Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    32

    Question: Sempron 3400+ == Intel Pentium 4 ??

    Hello all!

    I've ordered a dedicated server (Windows) which on the purchase page states a CPU of:
    Sempron 3400+
    Yet on the "Computer" properties window AND on AIDA64 (successor of Everest Ultimate) it shows me this CPU:
    Intel Pentium 4 521, 2800 MHz (14 x 200)

    Is that normal? Or did the supplier gave me the wrong CPU?
    I simply don't know, can't find answer in google, and I hope you gurus can shed some light.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    39
    Short answer: No. A Sempron 3400+ is made by AMD, Intel's main competitor.


    Performance wise they aren't too far from each other, but that's another topic.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Kent, UK
    Posts
    415
    Personally I would prefer a Pentium over a Sempron as it should be superior (Sempron is more on par with a Celeron).
    RackSRV Communications Limited
    UK specialists in Dedicated Servers & Server Colocation
    Company: 06856870 VAT: GB 934 7073 15 Tel: 0330 111 4444

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    32
    Quote Originally Posted by Evolv5 View Post
    Short answer: No. A Sempron 3400+ is made by AMD, Intel's main competitor.


    Performance wise they aren't too far from each other, but that's another topic.

    Exactly as I've thought. Anyone else want to second that?

    What a weird situation - I'd never expect that from such a major provider. (No, I'm not confusing).

    Let's see what they have to say about that.. Thanks Evolv5!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    32
    Quote Originally Posted by Jon-RackSRV View Post
    Personally I would prefer a Pentium over a Sempron as it should be superior (Sempron is more on par with a Celeron).
    Is that so? First, thanks! It might help me absorb the shock. Second, can anyone else confirm that?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Karachi, Pakistan
    Posts
    1,349
    The difference between the two is negligible. Both should give about the same performance.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    USA / UK
    Posts
    4,553
    Quote Originally Posted by koko12 View Post
    What a weird situation - I'd never expect that from such a major provider. (No, I'm not confusing).

    Let's see what they have to say about that.. Thanks Evolv5!
    Most likely they simply ran out of semprons and substituted an equivalent or higher spec cpu instead.

    It's fairly common for providers to do that and you come out with better hardware than you're paying for so .

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    32
    Quote Originally Posted by ramnet View Post
    Most likely they simply ran out of semprons and substituted an equivalent or higher spec cpu instead.

    It's fairly common for providers to do that and you come out with better hardware than you're paying for so .
    Hehe - look, it depends how you define "better"
    I haven't heard here anyone saying, assertively, that the Intel one I've got is better than the Sempron, so I'm like "who knows".. Because I really don't know.
    Besides, it looks a bit fishy, and if it's done then I'd expect at least an email stating this change, and not leaving it to me to find out about it..

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    USA / UK
    Posts
    4,553
    Quote Originally Posted by koko12 View Post
    Hehe - look, it depends how you define "better"
    Sure.....but for an equivalent generation cpu the intel you got is 800Mhz faster than the Sempron would have been ... most people would consider that better

    It may be a little fishy but you have to understand with older budget servers that are nearing the end of their useful life (those cpu's are 5+ years old now) hardware substitution is fairly common since the provider doesn't go out and buy these servers new they are parts the datacenter has that they rent out instead of selling off on ebay or letting sit in storage unused and unproductive.

    I can certainly understand your confusion though and I'm sure the datacenter will take care of you

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    chicago
    Posts
    1,524
    they substituted amd low end junk with intel low end junk both cpu's are about the same in performance.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    32
    @cyberhouse: Nice analysis (:

    @ramnet: Thanks a lot for your explanation, sounds reasonable.
    They did reply saying that the Intel one is a bit better and attached two links to Wikipedia lists of Intel and AMD microprocessors with specs, which indeed show that Intel is better.
    I'll get along with it.

    Thanks!

  12. Newsletters

    Subscribe Now & Get The WHT Quick Start Guide!

Similar Threads

  1. Sempron 2600 vs Pentium D 2.8ghz?
    By ewhost in forum Dedicated Server
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 09-11-2007, 03:39 PM
  2. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-19-2007, 12:37 AM
  3. Replies: 46
    Last Post: 03-05-2006, 01:19 AM
  4. Pentium, Celeron, Barton, Sempron, Athlon...
    By Cassianno in forum Dedicated Server
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 12-22-2004, 08:44 AM
  5. Intel® Pentium® M Processor & Mobile Intel® Pentium® 4 - M Benchmarks
    By Fahd in forum Hosting Security and Technology
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-07-2003, 11:48 AM

Related Posts from theWHIR.com

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •