hosted by liquidweb


Go Back   Web Hosting Talk : Web Hosting Main Forums : Dedicated Server : 1GBPS Port
Reply

Forum Jump

1GBPS Port

Reply Post New Thread In Dedicated Server Subscription
 
Send news tip View All Posts Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-07-2010, 11:39 PM
flyah flyah is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Manila
Posts: 958

1GBPS Port


Hi,

I have a question. Well my shoutcast radio is getting quite attention. recently our listeners increased up to 1,500 and the stream is kinda' buffering.

We have 4 dedicated servers with 100mbps ports and 2 VPS servers that is hosted to a node which has 1gbps port. We've been balancing the load across the servers but our listeners can still experience lags.

So my question is, if we upgrade the servers to 1gbps port, will it actually help to decrease the buffer issues?

Btw, we stream on 80kbps MP3 24/7. Each servers has either 300 or 600 maximum limits

Thanks



Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12-08-2010, 12:00 AM
VINAX VINAX is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 1,402
What is the bandwidth usage of these 4 servers? are they using over 100Mbps? If not, upgrading to 1Gbps won't help.
Sounds like a network issue or poor bandwidth quality.

__________________
Tommy Tran - tommy @ vinax.net ::: VINAX, LLC ::: http://vinax.net ::: Since 2004
Premium Dedicated Servers and Colocation in downtown Chicago (350 E. Cermak Rd)
Premium Bandwidth, 100% Network & Power Uptime SLA, 24/7 Prompt Tech Support

  #3  
Old 12-08-2010, 12:09 AM
stian stian is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 7
80 * 1500 = 120000 = ~117MB/s. 4x100mbit is just 50MB/s, and a shared VPS might not give you all the joy of a 1gbit port. So I'd think you might be able to decrease it with a bandwidth upgrade.

Sponsored Links
  #4  
Old 12-08-2010, 12:36 AM
Host Ultra Host Ultra is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: •
Posts: 785
Quote:
Originally Posted by stian View Post
80 * 1500 = 120000 = ~117MB/s. 4x100mbit is just 50MB/s, and a shared VPS might not give you all the joy of a 1gbit port. So I'd think you might be able to decrease it with a bandwidth upgrade.
Your mixing up bits and bytes.
80 * 1500 = 120000 = 120mbps.
So 4 x 100mbps is more than enough.

__________________
High Quality Web Hosting from Host Ultra
Visit us online at www.hostultra.com

  #5  
Old 12-08-2010, 02:23 AM
UNIXy UNIXy is offline
Warp Speed!
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Houston, Texas, USA
Posts: 2,824
What's the server load like?

Regards
Joe / UNIXY

__________________
|- UNIXY :: Fully Managed Servers and Clusters Since 2006
|- DC POP :: Houston, Los Angeles, Atlanta, & Rotterdam NL
|- Managed Magento Varnish Servers w/ ESI. < 250ms Page Load / TTFB
L- We LOVE helping our clients!

  #6  
Old 12-08-2010, 04:10 AM
funkywizard funkywizard is offline
unghhh... Baaandwidth....
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,603
If a given server has 600 maximum connections, at 80 kilobits, that's a maximum of 48 megabit / second. Even with some overhead, you're still well under 100 megabit.

Just based on the bandwidth used, I'd either suspect the network quality is poor (oversold or otherwise not working right), or you're exhausting your cpu or otherwise overloading your servers.

If you've got users in the US and in Europe, you might want to have a local relay on each continent and direct users appropriately. Other than that, maybe try getting a server with another provider and see if that performs any better. I seriously doubt upgrading to 1gbit port rather than a 100mbit port will help in any case.

__________________
IOFLOOD.com -- We Love Servers
Need More Ram? 12 core 72gb ram servers are here!
Email (sales [at] ioflood . com) for details.

  #7  
Old 12-08-2010, 04:44 AM
TheLie TheLie is offline
Now renamed!
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Vaduz/LI
Posts: 2,372
Quote:
If a given server has 600 maximum connections, at 80 kilobits, that's a maximum of 48 megabit / second. Even with some overhead, you're still well under 100 megabit.
It is more likely 80kiloBYTES / second - which is A LOT more than 48Mbit.

  #8  
Old 12-08-2010, 06:12 AM
funkywizard funkywizard is offline
unghhh... Baaandwidth....
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,603
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zhang View Post
It is more likely 80kiloBYTES / second - which is A LOT more than 48Mbit.
that's incorrect. mp3 streams are measured in kilobits / second. A "cd quality" stream is usually 128 kilobit, or 16 kilobyte. The OP has stated they're doing 80 kilobit. Uncompressed cd audio is 160 kilobyte, so it would be completely out of the question for them to be doing 80 kilo*byte* in mp3 format.

__________________
IOFLOOD.com -- We Love Servers
Need More Ram? 12 core 72gb ram servers are here!
Email (sales [at] ioflood . com) for details.

  #9  
Old 12-08-2010, 06:14 AM
JackDavies768 JackDavies768 is offline
Junior Guru
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Mancheser, England
Posts: 189
The lag could be form a number of reasons. It could be some of the listeners locations or the locations of the servers. You are best to have say a UK Server for UK Listeners, US for US... etc. The ports should be OK As is. The 1GBPS on the VPS will more then likely not true because on the server it is hosted on will be more than one VPS all sharing the physical port. So its not true 1GBPS.

__________________
--
Jack Davies,

  #10  
Old 12-08-2010, 09:59 AM
fgkfgk fgkfgk is offline
WHT Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Frankfurt
Posts: 108
Quote:
Originally Posted by funkywizard View Post
that's incorrect. mp3 streams are measured in kilobits / second. A "cd quality" stream is usually 128 kilobit, or 16 kilobyte. The OP has stated they're doing 80 kilobit. Uncompressed cd audio is 160 kilobyte, so it would be completely out of the question for them to be doing 80 kilo*byte* in mp3 format.
In fact, the maximum possible bitrate with mp3 is 320 kbit/s (40 kbyte/s):

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/MP3#Bit_rate

__________________
fgk@de.velia.net

  #11  
Old 12-08-2010, 10:23 AM
Krazy Krazy is offline
Disabled
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Hyderabad India
Posts: 1,103
80kbps mp3 streams,

you can fit close to 1150 streams in 100mbps pipe, first get out of the VPS , you never know what is happening on the background, based on live or on demand , it requires more disk activity. this looks like station, so not much disk activity needed, also not much cpu, however still get a own machine dual core/ 2gb type, 100mbps dedicated ( unmeter if this is full 1/2 of the time). Get gbit port or another 100mbps server to cater extra load.

  #12  
Old 12-08-2010, 11:39 AM
Deroba Deroba is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Colombia
Posts: 2,122
How's the hardware load?

Are these lines dedicated(the 100mbit), maybe that's the problem.

__________________
Diego Rodríguez - diego@deroba.org
Professional Services since 2009


  #13  
Old 12-08-2010, 08:43 PM
flyah flyah is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Manila
Posts: 958
Quote:
Originally Posted by VINAX View Post
What is the bandwidth usage of these 4 servers? are they using over 100Mbps? If not, upgrading to 1Gbps won't help.
Sounds like a network issue or poor bandwidth quality.
Since we use Windows, The resource manager tells me we hit around 50-65mbps on off-peak times.

Well I'm not really sure if I got the right tool to measure it.

  #14  
Old 12-08-2010, 08:45 PM
flyah flyah is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Manila
Posts: 958
Quote:
Originally Posted by UNIXy View Post
What's the server load like?

Regards
Joe / UNIXY
We use x3460s and it hits around 80-90% on CPU Utilization according to Windows Task Manager.

Thanks!

  #15  
Old 12-08-2010, 08:47 PM
flyah flyah is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Manila
Posts: 958
Quote:
Originally Posted by funkywizard View Post
If a given server has 600 maximum connections, at 80 kilobits, that's a maximum of 48 megabit / second. Even with some overhead, you're still well under 100 megabit.

Just based on the bandwidth used, I'd either suspect the network quality is poor (oversold or otherwise not working right), or you're exhausting your cpu or otherwise overloading your servers.

If you've got users in the US and in Europe, you might want to have a local relay on each continent and direct users appropriately. Other than that, maybe try getting a server with another provider and see if that performs any better. I seriously doubt upgrading to 1gbit port rather than a 100mbit port will help in any case.
Yes, the CPU Utilization is kinda' high and we since our listeners most of them are from asia, we got a relay in Malaysia though it doesn't help that much.

Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Limited Time Only : 100TB @ 1Gbps Dedicated Port WizzSupport Other Hosting Offers 1 10-17-2010 02:46 AM
Seeking a server with 1Gbps Port aliitp Dedicated Server 14 06-02-2010 09:48 PM
Need server bandwidth 20TB+ with 1Gbps port ComfortVPS-Macro Dedicated Server 23 06-01-2010 04:20 AM
Core2Duo, 2GB RAM, 400GB HD, 1Gbps Port @ $64.95 Hannan Dedicated Hosting Offers 0 10-10-2009 07:24 PM
1Gbps port speed test from Washington DC... hosteur Other Reviews 37 08-30-2008 05:28 AM

Related posts from TheWhir.com
Title Type Date Posted
Black Lotus Identifies DDoS Attack Trends in New Report Web Hosting News 2014-01-31 16:20:13
LeaseWeb Adds New PoPs in Europe, US to Expand CDN Capacity Web Hosting News 2013-10-29 10:19:45
DDoS Attacks Targeting ISPs on the Rise: Prolexic Q1 2013 Report Web Hosting News 2013-04-17 11:42:29
Prolexic Technologies Report Shows Large-Scale DDoS Attacks Are Growing in Size Web Hosting News 2013-01-17 11:19:17
Fiber Carrier Lightower Expands Network and Data Center in Providence Web Hosting News 2012-05-14 16:31:27


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Postbit Selector

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump
Login:
Log in with your username and password
Username:
Password:



Forgot Password?
Advertisement:
Web Hosting News:



 

X

Welcome to WebHostingTalk.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

WebHostingTalk.com is the largest, most influentual web hosting community on the Internet. Join us by filling in the form below.


(4 digit year)

Already a member?