Guidance in deciding on a hosting service

Hi All,

I am looking at a webhost for my website which is part of my assignment at University and would be devloped using HTML with PHP/MySQL.

Would have loved to have a host in Melbourne, Australia, but they are quiet expensive from what I hear.

I am looking at the following
    1. Incorporate a forum for users to post messages. This could be one of the freely available PHP boards.
    2. the ability to host multiple subdomain names. Users could signup and be allocated a subdomain of their choice. The subdomains are not for re-sale.
    3. once a subdomain is allocated to the user, a specific webspace (5 Mb) is also allocated to so users can upload files.
    4. users should be able to upload only specific file types e.g. html,php,jpg,gif,swf,avi,mp3,wmv.
    5. if user has forms on their allocated space, it should not affect the working of the rest of the website.

I am new to this and would like to know if the above is possible and which would be a good host to go with.

Any features/services or concerns/feasibility that I should be aware of if I need to implement the above?

Thank you for your time and help.

Cheers!

[quote=force10x;4552172]Hi All,

I am looking at a webhost for my website which is part of my assignment at University and would be devloped using HTML with PHP/MySQL.

Would have loved to have a host in Melbourne, Australia, but they are quiet expensive from what I hear.

I am looking at the following
    1. Incorporate a forum for users to post messages. This could be one of the freely available PHP boards.
    This part is easy...phpbb, mybb, simple machines forums

2. the ability to host multiple subdomain names. Users could signup and be allocated a subdomain of their choice. The subdomains are not for re-sale.
    3. once a subdomain is allocated to the user, a specific webspace (5 Mb) is also allocated to so users can upload files.