Questions about Cloud vs VPS from a n00b

So here it is, I have been using a VPS provider for many years now. I'd like to move away from their ups and downs and downsize a bit but have the ability to scale to meet need in the most intuitive way possible.

My problem is that i am used to CPanel and FTP and all this terminal pushing files and stuff is getting a little too confusing. How should someone new like me approach this? Is there such thing as a TRUE Cloud server with a great managing gui like CPanel and the ability to upload files using the FTP port or some FTP program that can mimic terminal?

Hmmm. I think maybe we have some nomenclature mix ups here.

The cloud is the platform -- replaces the VPS and acts in a manner that's very similar to a VPS. Most cloud hosting comes with a control panel that allows you to resize and adjust your VM as needed. The most popular control panel is probably solusVM when it comes to managing the 'underlying' portion of your cloud VPS.

The second part of what you're asking for, cPanel, is just an application. You can install it on a dedi, a VPS, a cloud VPS or whatever linux installation you want.

So to summarize, you can most definitely get all of the benefits of the cloud and retain the management ability of cPanel. Nearly all of the providers out there will offer cPanel on their cloud.

Best,
    Dave
    Cheap VPS Hosting with minimum 99.9% SLA.
    State College, PA VPS Hosting

Dave answered your query perfectly. You would never know the difference besides the obvious advantages of dynamic resizing. You can go about your business and admin your server like any vps. All the cloud redundancy & magic would happen in the background.

Thanks guys.