Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: CCNA lab

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    South East U.K.
    Posts
    1,295

    CCNA lab

    Hi all,


    I'm currently studying for my CCNA & I've seen some interesting prices on what the sellers are calling CCNA labs on eBay (sets of routers, switches etc.). Anyone think these are worth buying & if so what equipment should I be looking for in a lab?


    Thanks for looking

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    917
    The real question to be asking is, if you really need this. Unless off course, you're doing an online course. Most training centers have a lab where you have access to and can use.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    South East U.K.
    Posts
    1,295
    Don't need it as such, I now have online access to various lab setups & I think we'll have hands on experience at our day schools, but would be nice to have for experimenting with & just getting experience.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    8,944
    That's an interesting question. Are any completely virtualized labs available? (Random question, I know.)

    -mike
    Mike G. - Limestone Networks - Account Specialist
    Cloud - Dedicated - Colocation - Premium Network - Passionate Support
    DDoS Protection Available - Reseller Program @LimestoneInc - 877.586.0555

  5. #5
    As far as virtual labs go I am using CertExams CCNA Simulator with the network designer and it works pretty well. The interface is a little different than a real Cisco router, for example you cannot use the tab button to automatically complete commands. I haven't used the network designer very much but it appears to work ok. I did have a chance to use RouterSIM for a while and it appeared to have a lot more features. RouterSIM probably would be the way to go but the price is kind of steep.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    8,944
    Quote Originally Posted by jack369 View Post
    As far as virtual labs go I am using CertExams CCNA Simulator with the network designer and it works pretty well. The interface is a little different than a real Cisco router, for example you cannot use the tab button to automatically complete commands. I haven't used the network designer very much but it appears to work ok. I did have a chance to use RouterSIM for a while and it appeared to have a lot more features. RouterSIM probably would be the way to go but the price is kind of steep.
    Thanks for the reply. What certification program are you in? Or are you going it solo?

    -mike
    Mike G. - Limestone Networks - Account Specialist
    Cloud - Dedicated - Colocation - Premium Network - Passionate Support
    DDoS Protection Available - Reseller Program @LimestoneInc - 877.586.0555

  7. #7
    I have been studying on my own. I am just using a copy of the Sybex book and the network simulator. I also use a Cisco 2621 for a home router and I have been using that for studying NAT and some of the other stuff.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    South East U.K.
    Posts
    1,295
    Quote Originally Posted by Mike - Limestone View Post
    That's an interesting question. Are any completely virtualized labs available? (Random question, I know.)

    -mike
    The course I'm on gives us access to the Cisco Packet Tracer software which allows us to set up routers / switches / PC's etc. Not sure how closely this software follows real routers but since my original post I've been given access to our online lab, a collection of real equipment, with different access options available (tried a telnet to a router & that worked as expected).

    If this remote lab works well I will probably save my money

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Swansea, United Kingdom
    Posts
    348
    I played around with GNS3 & Boson Netsim when doing my CCNA, passed it just fine. Though it would be beneficial to have some real hands-on experience, especially if you want to go through to the CCNP and up.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    South East U.K.
    Posts
    1,295
    I think I'll see how I get on with this remote lab before deciding. It's only disadvantage is that you have to book time on it, up to a 2 hour maximum

  11. #11
    I have completed CCNA and got certification from cisco.CCNA it's a good course to know about networking....Cisco Packet Tracer software will allow us to work with routers & switches.so make sure that you go for V-Labs it will be very useful to you to learn more....V-Labs are important in CCNA.
    All The Best
    || AltusHost.com - Safe, Secure, and
    Reliable Hosting Solutions || Web Hosting | Reseller Hosting | VPS |
    Dedicated Servers
    || 100% Privacy Assured || Premium 24/7 Support

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    8,944
    Quote Originally Posted by RandomLittleHost View Post
    I think I'll see how I get on with this remote lab before deciding. It's only disadvantage is that you have to book time on it, up to a 2 hour maximum
    That is interesting. Random question, but have you thought about asking your school (or whoever provides the remote labs) for additional labs to be added?

    Speaking as an educator myself, let me vouch for the fact that when we obtain student requests, that usually helps us to submit purchase orders for the newest education gear that we had been eying anyway. But we do need the requests from students to justify the expenditures, oftentimes.

    -mike
    Mike G. - Limestone Networks - Account Specialist
    Cloud - Dedicated - Colocation - Premium Network - Passionate Support
    DDoS Protection Available - Reseller Program @LimestoneInc - 877.586.0555

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    South East U.K.
    Posts
    1,295
    They've provided the right labs to complete the course so I can't see them buying new equipment. The only disadvantage as I said is you have to book slots, up to a maximum of two hours

Similar Threads

  1. CCNA/Linux [or] MCSA/Novell [or] CCNA/MCSA
    By Wojtek in forum Web Hosting Lounge
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 02-01-2008, 07:20 PM
  2. Ccna
    By camers in forum Web Hosting Lounge
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 06-24-2006, 09:50 AM
  3. Cisco CCNA
    By HostSQ in forum Web Hosting Lounge
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 09-09-2005, 04:15 PM
  4. Ccna Lab For Sale
    By davidb in forum Other Offers & Requests
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-12-2002, 05:23 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •