Results 1 to 37 of 37
  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    569

    * New workstation - Post your specs!

    I just configured a new workstation for my home office. I was shooting for a budget around $1000 but ended up going over a little bit, but it was totally worth it.

    I'm curious what other people are using for their work computers nowadays. Post your specs or a pic!

    Here are the specs:

    Intel Core i7-950 Bloomfield 3.06GHz LGA 1366 130W Quad-Core Processor (you can actually pick this up for $199 now if you do some googling. it's the best value to power cpu available imo.)

    EVGA 131-GT-E767-TR LGA 1366 Intel X58 SLI3 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard

    2 x CORSAIR DOMINATOR 6GB (3 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) Triple Channel Kit - 12GB Total

    XFX Black Edition XPS-850W-BES 850W ATX12V / EPS12V SLI Ready CrossFire Ready 80 PLUS SILVER Certified Modular Active PFC Power Supply

    EVGA 012-P3-1472-AR GeForce GTX 470 (Fermi) SuperClocked 1280MB 320-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready SLI Support Video Card (I wanted to be able to handle some recent games just in case.)

    COOLER MASTER HAF 932 RC-932-KKN1-GP Black Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case

    2 x 150GB WD velociraptor 10krpm drives
    1 x WD 1TB drive
    1 x 1tb external usb 3.0 drive

    *I already had the drives - they did not affect the price*

    All for around $1200. That's an amazing value IMO.
    GorillaServers Inc | Direct Unmetered Dedicated Servers

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    4,487
    Well you have out done me

    Amd athlon 3800+ 2ghz
    2gb ddr2 600mhz ram
    1 WD black 1tb drive
    300 watt dell power supply
    ati sapphire 4670 1gb ddr3

    Maxes the games I play besides one and I could probably take my existing parts or the case and the drive and build a new one to max games for like 500. If I had the cash.

    Did you happen to get the microcenter deal that has the i7+motherboard for 200?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    NJ, USA
    Posts
    6,456
    AMD Athlon II X4 640
    Asus M4N68T-M V2
    Cooler Master 335
    64GB Micro Center brand SSD, 3x250gb desktop drives RAID5 for data (3ware 9500s-4lp)
    550W Eagle PSU
    8GB DDR3 1333

    CPU/board/case/psu cost me about $150 total.... and the RAM was $6.70/gig when I got it.. so cheap build. SSD was only $100 and I had the RAID card / 250gb's already
    simplywww: directadmin and cpanel hosting that will rock your socks
    Need some work done in a datacenter in the NYC area? NYC Remote Hands can do it.

    Follow my "deals" Twitter for hardware specials.. @dougysdeals

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    569
    Quote Originally Posted by techjr View Post
    Well you have out done me

    Amd athlon 3800+ 2ghz
    2gb ddr2 600mhz ram
    1 WD black 1tb drive
    300 watt dell power supply
    ati sapphire 4670 1gb ddr3

    Maxes the games I play besides one and I could probably take my existing parts or the case and the drive and build a new one to max games for like 500. If I had the cash.

    Did you happen to get the microcenter deal that has the i7+motherboard for 200?
    No but I did get the i7 950 for $199 at micro center which is an amazing deal. It used to cost $500+. I needed a board that had USB 3.0 and sata 6gbps so I went with one a little pricier.
    GorillaServers Inc | Direct Unmetered Dedicated Servers

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    New York, NY
    Posts
    10,574
    My setup (built about 3-4 months ago):

    Cooler Master HAF 932
    ASUS Rampage II Formula Motherboard
    Intel Core i7 950
    12GB 1600MHz Corsair XMS3 RAM
    2x EVGA NVIDIA GTX 465 Superclocked in SLI
    120GB OCZ Vertex 2 SSD (OS, Boot, Apps, Some Games)
    1TB Seagate Barracuda 7200RPM (Media, Most Games)

    Total cost of everything - about $1600. Maxes basically every game I have tried but beyond that it's a work horse for productivity and can run muiltiple VMs with plenty of RAM allocated without any slow downs.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    on the ninkynonk!
    Posts
    907
    Asus M2N-SLI Motherboard
    AMD Phenom x4 9550 @ 2.2GHz
    2GB RAM
    Nvidia 8800GT 1GB GPU
    Maxtor 200Gb SATA HD + 320GB Seagate SATA HD
    Creative Audigy 2 Soundcard with Logitech 5.1 speakers

    Samsung SyncMaster P2350 23 inch LCD Monitor @ 1920x1080
    LG Flatron W1952TQ 19 inch LCD Monitor @ 1440x900

    Server 2008 x64 Enterprise SP2

    Cost--->950USD for the system and 250USD for Samsung LCD and 179USD for LG LCD.

    System is approx 2 years old.Samsung Monitor is newest purchase and that was in late sept 2010. Sorta was free because my sister bought it for me (since she did not see any displays she wanted at microcenter and we drove 3 hours to get there and I did not want to leave there empty handed) and I helped her with her work and used that to pay it back LOL paid it back in early december with working with her.
    Last edited by ninkynonk; 02-06-2011 at 06:40 AM.
    Something awesome
    coming soon....

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Austin, TX
    Posts
    934
    Intel C2Q Q6600
    ECS G31T-M
    4GB RAM
    500GB SATA HD
    Nvidia 9800GT 512MB
    Antec Earthwatt 430 PSU
    Linux Mint 10 64bit & Win7 Ultimate 64bit (95% in Linux & 5% in Windows for games)

    Got the CPU+mobo for cheap from Fry's years ago. I read many horrid stories about ECS mobos... however, I've had three so far and all without any issues. Got the RAM & PSU cheap from Fry's years ago too. Think I got the 500GB free from work because they were junking servers. Got the 9800GT few months ago for $50 brand new.

    Nothing fancy, gets my days by.
    SysAdmin.xyz
    Having severs with customer data on it without proper monitoring is like having one night stand without using protections - eventually, there will be an 'oh s**t!' moment.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    NJ, USA
    Posts
    6,456
    I forgot to mention I too have a 9800GT
    simplywww: directadmin and cpanel hosting that will rock your socks
    Need some work done in a datacenter in the NYC area? NYC Remote Hands can do it.

    Follow my "deals" Twitter for hardware specials.. @dougysdeals

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    127
    This is my @ home workstation/gaming desktop.

    i7 950
    H70 CPU Cooler
    6GB Corsair Dominator GT 2000mhz
    Asus Rampage 3 Extreme mobo
    1x GTX 580
    1x GTX 460 (physx card)
    1x OCZ Vertex 2 120GB SSD
    1x WD 1TB Black SATA3 Storage Drive
    Corsair 800D Case
    Corsair 1000Watt PSU

    running Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit

    I built this machine about 4-5 months ago when the 950 was still pretty expensive, around $350 I think?

    I use to have a GTX 480 but replaced it with a GTX 580 thanks to EVGA's step up program

    Very pleased with the setup but I wish I had waited a few more months for some of these parts to drop a bit lower in prices.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    New York, NY
    Posts
    10,574
    @celona - sweet setup there.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    127
    hey thanks, it will probably last me another 3-4 years at least, just like my previous C2Q build

    I'm a huge corsair fan in case you haven't noticed

    Even my headset is Corsair's.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    on the ninkynonk!
    Posts
    907
    Corsair is a good brand. They got good SSDs and RAM.
    Something awesome
    coming soon....

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    3,077
    My workstation built just over a year ago:

    Intel Core i7 920
    Asus P6T Motherboard
    6GB 1333MHz Corsair XMS
    ATI Radeon HD5770 1GB
    1TB Samsung F3 SATA HDD
    Fractal R2 Case
    Corsair Modular PSU
    LG DVDRW/BDROM

    Inside Pic: http://img824.imageshack.us/img824/9738/insideeh.jpg
    Outside Pic: http://img831.imageshack.us/img831/6087/outsideu.jpg

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    3,139
    Very clean setup Chris.

    Mine, built almost 2 years ago:
    Intel Q8200
    Gigabyte EP45-UD3R Board
    4GB Corsair XMS
    ATI HD4870 1GB
    120GB Maxtor (IDE)
    500GB Seagate SATA
    1TB Seagate SATA
    OCZ 650w PSU
    NZXT Case
    HP BD240 Bluray, DVD burner

  15. #15
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    569
    Some very nice workstations. Looks like a few of us should get together and kill each other sometime...
    GorillaServers Inc | Direct Unmetered Dedicated Servers

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    852
    My Setup:

    i5 760 @ 3.2 ghz
    Corsair 4GB 1600mhz
    2 x 1TB Samsung Spin Point F3 SataII
    GigaByte 460GTX 1GB Super Overclock Edition @ 890MHz Clock and 4,000MHz Ram
    FoxCom H55 Chipset Motherboard
    4 x Scythe Kaze Jyuni @ 110 CFM (and not to noisey!)

    Plays every game I want to play / demos that I thrown at it at full settings at 1080p, just looking at getting some more ram for Virtual Machines.

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    LAX, DAL, MIA, ATL!
    Posts
    3,310
    • AMD Athlon II X2 1.8GHz
    • 4GB DDR3 1333 (PC3-10700) 667MHz
    • WD Blue 640GB (WD6400AAKS)
    • GeForce 6150SE nForce 430 (256MB)


    Looking into a new one but this one gets the job done for now.
    〓〓 QuadraNet ├ CLOUD ├ DEDICATED ├ COLOCATION
    〓〓 Locations: Los Angeles, Dallas, Miami and Atlanta!!
    〓〓 andrew.moore[at]quadranet.com
    〓〓 http://www.QuadraNet.com

  18. #18
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    8,946
    Quote Originally Posted by layer0 View Post
    My setup (built about 3-4 months ago):

    Cooler Master HAF 932
    ASUS Rampage II Formula Motherboard
    Intel Core i7 950
    12GB 1600MHz Corsair XMS3 RAM
    2x EVGA NVIDIA GTX 465 Superclocked in SLI
    120GB OCZ Vertex 2 SSD (OS, Boot, Apps, Some Games)
    1TB Seagate Barracuda 7200RPM (Media, Most Games)

    <snip>
    Very impressive. Nice processor, RAM, and SSD, especially.

    -mike
    Mike G. - Limestone Networks - Account Specialist
    Cloud - Dedicated - Colocation - Premium Network - Passionate Support
    DDoS Protection Available - Reseller Program @LimestoneInc - 877.586.0555

  19. #19
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    on the ninkynonk!
    Posts
    907
    all I want is some more RAM and an SSD....
    Something awesome
    coming soon....

  20. #20
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Good question
    Posts
    693
    Processor: Intel Core i7 920 @ 2.92Ghz
    Ram: 12 Gigs of Corsair Dominator running at 1866Mhz
    Mobo: Asus Rampage II Extreme
    Cooler: Corsair Hydro Series 70
    Space: Around 15~ TBs built out of Samsung F3 drives.
    SSD:OCZ Vertex 2 OCZSSD2-2VTXE120G 2.5" 120GB SATA II MLC Internal Solid State Drive (SSD)
    GPU: Ati(Or should I say AMD) Radeon HD4870x2 (Single GPU)
    Case: Antec 900.

    Should last me another few years :3

  21. #21
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Tech Belt
    Posts
    7,802
    My current specs:

    AMD Phenom II X4 925 @ 2.8 Ghz
    G-Skill 4GB DDR2 800 RAM
    XFX Radeon HD6850 1GB GDDR5
    1TB WD Black HDD
    Biostar A780GM2 + SE board
    OCZ 750W Fata1ity series PSU
    Raidmax Smilodin Xtreme Gaming case
    Sony DVD / CD burner / drive.

    Should last me another few years
    #---.#---###### | Host Mist LLC - Helping People Say Hello World™
    #---.#---#--#--# || Shared, Reseller, Master Reseller, VPS, Dedicated
    ####---#--#--# }| Featuring multiple locations across the US & Germany.
    #---#---#--#--# #| Connecting the world through web hosting.

  22. #22
    CPU: Intel Core i7 930 @ 3.8Ghz
    CPU Cooler: Noctua NH-U12P
    Motherboard: MSI X58 PRO-E
    RAM: 4GB 1600MHz Corsair XMS3
    GFX Card: ATI Radeon HD5850 1GB
    HDD: 500GB Samsung F3 Spinpoint
    Case: Cooler Master CM690
    PSU: Corsair TX600W PSU
    Drive: SAMSUNG DVDRW/BDROM
    Monitor: BENQ G2420HD

    Works great, 24x7

  23. #23
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    569
    I think I'm going to get a second EVGA gtx470 to SLI. It should future proof it for about 6 months lol. EVGA offers a step up program where you send in your old card and pay the difference for a new model. IE: if you have a gtx 470 you can pay the difference and they send you a new gtx 570. They have some of the best customer support I've ever seen.
    GorillaServers Inc | Direct Unmetered Dedicated Servers

  24. #24
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    on the ninkynonk!
    Posts
    907
    EVGA FTW!!!! My Nvidia is an EVGA.
    Something awesome
    coming soon....

  25. #25
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    36
    I previously had a Shuttle which I do like the comfort of it. Since my old Shuttle didnt fit my demands and they didn't have a LGA1156 socket last year I have build my own small factor PC with core a i7. Specs:

    - Intel i7 860
    - H50 CPU Cooler (didn't fix in my case so I had to customize the rear side of the case with a dremel)
    - DFI Lanparty MI P55-T36
    - 8GB 1333 Corsair XMS
    - XFX ATI Radeon HD5770 1GB (True single slot since a dual doesn't fit. Previously had a ASUS formula HD5750 installed, but that one isnt single slot as they would like to pretend)
    - Be Queit TFX 300W BN136 (This one is also modded to fit in. I completely remove the case and power connector socket)
    - Aywun A18989B chasis

    If your are interesed I can make some pics.

  26. #26
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    3,582
    Intel q9550
    8gb ram
    EVGA geforce gtx 280
    1x Intel x25-m g2 160gb
    2x750gb seagate (forget what drives) raid-1
    Viewsonic VX2268WM and Samsung 2233RZ. I had monitors fail at different times so I ended up with two different new ones.

    It feels like time for an upgrade soon though. The SSD is awesome and the monitors but everything else I think is starting to lag behind.
    Tony B. - Chief Executive Officer
    Hawk Host Inc. Proudly serving websites since 2004
    Quality Shared and VPS Hosting
    PHP 5.3.x & PHP 5.4.x & PHP 5.5.X & PHP 5.6.X & PHP 7.0.X Support!

  27. #27
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Corona, CA USA
    Posts
    384
    Model Name: Mac Pro
    Model Identifier: MacPro2,1
    Processor Name: Quad-Core Intel Xeon
    Processor Speed: 3 GHz
    Number Of Processors: 2
    Total Number Of Cores: 8
    L2 Cache (per processor): 8 MB
    Memory: 16 GB

    NVIDIA GeForce 8800 GT:

    Chipset Model: NVIDIA GeForce 8800 GT
    Type: GPU
    Bus: PCIe

    Displays:
    DELL 2407WFP:
    Resolution: 1920 x 1200 @ 60 Hz

    DELL 2407WFP:
    Resolution: 1920 x 1200 @ 60 Hz

    Internal hard drives

    Mac Pro RAID Card:

    PCI Slot: Slot-4
    Bay 1:

    Product ID: ST32000542AS
    SMART Status: Verified
    Capacity: 2 TB (2,000,398,933,504 bytes)
    RAID Sets: RS1

    Bay 2:

    Product ID: ST32000542AS
    SMART Status: Verified
    Capacity: 2 TB (2,000,398,933,504 bytes)
    RAID Sets: RS1

    Bay 3:

    Product ID: ST32000542AS
    Capacity: 2 TB (2,000,398,933,504 bytes)
    RAID Sets: RS1

    Bay 4:

    Product ID: ST32000542AS
    Capacity: 2 TB (2,000,398,933,504 bytes)
    RAID Sets: RS1

    RAID Sets:

    RS1:

    RAID Level: 0+1
    Capacity: 4 TB (4,000,529,252,352 bytes)
    Available Capacity: Zero KB
    Drives: Bay 1, Bay 2, Bay 3, Bay 4
    Volumes: R1V1
    Status: Viable (Good)

    Volumes:

    R1V1:

    BSD Name: disk3
    Capacity: 4 TB (4,000,529,252,352 bytes)
    RAID Set: RS1

    External hard drive system #1
    OEM ATA Device 00:
    Capacity: 4 TB (4,000,695,468,032 bytes)
    Removable Media: Yes
    BSD Name: disk4
    Mount Point: /Volumes/Time Machine 4TB

    External hard drive system #2
    Volumes:
    Capacity: 209.7 MB (209,715,200 bytes)
    Writable: Yes
    BSD Name: disk7s1
    Capacity: 999.86 GB (999,860,912,128 bytes)
    Writable: Yes
    BSD Name: disk7s2
    Boot OSX:
    Capacity: 134.2 MB (134,217,728 bytes)

    Optical drive
    PIONEER DVD-RW DVR-112D:

    Model: PIONEER DVD-RW DVR-112D
    Skeptic Hosting
    Promoting a reality-based lifestyle choice
    Hosting by invitation only, nothing for sale

  28. #28
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    24,009
    My work machine is a 17" MacBook Pro, and I'm in the hunt now for an upgrade to my gaming rig. Not in that much of a rush, but would like to have upgraded by the time Battlefield3 hits.

    This is the gaming rig I have my eye on now -

    INTEL CORE i7 950 3.06Ghz LGA1366 64bit CPU QUAD CORE
    12gig of DDR-3 High Performance Memory running Tripple Channel (6 x 2gig)
    1 x 64gig SSD (Solid State) HardDrive for the BOOT / OS
    2 x 2tb HardDrive Setup for RAID 0
    2 x nVidia GTX-275 PCI Express video cards running SLi mode

    I usually get 3 to 4 years from a gaming rig, so that one should give me that kind of lasting power I reckon, and it will no doubt run BF3 at very high settings, hopefully.
    • AussieHost.com • Aussie Bob, host since 2001 •
    • Host Multiple Domains on Fast Australian Servers!! •

  29. #29
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    569
    Quote Originally Posted by Aussie Bob View Post
    My work machine is a 17" MacBook Pro, and I'm in the hunt now for an upgrade to my gaming rig. Not in that much of a rush, but would like to have upgraded by the time Battlefield3 hits.

    This is the gaming rig I have my eye on now -

    INTEL CORE i7 950 3.06Ghz LGA1366 64bit CPU QUAD CORE
    12gig of DDR-3 High Performance Memory running Tripple Channel (6 x 2gig)
    1 x 64gig SSD (Solid State) HardDrive for the BOOT / OS
    2 x 2tb HardDrive Setup for RAID 0
    2 x nVidia GTX-275 PCI Express video cards running SLi mode

    I usually get 3 to 4 years from a gaming rig, so that one should give me that kind of lasting power I reckon, and it will no doubt run BF3 at very high settings, hopefully.
    Actually you might want to go with a GTX 470 + if you want to go the nvidia route. The GTX 275 is done with. If you want it to last the next 3-4 years go with a GTX 570 or 580, or a AMD ATI Radeon 6970.

    Those will futureproof you for some time to come. DX11 titles are very demanding.
    GorillaServers Inc | Direct Unmetered Dedicated Servers

  30. #30
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    New York, NY
    Posts
    10,574
    Quote Originally Posted by MrBox View Post
    Actually you might want to go with a GTX 470 + if you want to go the nvidia route. The GTX 275 is done with. If you want it to last the next 3-4 years go with a GTX 570 or 580, or a AMD ATI Radeon 6970.

    Those will futureproof you for some time to come. DX11 titles are very demanding.
    Indeed I would go with a 570 or 580 now for future proof reasons. Then if you need more performance later on you can just get another 570/580 and use it in SLI

    Only reason I'm running SLI in my config right now is due to the great deal I got on 2x 465's (it worked out cheaper than just getting a GTX 480).

  31. #31
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    24,009
    Quote Originally Posted by MrBox View Post
    Actually you might want to go with a GTX 470 + if you want to go the nvidia route. The GTX 275 is done with.
    Ah crap, can't believe I missed that!! Yeah, it'll most likely be the 480.
    • AussieHost.com • Aussie Bob, host since 2001 •
    • Host Multiple Domains on Fast Australian Servers!! •

  32. #32
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    569
    Quote Originally Posted by layer0 View Post
    Indeed I would go with a 570 or 580 now for future proof reasons. Then if you need more performance later on you can just get another 570/580 and use it in SLI

    Only reason I'm running SLI in my config right now is due to the great deal I got on 2x 465's (it worked out cheaper than just getting a GTX 480).
    Yeah I decided to config this new setup with a 470, then i'll probably pick up another 470 when the price goes down further. EVGA will let me trade them both in for 570's when I feel the need for more power. Such a cool deal. Do you get really good DX11 performance out of those two 465's ? With this new motherboard I want to do 2 x gtx 470's and then use my old geforce as a PhysX card.
    GorillaServers Inc | Direct Unmetered Dedicated Servers

  33. #33
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    569
    Gotta love newegg. My package should arrive tomorrow. I'll post pics later this week once it's built. I'm thinking about picking up an SSD from micro center locally. Any recommendations? I hear good things about OCZ drives.

    I was looking at this as an OS drive: OCZ Vertex 2 OCZSSD3-2VTX90G 3.5" 90GB SATA II MLC Internal Solid State Drive (SSD)

    Then I will setup a RAID-0 with my raptors, and the bigger drives as storage.
    GorillaServers Inc | Direct Unmetered Dedicated Servers

  34. #34
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    on the ninkynonk!
    Posts
    907
    Corsair and OCZ are good SSD drives. More leaning towards Corsair.
    Something awesome
    coming soon....

  35. #35
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    New York, NY
    Posts
    10,574
    Quote Originally Posted by MrBox View Post
    Y Do you get really good DX11 performance out of those two 465's?
    I've maxed every DX11 title I've tried so far. Granted I have not tried many.

    The 465's are really not too different from 470 - it's just cheaper with a bit less performance, and they scale really well in SLI.

    http://www.guru3d.com/article/geforc...-sli-review/21

    This review complained mostly about the price (but praised the multi-GPU scaling), though I managed to get these both extremely cheap - it ended up being a deal I could not refuse - a single GTX 470 would have cost me more, a GTX 480 a lot more. Based on most benchmarks I've seen, 2x 465 in SLI is actually better than a 480.

    The motherboard I'm using supports 3-way SLI, technically I could get another 465 but I have no real need for it at the moment and I'm no longer able to get as good of a deal on these cards either.

    SLI is truly awesome and does improve performance quite a bit - it's a great thing to have as an upgrade path, but if you build a system with it from the start it's nice to have all the extra display outputs (I have 4x DVI out, and 2x HDMI out, really useful!).

  36. #36
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    569
    Quote Originally Posted by layer0 View Post
    I've maxed every DX11 title I've tried so far. Granted I have not tried many.

    The 465's are really not too different from 470 - it's just cheaper with a bit less performance, and they scale really well in SLI.

    http://www.guru3d.com/article/geforc...-sli-review/21

    This review complained mostly about the price (but praised the multi-GPU scaling), though I managed to get these both extremely cheap - it ended up being a deal I could not refuse - a single GTX 470 would have cost me more, a GTX 480 a lot more. Based on most benchmarks I've seen, 2x 465 in SLI is actually better than a 480.

    The motherboard I'm using supports 3-way SLI, technically I could get another 465 but I have no real need for it at the moment and I'm no longer able to get as good of a deal on these cards either.

    SLI is truly awesome and does improve performance quite a bit - it's a great thing to have as an upgrade path, but if you build a system with it from the start it's nice to have all the extra display outputs (I have 4x DVI out, and 2x HDMI out, really useful!).
    Checking out that article now.

    I ended up ordering a second EVGA GTX 470 superclocked. With promo code and discount they're almost $200 each. I'm going to SLI these 2 when the second shows up. For now I will use a 9k series geforce for physX if it will work with them. Haven't looked into it yet. I got a triple SLI board so it should work out okay.

    EVGA is giving me a free copy of the new 3dmark, so I can test out my benchmark results. When I'm done building it later this week I'm going to record some newer games' performance.

    What games do you play regularly? I normally play PS3 but looking to get back into some PC games on the weekends.
    GorillaServers Inc | Direct Unmetered Dedicated Servers

  37. #37
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    24,009
    Quote Originally Posted by MrBox View Post
    . . . What games do you play regularly?
    BFBC2 for now, and gearing up for BF3 when it drops later this year.
    • AussieHost.com • Aussie Bob, host since 2001 •
    • Host Multiple Domains on Fast Australian Servers!! •

Similar Threads

  1. Parallels Workstation vs. VMWare Workstation
    By pmabraham in forum Running a Web Hosting Business
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 09-18-2008, 09:23 PM
  2. Post pictures of your workstation!
    By Kraken in forum Web Hosting Lounge
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-02-2006, 10:23 AM
  3. Post a pic of your workstation!
    By AHS_Wrestler in forum Web Hosting Lounge
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-31-2005, 10:09 PM
  4. Post Photos of your workstation here!
    By Lonny in forum Web Hosting Lounge
    Replies: 61
    Last Post: 12-03-2004, 01:28 AM
  5. Replies: 47
    Last Post: 04-06-2004, 01:00 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •