Question Importance of datacenter location?

I am new to webhosting. I own and manage quite a bit of sites, and for the past 2 years I have been taking business to hosts. I am tired of not having as much control over my sites and I want to cut expenses, with the hopes of turning some additional profit. I do not currently know much of anything on linux. I have plans to purchase a cheap linux box soon so that I can learn. Given this, I am thinking that a reseller account will give me some taste of learning to manage domains and whatnot. This is as much of a business venture as it is a learning experience.

I am hearing that it is good to find a datacenter close to your core location of visitors. This would make perfect sense, I understand, but how important is it. I have heard pretty good things about angel networkz, and their prices are unbeatable for what you get. But I am not in Europe and I hear the backbone from Europe to North America is terrible.

Can I get some recomendations on what you all think that I should do. Is there another solution, other than a reseller that would be good? I am looking for a good price and fair tech support. I want to get around 5GB of space and 100-200GB Tx/Monthly. Does anyone know of any good deals?

I appreciate all of the advise that I have read from the many members here already, on other threads. I also, thank any advise you may have to offer on this matter.

Cheers,
    Jacob Thomason

BTW, I am located right near GNAX in Atlanta, GA. It is just that their reseller packages are a bit high.
    Last edited by oojacoboo; 06-19-2004 at 01:01 AM.

Location for the most part doesnt matter ( the server speed is the reason for having it close to your core customers but for the most part wont be a very big differance) but if your hosting primarily american websites I would stick to an american based datacenter as the sites will be noticably slower from a over seas box.