Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: Missing space

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    308

    Missing space

    I got a server with two 2TB Hard drives in raid0 but It's only showing 1.7tb of space, the DC told me to run,
    cat /proc/partitions
    which showed this,
    major minor #blocks name

    8 0 3906228224 sda
    8 1 1754536169 sda1
    8 2 4200997 sda2

    and then they said to run the following to get all 4TB working but I got an error,

    [root@~]# cfdisk /dev/sda
    -bash: cfdisk: command not found


    How would I go about fixing this guys?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    NJ, USA
    Posts
    6,456
    sounds like they did the OS wrong
    simplywww: directadmin and cpanel hosting that will rock your socks
    Need some work done in a datacenter in the NYC area? NYC Remote Hands can do it.

    Follow my "deals" Twitter for hardware specials.. @dougysdeals

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    649
    Quote Originally Posted by Bluz View Post
    I got a server with two 2TB Hard drives in raid0 but It's only showing 1.7tb of space, the DC told me to run,
    cat /proc/partitions
    which showed this,
    major minor #blocks name

    8 0 3906228224 sda
    8 1 1754536169 sda1
    8 2 4200997 sda2

    and then they said to run the following to get all 4TB working but I got an error,

    [root@~]# cfdisk /dev/sda
    -bash: cfdisk: command not found


    How would I go about fixing this guys?
    Did you specify custom partitioning when you ordered? If not, they probably went with the OS default partitioning scheme. In many distros, that consists of more than one partition.
    [GB ≠ GiB] [MB ≠ MiB] [kB ≠ kiB] [1000 ≠ 1024] [Giga ≠ gram] [Mega ≠ milli] [Kelvin ≠ kilo] [Byte ≠ bit]
    There is no millibit. There is no gram-bit. There is no Kelvin-Byte.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    San Jose, CA.
    Posts
    1,622
    cfdisk /dev/sda isn't just some magic command that is going to fix it for you.
    If you don't know how to install it or use it, then you're going to end up breaking and destroying any data you have.

    It looks like they just didn't partition it how you expected.
    Note, some distros dont support > 2TB boot partitions... so that could be why they sized it 1.7T
    Daved @ Lightwave Networking, LLC.
    AS1426 https:/www.lightwave.net
    Primary Bandwidth: EGIHosting (NLayer, NTT, HE, Cogent)
    Xen PV VPS Hosting

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    308
    Hmm...So theres no way to use the other 2TB? I'm mainly just trying to use it on or for vps accounts mainly...

    Edit: and I'm on cent os 64bit as well
    Last edited by Bluz; 02-03-2011 at 11:43 PM.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    649
    If you know that little about mounting drives in Linux, you need to get a management service ASAP before you break something critical.

    Also, running a VPS host with RAID 0 is plain stupid.
    [GB ≠ GiB] [MB ≠ MiB] [kB ≠ kiB] [1000 ≠ 1024] [Giga ≠ gram] [Mega ≠ milli] [Kelvin ≠ kilo] [Byte ≠ bit]
    There is no millibit. There is no gram-bit. There is no Kelvin-Byte.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Israel
    Posts
    1,204
    Quote Originally Posted by petteyg359 View Post
    If you know that little about mounting drives in Linux, you need to get a management service ASAP before you break something critical.

    Also, running a VPS host with RAID 0 is plain stupid.
    +1 on that,
    a decent technical advisor would warn you before creating such raid level, and would suggest raid-1 mirror.

    apart from that, 2TB boot parition is no fun.
    I suggest:
    /boot
    /var
    /storage or home
    /

    in raid-1 mirror layout.
    for 4TB , add at least two more drives in raid-5 as a minimum.
    beast5.com © - Managed Hosting Solutions 2004 - 2016

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    308
    The two management company's I consult with both said to go with a raid0 set up or face terrible performance with raid1 speeds :-/...And yes it's hardware raid. So I basically went with that they said so I don't get load spikes because my hard drives cant write fast enough and bottle neck my system I'll see what my server provider says about how I get this space to all 4TB cause It sucks being at 2TB at the moment...

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    308
    I did fdisk and got this,

    fdisk /dev/sda

    The number of cylinders for this disk is set to 486302.
    There is nothing wrong with that, but this is larger than 1024,
    and could in certain setups cause problems with:
    1) software that runs at boot time (e.g., old versions of LILO)
    2) booting and partitioning software from other OSs
    (e.g., DOS FDISK, OS/2 FDISK)

    WARNING: The size of this disk is 4.0 TB (3999977701376 bytes).
    DOS partition table format can not be used on drives for volumes
    larger than 2.2 TB (2199023255040 bytes). Use parted(1) and GUID
    partition table format (GPT).
    I'm using solusVM is it possible to make two 2TB partions and use them that way? If so how would I go about it?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    NJ, USA
    Posts
    6,456
    Bluz the two management companies you spoke to are absolute idiots. You know if one of those 2 drives dies in RAID0 you lose all data, right?
    simplywww: directadmin and cpanel hosting that will rock your socks
    Need some work done in a datacenter in the NYC area? NYC Remote Hands can do it.

    Follow my "deals" Twitter for hardware specials.. @dougysdeals

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    308
    Quote Originally Posted by Dougy View Post
    Bluz the two management companies you spoke to are absolute idiots. You know if one of those 2 drives dies in RAID0 you lose all data, right?
    Yes I'm aware of that but for customers who wanted live backups they were going to install a rsync system for clients who wanted daily backups. I see the screw up here as well to, llinux OS's can only handle 2.2TB of main drive storage just like windows XP which is a bummer.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    649
    Quote Originally Posted by Bluz View Post
    linux OS's can only handle 2.2TB of main drive storage just like windows XP which is a bummer.
    Pure FUD and/or ignorance. Set up a 10MB boot partition and / can be 20TB if you want it to. Surely you're not trying to use a FAT16 or FAT32 partition for a Linux install...
    [GB ≠ GiB] [MB ≠ MiB] [kB ≠ kiB] [1000 ≠ 1024] [Giga ≠ gram] [Mega ≠ milli] [Kelvin ≠ kilo] [Byte ≠ bit]
    There is no millibit. There is no gram-bit. There is no Kelvin-Byte.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Israel
    Posts
    1,204
    Quote Originally Posted by Bluz View Post
    Yes I'm aware of that but for customers who wanted live backups they were going to install a rsync system for clients who wanted daily backups. I see the screw up here as well to, llinux OS's can only handle 2.2TB of main drive storage just like windows XP which is a bummer.
    that's not correct,
    keep your boot / root as small partitions , and mount the rest as a large storage mountpoint,

    example:

    Code:
    Filesystem            Size  Used Avail Use% Mounted on
    /dev/sda1               20G  1.8G   17G  10% /
    tmpfs                  12G     0   12G   0% /lib/init/rw
    udev                   10M  780K  9.3M   8% /dev
    tmpfs                  12G     0   12G   0% /dev/shm
    /dev/mapper/pve-lv1   4.5T  648G  3.6T  16% /var/lib/vz
    beast5.com © - Managed Hosting Solutions 2004 - 2016

Similar Threads

  1. cpanel addon domains missing / reseller accounts missing from list
    By UnrealSilence in forum Hosting Security and Technology
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 01-27-2006, 09:43 PM
  2. Girl Missing 6 Weeks Found, Brother Still Missing
    By The Dude in forum Web Hosting Lounge
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 07-05-2005, 04:50 PM
  3. Anything im missing?
    By xephon in forum Running a Web Hosting Business
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 09-06-2004, 04:01 PM
  4. I could be missing something...
    By snickn in forum WHT Announcements, Feedback and Questions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-11-2003, 10:12 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •