Beginner seeking advice

Well first off I have to say that i'm a real beginner when it comes to hosting, so I wanted to make a smart choice for my first host provider. What i want is to set up my blog and in the future my portfolio. Now i have a couple of questions:

-I've seen features like Unlimited domains, this means I can have more than 1 site in the same account right?
    -I plan to run my blog permanently, so what would be a good way to order a service monthly or by year?

A friend told me about a few providers: Imhosted, Dreamhost, HostGator. Some sites provide mixed reviews, some users have no problem and others seem to get the short end of the stick. Any reviews about them that are imparcial?
    Maybe you can suggest a provider that's relatively cheap. In terms of storage and bandwith I liked the Imhosted plan, they provide a lot of space in case I wanted to run another site, well I assume I can do that.

Thanks for your time, as you can see I'm a beginner in all of this, but your help would be very much appreciated.

Hey buddy,

>-I've seen features like Unlimited domains, this means I can have more than 1 site in the same account right?
    >> Yep, that's correct

>-I plan to run my blog permanently, so what would be a good way to order a service monthly or by year?
    >> It depends on the host, if they are popular and you trust them go yearly, if not, go monthly (you can always pay by a year later)

Hope I helped
    Shaun
    "Winners never quit. Quitters never win."

Quote Originally Posted by FISHKINZ View Post
    Hey buddy,

>-I've seen features like Unlimited domains, this means I can have more than 1 site in the same account right?
    >> Yep, that's correct

>-I plan to run my blog permanently, so what would be a good way to order a service monthly or by year?
    >> It depends on the host, if they are popular and you trust them go yearly, if not, go monthly (you can always pay by a year later)

Hope I helped