hosted by liquidweb


Go Back   Web Hosting Talk : Web Hosting Main Forums : Colocation and Data Centers : Co-location in USA and EU, full rack
Reply

Forum Jump

Co-location in USA and EU, full rack

Reply Post New Thread In Colocation and Data Centers Subscription
 
Send news tip View All Posts Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-10-2011, 07:44 PM
ejxt ejxt is online now
Junior Guru
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Europe
Posts: 177
Question

Co-location in USA and EU, full rack


Hello!

I have about 30 clients that I host for at the moment, and I am going to start a small hosting company to handle my clients since I will probably get more clients the following months.

I need co-location in both USA (I'm moving to Florida soon, so somewhere close is always a plus) and EU, with great full-rack offers (40+ U). I will need to offer all my clients 100Mbps and around 1-2TB transfer each. I guess having my own little data center is not an option?

Thanks in advance, I'd appreciate any replies!



Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-10-2011, 07:53 PM
cresci cresci is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: /dev/null
Posts: 2,076
Depends on the total number of racks you need.

  #3  
Old 01-10-2011, 07:55 PM
CGotzmann CGotzmann is offline
Privileged
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: L.A., CA
Posts: 2,910
Probably not viable to have your own datacenter for such a small footprint.
If you have the $ to blow, you can start with your own full rack in each location, but expect to spend minimum ~$800 just for the rack, and extra for the bandwidth.

You don't need to get the same amount of bandwidth under contract, as you offer to your clients, as your usage will probably not be the same amount as you offer them.
So with bandwidth, etc I would estimate $1000/month per location as a starting point.

__________________
FeVVo, Inc. - BareMetal Redundant Servers - 10GigE Ports Available! - Launching Soon

SwiftNode - High Performance, Redundant Cloud - Launching Soon
Your Virtual Datacenter w/ Full SSD & 10GigE IaaS


Sponsored Links
  #4  
Old 01-10-2011, 08:05 PM
ejxt ejxt is online now
Junior Guru
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Europe
Posts: 177
Quote:
Originally Posted by cresci View Post
Depends on the total number of racks you need.
As it looks now I will need one full rack (40-46~ units) per location, but it might increase in the future.


Quote:
Originally Posted by CGotzmann View Post
Probably not viable to have your own datacenter for such a small footprint.
If you have the $ to blow, you can start with your own full rack in each location, but expect to spend minimum ~$800 just for the rack, and extra for the bandwidth.

You don't need to get the same amount of bandwidth under contract, as you offer to your clients, as your usage will probably not be the same amount as you offer them.
So with bandwidth, etc I would estimate $1000/month per location as a starting point.
Oh alright, $1000/month is no problem, you sure that price is enough for the rack, bandwidth, speed, power and IPs?

  #5  
Old 01-10-2011, 08:09 PM
CGotzmann CGotzmann is offline
Privileged
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: L.A., CA
Posts: 2,910
Just an estimate ... how much bandwidth? How many IPs?
$800 is enough for rack and 20A, normally, but its just estimate. Can be $800-$1000.
I added ~$200 for bandwidth.

You will most likely not use all the space in the rack, your limit will be power usage...
If you want to fill up as much as possible, you need to add second circuit so at least 40A per rack, and you are looking at estimate around $1100-$1200 per rack, more if you are doing higher power (60A, etc if its allowed)

You need to get your specific exact requirements and then contact some providers in the locations you are interested.

__________________
FeVVo, Inc. - BareMetal Redundant Servers - 10GigE Ports Available! - Launching Soon

SwiftNode - High Performance, Redundant Cloud - Launching Soon
Your Virtual Datacenter w/ Full SSD & 10GigE IaaS


  #6  
Old 01-10-2011, 08:20 PM
ejxt ejxt is online now
Junior Guru
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Europe
Posts: 177
Quote:
Originally Posted by CGotzmann View Post
Just an estimate ... how much bandwidth? How many IPs?
$800 is enough for rack and 20A, normally, but its just estimate. Can be $800-$1000.
I added ~$200 for bandwidth.

You will most likely not use all the space in the rack, your limit will be power usage...
If you want to fill up as much as possible, you need to add second circuit so at least 40A per rack, and you are looking at estimate around $1100-$1200 per rack, more if you are doing higher power (60A, etc if its allowed)

You need to get your specific exact requirements and then contact some providers in the locations you are interested.
Thanks for your reply.

I will need one IP per server. And each client will have a 2TB transfer limit, however they will probably not use all, maybe 1TB in average max? Not sure I haven't controlled this before.

How can I calculate how much power I need? Have never need to worried about this before hehe. Well I dont have to fill the whole rack, it depends on the price. If it's cheaper to have 30 servers in each rack then of course I'll do that.

Yeah thanks for your heads up I will look more into power, bandwidth etc.

  #7  
Old 01-10-2011, 08:26 PM
CGotzmann CGotzmann is offline
Privileged
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: L.A., CA
Posts: 2,910
Depends on specs... post specs of what the majority of your servers will be

__________________
FeVVo, Inc. - BareMetal Redundant Servers - 10GigE Ports Available! - Launching Soon

SwiftNode - High Performance, Redundant Cloud - Launching Soon
Your Virtual Datacenter w/ Full SSD & 10GigE IaaS


  #8  
Old 01-10-2011, 08:30 PM
ejxt ejxt is online now
Junior Guru
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Europe
Posts: 177
Haven't really decided exactly which servers to buy, but it will be with following specs:

1x Intel Xeon 3430 2.4 GHz
2x 250GB SATAII HDD
2-12GB DDR3 RAM, most of them 4GB

Currently looking on http://www.twp.nl/index.php?task=10&...WPSS1271333614 and some Dell rack servers.

  #9  
Old 01-10-2011, 08:48 PM
cresci cresci is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: /dev/null
Posts: 2,076
These specs will use 1A each. A 20A circuit will allow you to have 15-16 of them. Two 20A circuits, 32 of them (30 if you count for switching, KVM and other gear).

  #10  
Old 01-10-2011, 08:50 PM
cresci cresci is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: /dev/null
Posts: 2,076
Also, you can expect these specs to cost around $750-1000 (for the extra RAM) each unit, if using a Supermicro server with remote KVM capability.

  #11  
Old 01-10-2011, 10:34 PM
funkywizard funkywizard is offline
unghhh... Baaandwidth....
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,600
Quote:
Originally Posted by CGotzmann View Post
Probably not viable to have your own datacenter for such a small footprint.
If you have the $ to blow, you can start with your own full rack in each location, but expect to spend minimum ~$800 just for the rack, and extra for the bandwidth.

You don't need to get the same amount of bandwidth under contract, as you offer to your clients, as your usage will probably not be the same amount as you offer them.
So with bandwidth, etc I would estimate $1000/month per location as a starting point.
I would agree with this 100%.

Unless you've already got customers in both locations, I would focus on just one location for now, because you would be looking at combined costs of around $2k / mo at each location to start out.

__________________
IOFLOOD.com -- We Love Servers
Need More Ram? 12 core 72gb ram servers are here!
Email (sales [at] ioflood . com) for details.

  #12  
Old 01-10-2011, 10:34 PM
funkywizard funkywizard is offline
unghhh... Baaandwidth....
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,600
Quote:
Originally Posted by cresci View Post
These specs will use 1A each. A 20A circuit will allow you to have 15-16 of them. Two 20A circuits, 32 of them (30 if you count for switching, KVM and other gear).
this is spot on as well. We see the same thing using similar specs in our racks.

__________________
IOFLOOD.com -- We Love Servers
Need More Ram? 12 core 72gb ram servers are here!
Email (sales [at] ioflood . com) for details.

  #13  
Old 01-11-2011, 02:40 AM
plumsauce plumsauce is offline
******* Unleaded
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 3,802
Quote:
Originally Posted by funkywizard View Post
Unless you've already got customers in both locations, I would focus on just one location for now, because you would be looking at combined costs of around $2k / mo at each location to start out.
Even if he only has a decent amount of customers, it would be better to get the full rack + a decent amount of power/bandwidth.

He can get more power/bandwidth later as required, but can say *today* to his customers that they can have their preferred location.

__________________
edgedirector.com
managed dns global failover and load balance (gslb)
exactstate.com
uptime report for webhostingtalk.com

  #14  
Old 01-11-2011, 04:14 AM
funkywizard funkywizard is offline
unghhh... Baaandwidth....
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,600
Quote:
Originally Posted by plumsauce View Post
Even if he only has a decent amount of customers, it would be better to get the full rack + a decent amount of power/bandwidth.

He can get more power/bandwidth later as required, but can say *today* to his customers that they can have their preferred location.
You'd think so, but it really complicates your operations. I've found it really hard to get good pricing on colo bandwidth without a pretty sizable commitment. And similarly, the cost of smaller amounts of rackspace tends to be a lot higher per server than when you get up to a full rack. So your first major problem is, that if you don't have enough volume, you either have to pay for something you're not using (not trivial when that outlay is $2k *minimum*), or you have to raise your prices.

Secondly, many customers you bring on are looking to do business with *you* first, and looking to do business in *your location* second. Being in one location vs both locations is not going to double your sales or lead conversions. I ended up pulling out of the UK because I could no longer justify the added expenses of being there for just a couple customers. By having just one location to worry about, it greatly simplifies a lot of areas that you wouldn't think would take up a lot of time and add a lot of costs, but do. I don't have to worry about customs and taxes in multiple locations, I don't have to worry as much about what time zone the datacenter employees (sales / billing / etc) are working on, how I'm going to handle getting my servers built / repaired, having spare parts and inventory at two locations, and all of that. On top of it, you need to work out your pricing and business model at two locations. Since the company you are dealing with at Colo A might be charging different amounts for power, rackspace, bandwidth, remote hands, and so on than Colo B, it's hard to have a consistent set of prices and offerings at both locations. Without similar offerings at both locations, it can easily muddle your business model and not make it clear to your customers who exactly you're trying to target.

For all these reasons, I feel really good about my decision to focus on just one location. When you try to be everything to everyone, you can end up really being nothing to nobody. Better to focus on one location, get that really solid, and then only expand to new locations if there is a large pent up demand coming from your customers. Even softlayer only has 3 locations, all in the US, and it's pretty obvious their Dallas location is the largest and most important to them. How long did it take them to even open up a second or third location? How many thousands of servers did they have in Dallas before they opened another location?

__________________
IOFLOOD.com -- We Love Servers
Need More Ram? 12 core 72gb ram servers are here!
Email (sales [at] ioflood . com) for details.

  #15  
Old 01-11-2011, 09:44 AM
ejxt ejxt is online now
Junior Guru
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Europe
Posts: 177
Hi everyone and thank you very your replies.

@funkywizard
Alright thanks a lot of your useful hints. I have decided to focus on just one location first. I can take all my present costumers to one location that is no problem. Then I will look for more customers in the continent that I will start in. Which would be best? Where is the lowest co-location prices and highest demand on dedicated servers?

Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Singapore Colocation 1U, 2U, 5U, 10U,1/2 Rack, Full Rack, USA Colocation boonchuan Colo Hosting Offers 0 04-22-2010 08:35 AM
Wanted: Co-location 1/2 Rack + 10Amp USA Planpro Colocation and Data Centers 12 12-16-2006 06:52 PM
noobie requesting more info on full rack co-location webhost4all Colocation and Data Centers 8 07-28-2006 08:01 AM
BChosting.com Co-location - 10mbit/s + full rack BChosting Dedicated Hosting Offers 5 08-18-2004 09:26 PM
Full Rack Co Location Special UNIXIELHOST Dedicated Hosting Offers 0 10-09-2002 07:09 PM

Related posts from TheWhir.com
Title Type Date Posted
BurstNET Informs Colocation Customers of Higher Prices, Location Change Web Hosting News 2014-03-21 12:19:25
Host Color Listing 2014-04-18 11:31:03
Vodien Launches Full Rack Colocation Solution at Singapore Data Center Web Hosting News 2012-12-27 16:07:25
Facebook Tests Open Rack Prototype, Plans to Deploy in Data Centers Next Year Web Hosting News 2012-07-30 16:55:11
Web Host FortaTrust Expands Network with Florida Data Center Web Hosting News 2012-05-08 12:06:10


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Postbit Selector

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump
Login:
Log in with your username and password
Username:
Password:



Forgot Password?
Advertisement:
Web Hosting News:



 

X

Welcome to WebHostingTalk.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

WebHostingTalk.com is the largest, most influentual web hosting community on the Internet. Join us by filling in the form below.


(4 digit year)

Already a member?