hosted by liquidweb


Go Back   Web Hosting Talk : Web Hosting Main Forums : Domain Names : 1&1... 1 big mistake?
Reply

Forum Jump

1&1... 1 big mistake?

Reply Post New Thread In Domain Names Subscription
 
Send news tip View All Posts Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-26-2010, 07:38 PM
Scotland Scotland is offline
Junior Guru Wannabe
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 42

1&1... 1 big mistake?


I have all of my domains with 1and1 (I know, bad call.. will be transfering them all too internet.bs).

I also recently purchased a reseller account with hostgator.

I setup accounts for each of the domains and connected the domains on 1&1 with the nameservers provided on my reseller account.

However, I get a weird error:

The name server is not sufficient or hasn't been approved.

Why is this/how do I solve this?

Thanks!

Reply With Quote


Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 11-26-2010, 08:26 PM
Lakjin Lakjin is offline
WHT Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 115
Are you by chance trying to use an IP?

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-26-2010, 08:28 PM
samy samy is offline
Junior Guru Wannabe
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 56
hello scotland, that's right, you have to put the domain on the ns1.reselleraccount.tld. be taken until the values, but some hours - even up to 48 hours! - Pass away.

Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #4  
Old 11-26-2010, 08:56 PM
Scotland Scotland is offline
Junior Guru Wannabe
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lakjin View Post
Are you by chance trying to use an IP?
No. I am using the ns****.mydomain nameserver?

Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-26-2010, 09:12 PM
Terrence-J Terrence-J is online now
Dedicated Server Specialist
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 2,834
This is a nice business domain name.. internet.bs

__________________
Terrence Yhap | BudgetVM.com | Enzu Inc. | E: terrence.yhap[@]enzu.com | P: (877) 378-3769 x 7008
Virtual Private Servers (Instant Setup) | Bare Metal Dedicated Servers (1 hour Deployment)
Asia, Europe, North & South America Hosting Specialists
Our Data Centers: Amsterdam, NL | Chicago, IL | Dallas, TX | Los Angeles, CA | Miami, FL

Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-27-2010, 08:56 AM
Scotland Scotland is offline
Junior Guru Wannabe
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 42
*

Quote:
Originally Posted by THAMAN View Post
This is a nice business domain name.. internet.bs
Don't think you have read it properly.

I do not own internet.bs - I will be transfering them to internet.bs

Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-27-2010, 10:15 AM
Terrence-J Terrence-J is online now
Dedicated Server Specialist
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 2,834
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scotland View Post
Don't think you have read it properly.

I do not own internet.bs - I will be transfering them to internet.bs
.BS = Bull Sh*T

It was a joke BTW

__________________
Terrence Yhap | BudgetVM.com | Enzu Inc. | E: terrence.yhap[@]enzu.com | P: (877) 378-3769 x 7008
Virtual Private Servers (Instant Setup) | Bare Metal Dedicated Servers (1 hour Deployment)
Asia, Europe, North & South America Hosting Specialists
Our Data Centers: Amsterdam, NL | Chicago, IL | Dallas, TX | Los Angeles, CA | Miami, FL

Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-27-2010, 10:16 AM
Vinayak_Sharma Vinayak_Sharma is offline
Always Learning...
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Bharat
Posts: 4,650
Scotland, you mentioned that you are using your own private name servers, so where is that domain of your registered that has it's own child name servers, at 1and1 or HG or internet.bs? And have you created those name servers yet, with your registrar and on the server?

I hope that domain is not at 1and1, if it is then you must know that creating NS at 1and1 is a totally different process.

__________________
Vinsar.Net - Quality Web Hosting at Economical Price on USA & European Servers
Offering domains, shared, reseller & VPS hosting.
Reliable Domain Reseller Account Resell Domains with Confidence

Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-27-2010, 12:01 PM
Scotland Scotland is offline
Junior Guru Wannabe
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vinayak_Sharma View Post
Scotland, you mentioned that you are using your own private name servers, so where is that domain of your registered that has it's own child name servers, at 1and1 or HG or internet.bs? And have you created those name servers yet, with your registrar and on the server?

I hope that domain is not at 1and1, if it is then you must know that creating NS at 1and1 is a totally different process.
I have all of my domains at 1and1 including the domain I included in my nameserver address.

I want them all to connect to the accounts I have created for them but its proving to be quite difficult..

Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-27-2010, 12:21 PM
Vinayak_Sharma Vinayak_Sharma is offline
Always Learning...
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Bharat
Posts: 4,650
You must have received information about your name server IPs for your reseller account.

Your provider must have provided their own white label nameservers and instructions on how to use provided IPs for creating your own NS on your own domain. With most of the registrar it is called child name servers or host name servers. With 1and1 it is a bit different method.

So the steps you have to take are.
1) Create your own nameservers using provided IPs at registrar.
2) Create your own nameservers entries on your hosting server ( your provider can help in this.)
3) Use the newly created NS for hosting domains.

Now with most of the registrars it's straight forward and simple to create your own NS, but with 1and1 a bit complex.

So visit the link below and see how to do that at 1and1
http://blog.milol.org/howto/how-to-r...meserver-on-11

If you are unable to do that, ask your provider to help you out on this and if that fails you can get in touch with me and I will gladly help you to fix the issue.

__________________
Vinsar.Net - Quality Web Hosting at Economical Price on USA & European Servers
Offering domains, shared, reseller & VPS hosting.
Reliable Domain Reseller Account Resell Domains with Confidence

Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 11-27-2010, 04:06 PM
azaz24 azaz24 is offline
WHT Addict
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 121
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scotland View Post
I have all of my domains with 1and1 (I know, bad call.. will be transfering them all too internet.bs).

I also recently purchased a reseller account with hostgator.

I setup accounts for each of the domains and connected the domains on 1&1 with the nameservers provided on my reseller account.

However, I get a weird error:

The name server is not sufficient or hasn't been approved.

Why is this/how do I solve this?

Thanks!
I have read up there support is never helpful a tip be nice to them and they will/ may help.
How you tried contacting them?


This is a link how to update name servers in 1and1.
http://faq.1and1.com/domains/dns_settings/4.html

This might help your error problem.
http://idk0.com/2009/06/24/the-name-...been-approved/

Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 11-27-2010, 07:27 PM
Scotland Scotland is offline
Junior Guru Wannabe
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by azaz24 View Post
I have read up there support is never helpful a tip be nice to them and they will/ may help.
How you tried contacting them?


This is a link how to update name servers in 1and1.
http://faq.1and1.com/domains/dns_settings/4.html

This might help your error problem.
http://idk0.com/2009/06/24/the-name-...been-approved/
Tried contacting them - All I can say is that it's not worth the time. A bunch of clueless sales people..

Finally figured out that in fact the nameserver wasnt required and all I needed was the IP.

Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Did I make a big mistake? Bigbass101 Web Hosting 23 02-13-2008 07:29 AM
Dot5hosting: big mistake!!! cracker Web Hosting 16 11-20-2006 05:51 PM
My big AdWords mistake BlueCapacity Web Design and Content 17 06-16-2004 01:39 AM
go daddy - big mistake Y-King Domain Names 6 03-17-2003 02:41 PM
big mistake! clocker1996 Web Hosting Lounge 3 09-08-2002 08:21 PM

Related posts from TheWhir.com
Title Type Date Posted
How Monitoring Tools Help Web Hosts Deliver Sites in Countries with Strict Internet Censorship Web Hosting News 2014-05-22 13:23:23
Cloud Provider DigitalOcean Updates Code Base to Address Security Concern Web Hosting News 2013-12-31 10:34:04
VMware Wants Your Customers Blog 2013-09-03 11:24:47
Windows Azure SSL Slip-up Brings SSL Checker Tools Business Blog 2013-02-26 12:25:08
Expired SSL Certificate Brings Down Windows Azure Cloud Web Hosting News 2013-02-25 10:38:00


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Postbit Selector

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump
Login:
Log in with your username and password
Username:
Password:



Forgot Password?
Advertisement:
Web Hosting News:



 

X

Welcome to WebHostingTalk.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

WebHostingTalk.com is the largest, most influentual web hosting community on the Internet. Join us by filling in the form below.


(4 digit year)

Already a member?