Beginner - need some advice please

I'm very new to web hosting and setting up a website. I've done a little research over the past couple of days, learned a few fundamental things, but still have some questions for anyone who feels like helping a newbie out.

I'm trying to set up a basic website for my design portolio with the following:

-1 page consisting of a graphic I've already created in InDesign.

-On that page I want to have a link that downloads my pdf. The pdf is my portfolio (about 9.5 mb).

-I'd like the pdf link to be password protected.

Based on what I've learned, this is what I have to do:

-using photoshop, slice the part of my graphic that I want to be link for the pdf. Save the graphic and sliced image as html.

-open in dreamweaver and center the page, resave.

-choose a reliable webhost and obtain my domain name through them.

-upload the files and choose the password protect option for the link (directory).

Assuming I have the basics down, my biggest problem right now is choosing a webhost. I've had some people recommend bluehost/hostgator, but then I've also heard people trash them.

So my questions are,

1) What would be a good reliable host for my basic needs?

2) do I have the basic setup steps down?

Please keep in mind I'm a complete novice at this (if it wasn't obvious already).

Thanks! I appreciate your help!

So my questions are,

1) What would be a good reliable host for my basic needs?
    A Shared Host should be able to accomodate what you require as your requirements do see quite small really. Now as far as the PSD's are conecerned maybe someone here could help you more here as I am not much of a PSD expert nor a designer I am afraid.

Sean
    l Dedigeeks Shared Wordpress Dedicated Established 2006
    l Leading AUSTRALIAN Hosting Provider Sydney & Melbourne Datacentres
    l cPanel/WHM R1Soft Backups 24/7/365 Support SMS Hosting Alerts*
    l www.dedigeeks.com Managing Director Service Superstars

thanks Sean.