chance for the drive to fail when the array is being rebuild. Backup your data at the earliest.
    James B
    EzeeloginSetup your Secure Linux SSH Gateway.
    |Manage & Administer Multiple Linux Servers Quickly & Securely.

Similar Threads

  1. Hardware Raid1 vs Software Raid1
    By JordanC26 in forum Dedicated Server
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 08-07-2009, 10:54 AM
  2. reading data from 3ware raid1 array without 3ware controller?
    By panopticon in forum Hosting Security and Technology
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10-10-2008, 12:40 PM
  3. Dell 1850 rebuild raid array from OS
    By Serverplan in forum Dedicated Server
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 04-13-2005, 03:15 PM
  4. FSCK on SCSI RAID1/5 array
    By McRox in forum Colocation and Data Centers
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 05-23-2004, 06:34 PM
  5. Windows 2003 Software RAID1
    By akrinsky in forum Dedicated Server
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-29-2003, 01:26 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •