Smile VPS advice needed

I needed some insight and advice as I'm not sure what to do or how to proceed. I'm new to the field, my question is when building an e-commerce site for example a online shopping for cloths, do I host the web site in a shared web server and have the payment gateway on a VPS. Or do I have both the web site and payment gateway on a VPS. Is it common or possible to host a web site on a VPS, would there be any performance issues having running the web site and payment gateway in the same VPS. I'm inquiring as I need to know whether to purchase a shared hosting package and VPS package or just only purchase a VPS package. Thanks.

I would suggest you go with either shared or vps. if you are just starting go to shared hosting.

Smile

Thanks for replying, so from what I understood you said to either go for shared hosting or vps. Dose that mean I can run both the online shopping cloths web site and have the payment gateway both running and working together on a shared hosting server with out a problem. The same also applies for the vps. What is recommended though, shared hosting or vps.

Can a shared hosting server provide a dedicated ip address and private SSL which is needed for a payment gateway?

Thanks.

Quote Originally Posted by speeder_02 View Post
    Can a shared hosting server provide a dedicated ip address and private SSL which is needed for a payment gateway?
    Yes....no problem there! Just choose wisely and go with a quality provider given the nature of the project.

Thanks for replying, so from what I understood you said to either go for shared hosting or vps. Dose that mean I can run both the online shopping cloths web site and have the payment gateway both running and working together on a shared hosting server with out a problem. The same also applies for the vps. What is recommended though, shared hosting or vps.

Thanks.
    Hello Sir,