Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 18

Thread: 1GBPS Port

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Manila
    Posts
    958

    1GBPS Port

    Hi,

    I have a question. Well my shoutcast radio is getting quite attention. recently our listeners increased up to 1,500 and the stream is kinda' buffering.

    We have 4 dedicated servers with 100mbps ports and 2 VPS servers that is hosted to a node which has 1gbps port. We've been balancing the load across the servers but our listeners can still experience lags.

    So my question is, if we upgrade the servers to 1gbps port, will it actually help to decrease the buffer issues?

    Btw, we stream on 80kbps MP3 24/7. Each servers has either 300 or 600 maximum limits

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    1,402
    What is the bandwidth usage of these 4 servers? are they using over 100Mbps? If not, upgrading to 1Gbps won't help.
    Sounds like a network issue or poor bandwidth quality.
    Tommy Tran - tommy @ vinax.net ::: VINAX, LLC ::: http://vinax.net ::: Since 2004
    Premium Dedicated Servers and Colocation in downtown Chicago (350 E. Cermak Rd)
    Premium Bandwidth, 100% Network & Power Uptime SLA, 24/7 Prompt Tech Support

  3. #3
    80 * 1500 = 120000 = ~117MB/s. 4x100mbit is just 50MB/s, and a shared VPS might not give you all the joy of a 1gbit port. So I'd think you might be able to decrease it with a bandwidth upgrade.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Posts
    785
    Quote Originally Posted by stian View Post
    80 * 1500 = 120000 = ~117MB/s. 4x100mbit is just 50MB/s, and a shared VPS might not give you all the joy of a 1gbit port. So I'd think you might be able to decrease it with a bandwidth upgrade.
    Your mixing up bits and bytes.
    80 * 1500 = 120000 = 120mbps.
    So 4 x 100mbps is more than enough.
    High Quality Web Hosting from Host Ultra
    Visit us online at www.hostultra.com

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Houston, Texas, USA
    Posts
    2,875
    What's the server load like?

    Regards
    Joe / UNIXY
    UNIXy - Fully Managed Servers and Clusters - Established in 2006
    [ cPanel Varnish Nginx Plugin ] - Enhance LiteSpeed and Apache Performance
    www.unixy.net - Los Angeles | Houston | Atlanta | Rotterdam
    Love to help pro bono (time permitting). joe > unixy.net

  6. #6
    If a given server has 600 maximum connections, at 80 kilobits, that's a maximum of 48 megabit / second. Even with some overhead, you're still well under 100 megabit.

    Just based on the bandwidth used, I'd either suspect the network quality is poor (oversold or otherwise not working right), or you're exhausting your cpu or otherwise overloading your servers.

    If you've got users in the US and in Europe, you might want to have a local relay on each continent and direct users appropriately. Other than that, maybe try getting a server with another provider and see if that performs any better. I seriously doubt upgrading to 1gbit port rather than a 100mbit port will help in any case.
    Phoenix Dedicated Servers -- IOFLOOD.com
    Email: sales [at] ioflood.com
    Skype: funkywizard
    Backup Storage VPS -- 1TBVPS.com

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Vaduz/LI
    Posts
    2,502
    If a given server has 600 maximum connections, at 80 kilobits, that's a maximum of 48 megabit / second. Even with some overhead, you're still well under 100 megabit.
    It is more likely 80kiloBYTES / second - which is A LOT more than 48Mbit.

  8. #8
    Quote Originally Posted by Zhang View Post
    It is more likely 80kiloBYTES / second - which is A LOT more than 48Mbit.
    that's incorrect. mp3 streams are measured in kilobits / second. A "cd quality" stream is usually 128 kilobit, or 16 kilobyte. The OP has stated they're doing 80 kilobit. Uncompressed cd audio is 160 kilobyte, so it would be completely out of the question for them to be doing 80 kilo*byte* in mp3 format.
    Phoenix Dedicated Servers -- IOFLOOD.com
    Email: sales [at] ioflood.com
    Skype: funkywizard
    Backup Storage VPS -- 1TBVPS.com

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Manchester, UK
    Posts
    203
    The lag could be form a number of reasons. It could be some of the listeners locations or the locations of the servers. You are best to have say a UK Server for UK Listeners, US for US... etc. The ports should be OK As is. The 1GBPS on the VPS will more then likely not true because on the server it is hosted on will be more than one VPS all sharing the physical port. So its not true 1GBPS.
    TheHostGuys.co.uk - We price match any UK Based Hosting Business!
    Company Number - 09177361
    VAT Reg No - 195 5495 57
    AS Number - AS201033 (We are a fully registered RIPE LIR)

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Frankfurt
    Posts
    119
    Quote Originally Posted by funkywizard View Post
    that's incorrect. mp3 streams are measured in kilobits / second. A "cd quality" stream is usually 128 kilobit, or 16 kilobyte. The OP has stated they're doing 80 kilobit. Uncompressed cd audio is 160 kilobyte, so it would be completely out of the question for them to be doing 80 kilo*byte* in mp3 format.
    In fact, the maximum possible bitrate with mp3 is 320 kbit/s (40 kbyte/s):

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/MP3#Bit_rate

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Hyderabad India
    Posts
    1,103
    80kbps mp3 streams,

    you can fit close to 1150 streams in 100mbps pipe, first get out of the VPS , you never know what is happening on the background, based on live or on demand , it requires more disk activity. this looks like station, so not much disk activity needed, also not much cpu, however still get a own machine dual core/ 2gb type, 100mbps dedicated ( unmeter if this is full 1/2 of the time). Get gbit port or another 100mbps server to cater extra load.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Colombia
    Posts
    2,122
    How's the hardware load?

    Are these lines dedicated(the 100mbit), maybe that's the problem.
    Diego Rodríguez B. - http://diegorbaquero.com
    Hosting Industry Consultant

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Manila
    Posts
    958
    Quote Originally Posted by VINAX View Post
    What is the bandwidth usage of these 4 servers? are they using over 100Mbps? If not, upgrading to 1Gbps won't help.
    Sounds like a network issue or poor bandwidth quality.
    Since we use Windows, The resource manager tells me we hit around 50-65mbps on off-peak times.

    Well I'm not really sure if I got the right tool to measure it.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Manila
    Posts
    958
    Quote Originally Posted by UNIXy View Post
    What's the server load like?

    Regards
    Joe / UNIXY
    We use x3460s and it hits around 80-90% on CPU Utilization according to Windows Task Manager.

    Thanks!

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Manila
    Posts
    958
    Quote Originally Posted by funkywizard View Post
    If a given server has 600 maximum connections, at 80 kilobits, that's a maximum of 48 megabit / second. Even with some overhead, you're still well under 100 megabit.

    Just based on the bandwidth used, I'd either suspect the network quality is poor (oversold or otherwise not working right), or you're exhausting your cpu or otherwise overloading your servers.

    If you've got users in the US and in Europe, you might want to have a local relay on each continent and direct users appropriately. Other than that, maybe try getting a server with another provider and see if that performs any better. I seriously doubt upgrading to 1gbit port rather than a 100mbit port will help in any case.
    Yes, the CPU Utilization is kinda' high and we since our listeners most of them are from asia, we got a relay in Malaysia though it doesn't help that much.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Limited Time Only : 100TB @ 1Gbps Dedicated Port
    By WizzSupport in forum Other Hosting Offers
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-17-2010, 02:46 AM
  2. Seeking a server with 1Gbps Port
    By aliitp in forum Dedicated Server
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 06-02-2010, 09:48 PM
  3. Need server bandwidth 20TB+ with 1Gbps port
    By ComfortVPS-Macro in forum Dedicated Server
    Replies: 23
    Last Post: 06-01-2010, 04:20 AM
  4. Core2Duo, 2GB RAM, 400GB HD, 1Gbps Port @ $64.95
    By Hannan in forum Dedicated Hosting Offers
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-10-2009, 07:24 PM
  5. 1Gbps port speed test from Washington DC...
    By hosteur in forum Other Reviews
    Replies: 37
    Last Post: 08-30-2008, 05:28 AM

Related Posts from theWHIR.com

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •