Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Vancouver, BC
    Posts
    30

    Insufficient Space for Yum Installs? I'm confused

    Hey guys,

    Can someone enlighten me on this:

    df -h

    Code:
    Filesystem            Size  Used Avail Use% Mounted on
    /dev/simfs             26G  751M     0 100% /
    none                  1.0G  4.0K  1.0G   1% /dev
    Firstly, why is only 26G of my 60 gig hard drive available? Secondly, why do I have 0 bytes available, when I'm only using 751M on a 26G?

    Either way, I keep getting this error everytime I try to install something from yum:

    Code:
     Insufficient space in download directory /var/cache/yum/base/packages
    
        * free   0
        * needed 19 k

    I'm getting cranky looking at this, and not being able to figure out what is wrong.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    489
    Looks like node is running out of space. Try contacting the host.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    NC
    Posts
    3,093
    Try looking at

    df -i

    That will look at the inodes to make sure they have not run out.

    The other thing is your host may physically have run out of space on the server, even though your individual VPS is supposed to have more quota.

    The other option is that the quotas are simply wrong on your usage.
    John W, CISSP, C|EH
    MS Information Security and Assurance
    ITEagleEye.com - Server Administration and Security
    Yawig.com - Managed VPS and Dedicated Servers with VIP Service

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    home
    Posts
    515
    most probably the hardware node your vps is present is full

  5. #5
    cd /;du -sch *

    Check what is consuming all disk space
    Hillock Hosting
    Unlimited Hosting Solution
    Reliable Shared | Reseller| VPS Hosting Services

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    3,878
    Overselling = Great!
    Gross Overselling = Not so great!



    That would be the likely candidate, mismanagement of the node by the provider.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Vancouver, BC
    Posts
    30
    Code:
    Filesystem            Inodes   IUsed   IFree IUse% Mounted on
    /dev/simfs           31457280   91112 31366168    1% /
    none                  262144      96  262048    1% /dev
    Code:
    0       aquota.group
    0       aquota.user
    6.1M    bin
    4.0K    boot
    4.0K    dev
    15M     etc
    4.0K    home
    20M     lib
    17M     lib64
    88K     Maildir
    4.0K    media
    4.0K    mnt
    4.0K    opt
    0       proc
    48K     root
    24M     sbin
    4.0K    selinux
    4.0K    srv
    0       sys
    43M     tmp
    Code:
    Filesystem            Size  Used Avail Use% Mounted on
    /dev/simfs            2.3G  2.0G     0 100% /
    none                  1.0G  4.0K  1.0G   1% /dev
    ...It's like I was never given enough space because this space error has broken my entire website

    INterestingly enough, notice how my /dev/ partition changed size.
    Last edited by RoganSarine; 09-30-2010 at 12:54 PM.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    NC
    Posts
    3,093
    Quote Originally Posted by RoganSarine View Post
    Code:
    Filesystem            Inodes   IUsed   IFree IUse% Mounted on
    /dev/simfs           31457280   91112 31366168    1% /
    none                  262144      96  262048    1% /dev
    Code:
    0       aquota.group
    0       aquota.user
    6.1M    bin
    4.0K    boot
    4.0K    dev
    15M     etc
    4.0K    home
    20M     lib
    17M     lib64
    88K     Maildir
    4.0K    media
    4.0K    mnt
    4.0K    opt
    0       proc
    48K     root
    24M     sbin
    4.0K    selinux
    4.0K    srv
    0       sys
    43M     tmp
    Code:
    Filesystem            Size  Used Avail Use% Mounted on
    /dev/simfs            2.3G  2.0G     0 100% /
    none                  1.0G  4.0K  1.0G   1% /dev
    ...It's like I was never given enough space because this space error has broken my entire website

    INterestingly enough, notice how my /dev/ partition changed size.
    Your / changed down to 2.3Gb from 26Gb, which are you supposed to have? Sounds like your provider just changed your quota.

    You need to contact your host, they probably ran out of space on the server. Nothing anybody here can do for you. Once you do get it back online you will also want to scan your MySQL as that may also be corrupt from running out of space.
    John W, CISSP, C|EH
    MS Information Security and Assurance
    ITEagleEye.com - Server Administration and Security
    Yawig.com - Managed VPS and Dedicated Servers with VIP Service

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Vancouver, BC
    Posts
    30
    Quote Originally Posted by eth00 View Post
    Your / changed down to 2.3Gb from 26Gb, which are you supposed to have? Sounds like your provider just changed your quota.

    You need to contact your host, they probably ran out of space on the server. Nothing anybody here can do for you. Once you do get it back online you will also want to scan your MySQL as that may also be corrupt from running out of space.
    Yeah, all my mySQL databases are currently corrupt.

    I contacted the host... My space has been fluctuating all day come to think of it.

    Except, I'm kind of curious as to why my RAM usage would jump 450 mb's from a corruption... seems kind of steep in that regard too.

    My VPS package is supposed to have 60 gigs So neither.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    NC
    Posts
    3,093
    Quote Originally Posted by RoganSarine View Post
    Yeah, all my mySQL databases are currently corrupt.

    I contacted the host... My space has been fluctuating all day come to think of it.

    Except, I'm kind of curious as to why my RAM usage would jump 450 mb's from a corruption... seems kind of steep in that regard too.

    My VPS package is supposed to have 60 gigs So neither.
    Sounds like overall something funky is going on with their box. Probably just disk space, hopefully they have another server they can use to free up some space soon. I would be curious to see what the host says as to what happened, sounds like some overselling as others have mentioned.
    John W, CISSP, C|EH
    MS Information Security and Assurance
    ITEagleEye.com - Server Administration and Security
    Yawig.com - Managed VPS and Dedicated Servers with VIP Service

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Vancouver, BC
    Posts
    30
    Quote Originally Posted by eth00 View Post
    Sounds like overall something funky is going on with their box. Probably just disk space, hopefully they have another server they can use to free up some space soon. I would be curious to see what the host says as to what happened, sounds like some overselling as others have mentioned.
    I'm interested to see what my provider is doing. It's a respected WHT seller, so its odd to be experiencing this (maybe its a new hardware problem)

    But, I am now unable to connect to my IP address through a browser, but I can still SSH connect and ping the server

    This was around 2 PM -8 GMT time
    Code:
    Filesystem            Size  Used Avail Use% Mounted on
    /dev/simfs             10G  2.0G     0 100% /
    none                  1.0G  4.0K  1.0G   1% /dev
    This is what it now reads.
    Code:
    Filesystem            Size  Used Avail Use% Mounted on
    /dev/simfs             22G  2.0G     0 100% /
    none                  1.0G  4.0K  1.0G   1% /dev
    I'm assuming they're trying to fix something? I sent them a ticket at like 7AM, and I still have not got a response (sad face... But the lack of IP access hopefully means they're looking into it)

    Now, I'm stuck at the point where I can ping my IP, but I can't connect to it. I assume that means they're trying to see what is wrong with it -- but they could have at least responded, so I know they're looking at it. My server has been down the entire day
    Last edited by RoganSarine; 09-30-2010 at 09:38 PM.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Vancouver, BC
    Posts
    30
    I guess the final nail in the coffin is that it takes me nearly 5 minutes to login to my VPS' control panel now.

    Interestingly, I rebooted the entire system... and after it breaking all my auto-start up commands... I got everything back to a working condition. However, Im worried it will break again do to the fluctuating quota.
    Last edited by RoganSarine; 09-30-2010 at 09:50 PM.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Vancouver, BC
    Posts
    30
    Quote Originally Posted by eth00 View Post
    Sounds like overall something funky is going on with their box. Probably just disk space, hopefully they have another server they can use to free up some space soon. I would be curious to see what the host says as to what happened, sounds like some overselling as others have mentioned.
    Apparently, the host was having trouble with the new kernal's on their nodes... So, they dumped everything onto node5 as a backup which quickly ate up all the space.

    Unfortunately, they didn't take into consideration this would break my entire server Now, my squirrelmail and DNS won't work... I've fixed everything else, but I can not figure out how to get these working again for the life of me...

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 14
    Last Post: 12-04-2009, 02:50 PM
  2. Insufficient cooling due to rack door design
    By Steerpike58 in forum Colocation, Data Centers, IP Space and Networks
    Replies: 27
    Last Post: 08-14-2008, 04:15 PM
  3. Seeking Support Reps/Sales Reps -- Pay included!
    By Skylar MacMinn in forum Employment / Job Offers
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-22-2008, 09:43 AM
  4. Looking for Partner, Sales Reps, Support Reps
    By WHR-Admin in forum Employment / Job Offers
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-22-2007, 11:33 PM
  5. Replies: 10
    Last Post: 07-05-2006, 05:32 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •