Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    1,173

    Preferred Layer 3 Switch, and why?

    I would like to know what some of you like to use for a Layer 3 switch, and why? In the process of buying some switches but would like to know what some of you think about the switch(s) that you have. I'm mainly looking for switches that have 10G Uplink(s) capacity with 24-48 available ports. Also let me know if the switch has a nice web interface for remote managing.

    So far I have looked into the Netgear GSM7352S series and they look pretty impressive. Has built in 4x10Gig ports. Do any of you use those switches?
    www.DMEHosting.com - DME Hosting LLC | Servers, KVM/OpenVZ VPS's, Email Hosting, Web Hosting

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    New York, NY
    Posts
    4,552
    If you need 10G uplinks, there are some new models in the Cisco 3560E and 3560X series that take X2 or SFP+ modules. If you only need GigE uplinks, the 3560G is widely used in data center environments.

    We're currently testing a WS-C3560X-24T-S with an IP Services upgrade. It will be taking default routes with BGP, as well as routing IPv6. If anyone wants to know how it goes, feel free to follow up with me by email.
    Scott Burns, President
    BQ Internet Corporation
    Remote Rsync and FTP backup solutions
    *** http://www.bqbackup.com/ ***

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    3,502
    Netgear's normally do have some ok, and possibly impressive features. However at the end of the day their still just a Netgear.

    Personally I just wouldn't use them for a public facing network, especially not if I were going to push 10Gig+ through it.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    648
    Quote Originally Posted by DMEHosting View Post
    I would like to know what some of you like to use for a Layer 3 switch, and why? In the process of buying some switches but would like to know what some of you think about the switch(s) that you have. I'm mainly looking for switches that have 10G Uplink(s) capacity with 24-48 available ports. Also let me know if the switch has a nice web interface for remote managing.

    So far I have looked into the Netgear GSM7352S series and they look pretty impressive. Has built in 4x10Gig ports. Do any of you use those switches?
    I have some H3C S5600 (also relabeled by 3com) 24port models. They have a 2 10GE uplinks I'm not currently using. They seem to have huge issues with jumbo frames.

    If I were looking for new ones with the same parameters (lower-than-cisco price, but high feature set) I might look at Allied Telesyn.

    If I needed to know they'll run stable at full 10ge load and have well-implemented features I'd go with juniper ex or extreme.

    For you it depends, is the switch just supposed to route a few subnets that are not their own AS? if yes then the netgear might be enough. If it's really internet-facing then you might wanna stay away from it. The datasheet doesn't really shine in the routing features.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Reston, VA
    Posts
    3,132
    Best? Juniper ex4200, cheaper? Go the cisco route mentioned above. Also in the mix a brocade CER it runs the same code as a mlx and iirc it can handle 512k routes in fib orrr the ces line which only handle 32k routes but still has bells and whistles.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    184
    I dont know whether this one is true:

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Compari...yer_3_switches

    But there are obviously differences.

    Update: And no, dont buy a Netgear for real business!
    Last edited by snoms; 02-05-2011 at 05:16 PM.

  7. #7
    Quote Originally Posted by DMEHosting View Post
    I would like to know what some of you like to use for a Layer 3 switch, and why? In the process of buying some switches but would like to know what some of you think about the switch(s) that you have. I'm mainly looking for switches that have 10G Uplink(s) capacity with 24-48 available ports. Also let me know if the switch has a nice web interface for remote managing.

    So far I have looked into the Netgear GSM7352S series and they look pretty impressive. Has built in 4x10Gig ports. Do any of you use those switches?
    If you need 10gbe ports, then the dell 6248 is a good option, assuming that the features on them match what you're looking for (ip address table size, routing protocols supported, etc). It's pretty easy to configure something like this with 4x10gbit ports and optics via ebay for under $2k, and they've performed solidly for me.
    Phoenix Dedicated Servers -- IOFLOOD.com
    Email: sales [at] ioflood.com
    Skype: funkywizard
    Backup Storage VPS -- 1TBVPS.com

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    1,207
    We use a Cisco 3560G, but if you need 10Gig ports, a 3560-E will do the trick.

    We had used HP and another brand i can't quite remember before trying Cisco, and i must say that Cisco has been the best out of all 3. We actually had problems with the other switches, he HP one died after 1 month of basically no usage. And the other one had some weird speed problem..

  9. Newsletters

    Subscribe Now & Get The WHT Quick Start Guide!

Similar Threads

  1. Layer 3 Switch
    By Ricky Smith in forum Hosting Security and Technology
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 06-23-2008, 04:09 PM
  2. Layer 3 Switch?
    By Bob Sanders in forum Colocation and Data Centers
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 10-21-2006, 03:35 PM
  3. Switch - Layer 2 or Layer 3 / Managed or Unmanaged
    By marsupillami in forum Colocation and Data Centers
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 04-23-2006, 11:57 PM
  4. Layer 3 Switch
    By clobdell in forum Colocation and Data Centers
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 09-06-2005, 03:55 PM
  5. D-Link Layer 3 Switch
    By davidto in forum Colocation and Data Centers
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 08-12-2004, 01:23 PM

Related Posts from theWHIR.com

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •