Page 3 of 25 FirstFirst 12345613 ... LastLast
Results 51 to 75 of 603
  1. #51
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Cheltenham, UK
    Posts
    1,416
    I'll be taking either Monday or Tuesday off this coming week (as I have various other business related things that need taking care of then anyway) so should have a chance to look into getting CSF integrated on whichever day I have off.

    Thinking along the lines of a "hook" script - possibly I could provide some "addon" scripts for things that not everyone may want (e.g. phpMyAdmin, CSF, etc.) and provide them as separate scripts that would get executed by the main script if specified?
    Either that or perhaps get it to execute any scripts put in an addons folder? (though I am not sure how feasible that one would be - would need to look into it).
    Ben Thomas, Director - BTCentral Web Development Services
    http://www.btcentral.org.uk - Need a custom Web App? Visit us online.

  2. #52
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    1,270
    Something like that.
    You could even create a folder with "extra's" which are short scripts that install things like CSF, but only if they are moved into the "install-extra" folder.

    Or you could just include them interactively since your script is interactive

  3. #53
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    11
    Hello,

    Quite nice Script....

    Few Question's.

    Anyway to load mod_secruity?
    And how to add addon/domain's?

  4. #54
    Quote Originally Posted by Steve-********* View Post
    Hello,

    Quite nice Script....

    Few Question's.

    Anyway to load mod_secruity?
    And how to add addon/domain's?
    mod_security is only for Apache/cPanel as far as I know.

    However here are some tips on securing Nginx and servers:

    https://calomel.org/nginx.html
    http://www.cyberciti.biz/tips/linux-security.html

  5. #55
    Just an update, APC doesn't seem to want to install using
    PHP Code:
    yum install apc 
    so had to compile it, however I wasn't able to fine the "extensions" folder.

  6. #56
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Cheltenham, UK
    Posts
    1,416
    Quote Originally Posted by Dregond Rahl View Post
    Just an update, APC doesn't seem to want to install using ...
    If you want to install APC it's simply a matter of
    PHP Code:
    yum install php53-pecl-apc 
    Then
    PHP Code:
    service php-fpm restart 
    Edit: Got the service parameters the wrong way round... sorry, had not had my coffee yet!
    Last edited by BTCentral - Ben; 09-21-2010 at 06:28 AM.
    Ben Thomas, Director - BTCentral Web Development Services
    http://www.btcentral.org.uk - Need a custom Web App? Visit us online.

  7. #57
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Cheltenham, UK
    Posts
    1,416
    Quote Originally Posted by Dregond Rahl View Post
    so had to compile it, however I wasn't able to fine the "extensions" folder.
    Also, as you've already compiled it - apc.so would go in:
    /usr/lib/php/modules/ (32bit)
    /usr/lib64/php/modules/ (64bit)

    By the way APC seems to use around 32MB RAM as standard (when added to PHP).
    Ben Thomas, Director - BTCentral Web Development Services
    http://www.btcentral.org.uk - Need a custom Web App? Visit us online.

  8. #58
    Quote Originally Posted by BTCentral - Ben View Post
    Also, as you've already compiled it - apc.so would go in:
    /usr/lib/php/modules/ (32bit)
    /usr/lib64/php/modules/ (64bit)

    By the way APC seems to use around 32MB RAM as standard (when added to PHP).
    Thanks for that, and wow that's a lot, what about xCache?

  9. #59
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Cheltenham, UK
    Posts
    1,416
    I just found out you can change the amount of memory APC uses by editing "apc.shm_size" in /etc/php.d/apc.ini
    Size is in MB, so change apc.shm_size=32 to whatever you want.

    I have never actually used a PHP accelerator of any kind (hence not knowing this before hand) - I wonder if it would actually make all that much difference or not on a low end box?

    xCache (if you want to try it) you would need to install manually.
    Ben Thomas, Director - BTCentral Web Development Services
    http://www.btcentral.org.uk - Need a custom Web App? Visit us online.

  10. #60
    Quote Originally Posted by BTCentral - Ben View Post
    I just found out you can change the amount of memory APC uses by editing "apc.shm_size" in /etc/php.d/apc.ini
    Size is in MB, so change apc.shm_size=32 to whatever you want.

    I have never actually used a PHP accelerator of any kind (hence not knowing this before hand) - I wonder if it would actually make all that much difference or not on a low end box?

    xCache (if you want to try it) you would need to install manually.
    I think it would, depending on what is being run, sites running Joomla and WordPress usually work well with Nginx and APC/xCache handling more requests and lowering memory usage per request. I know for sure that APC and xCache properly configured can improve page load times too, that's why with PHP6 they wanted to have APC integrated by default.

    There are 100's of benchmarks proving it, but I don't think there has been any recent benchmarks with Nginx + PHP-FPM + xCache/APC on any low end system. I would do it myself if i knew how. haha T.T

    Also speaking of WordPress, it seems it won't update, or get plugins unless it has FTP access, so currently trying to configure vsftpd which seems to love to eat memory.

  11. #61
    Also, just found that my.conf is world writable by default, i'm pretty sure that can't be right, maybe change its permissions after MySQL is setup ?

  12. #62
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Cheltenham, UK
    Posts
    1,416
    Quote Originally Posted by Dregond Rahl View Post
    Also, just found that my.conf is world writable by default, i'm pretty sure that can't be right, maybe change its permissions after MySQL is setup ?
    It should not be, just checked on a server that we used the script on:

    PHP Code:
    [root@montreal ~]# ls -la /etc/ | grep my.cnf
    -rw-r--r--  1 root root     454 Sep 16 11:13 my.cnf 
    Edit: Just noticed you said my.conf - it should be my.cnf, not my.conf - are you sure you did not make a typo when editing things and create the file yourself?
    Last edited by BTCentral - Ben; 09-21-2010 at 09:32 AM.
    Ben Thomas, Director - BTCentral Web Development Services
    http://www.btcentral.org.uk - Need a custom Web App? Visit us online.

  13. #63
    Thanks for sharing this script Ill try it out later on my test server

  14. #64
    Quote Originally Posted by BTCentral - Ben View Post
    It should not be, just checked on a server that we used the script on:

    PHP Code:
    [root@montreal ~]# ls -la /etc/ | grep my.cnf
    -rw-r--r--  1 root root     454 Sep 16 11:13 my.cnf 
    Edit: Just noticed you said my.conf - it should be my.cnf, not my.conf - are you sure you did not make a typo when editing things and create the file yourself?
    Actually I made a typo here, sorry. But yes that file had 777 permission, may have been after I installed phpmyadmin. When I was restarting mysqld it gave a warning that its world writable so I checked it. I'll confirm it next time I run the script.

  15. #65
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    1,270
    Quote Originally Posted by Dregond Rahl View Post
    I think it would, depending on what is being run, sites running Joomla and WordPress usually work well with Nginx and APC/xCache handling more requests and lowering memory usage per request. I know for sure that APC and xCache properly configured can improve page load times too, that's why with PHP6 they wanted to have APC integrated by default.

    There are 100's of benchmarks proving it, but I don't think there has been any recent benchmarks with Nginx + PHP-FPM + xCache/APC on any low end system. I would do it myself if i knew how. haha T.T

    Also speaking of WordPress, it seems it won't update, or get plugins unless it has FTP access, so currently trying to configure vsftpd which seems to love to eat memory.
    That's generally because the webserver can't write to wordpress_install/wp-content/
    Each php-fpm configuration needs to run as the user that owns the wordpress install.

    edit: or you could of course give more privileges like 777, but I really recommend you run this as the proper user because it's way more secure in a multiuser setup.

  16. #66
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Cheltenham, UK
    Posts
    1,416
    Both PHP-FPM and Nginx run under a user/group created by the script - funnily enough, called nginx.

    If the webserver can not write to the directory (as barry suggested - and it sounds like that to me too from what you described) then simply do a:
    PHP Code:
    chown -R nginx:nginx /home/nginx 
    This will set the correct user/group on all the files/folders under it - and hopefully that should sort it out for you.

    More updates coming soon, I worked on it a bit a few days back - but have not had the chance to test the changes. Will definitely spend some time on it over the weekend.
    Ben Thomas, Director - BTCentral Web Development Services
    http://www.btcentral.org.uk - Need a custom Web App? Visit us online.

  17. #67
    Quote Originally Posted by BTCentral - Ben View Post
    Both PHP-FPM and Nginx run under a user/group created by the script - funnily enough, called nginx.

    If the webserver can not write to the directory (as barry suggested - and it sounds like that to me too) then simply do a:
    PHP Code:
    chown -R nginx:nginx /home/nginx 
    Hopefully that should sort it out for you.

    More updates coming soon, I worked on it a bit a few days back - but have not had the chance to test the changes. Will definitely spend some time on it over the weekend.
    It still refuses, its something to do with WP3.0 and being more safer by allowing updates to happen by FTP/SFTP/FTPS i decided ill go with SFTP much easier.

    I also did a benchmark of the Nginx setup using

    PHP Code:
    ab -kc 1000 -n 10000 http://www.domain.info/test.php 
    Strangely I found many requests failed:
    http://pastebin.com/0kqQq8jd

    I tried static images too 'nginx-logo.png' and it had high failed requests too. I looked into the logs and found this error:

    PHP Code:
    2010/09/24 10:36:33 [crit28301#0: *3180 open() "/home/nginx/domains/domain.info/public/nginx-logo.png" failed (24: Too many open files), client: 199.19.224.168, server: www.domain.info, request: "GET /nginx-logo.png HTTP/1.0", host: "www.domain.info" 
    I'm not sure what the problem is.

  18. #68
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Cheltenham, UK
    Posts
    1,416
    What version of Nginx are you using? Stable or Devel? Might be a bug (with Nginx).
    Ben Thomas, Director - BTCentral Web Development Services
    http://www.btcentral.org.uk - Need a custom Web App? Visit us online.

  19. #69
    Quote Originally Posted by BTCentral - Ben View Post
    What version of Nginx are you using? Stable or Devel? Might be a bug.
    Stable:

    [root@kuro ~]# nginx -v
    nginx version: nginx/0.7.67

  20. #70
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Cheltenham, UK
    Posts
    1,416
    And are you testing it locally (as in running ab via SSH on your VPS), or on another machine? If the latter it may be connectivity issues between the two.

    Just updated the kernel on my test VPS and am waiting for it to reboot, I'll try to do the same and see if I have any failures.
    Ben Thomas, Director - BTCentral Web Development Services
    http://www.btcentral.org.uk - Need a custom Web App? Visit us online.

  21. #71
    Quote Originally Posted by BTCentral - Ben View Post
    And are you testing it locally (as in running ab via SSH on your VPS), or on another machine? If the latter it may be connectivity issues between the two.

    Just updated the kernel on my test VPS and am waiting for it to reboot, I'll try to do the same and see if I have any failures.
    SSH(Putty) on my VPS from BuyVM

    Edit: doesn't happen with .html files however.
    Last edited by Dregond Rahl; 09-24-2010 at 06:46 AM.

  22. #72
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Cheltenham, UK
    Posts
    1,416
    Just tried it myself.

    PHP Code:
    Failed requests:        962
       
    (Connect0Length962Exceptions0
    I found out why though:

    PHP Code:
    2010/09/24 12:13:59 [alert1539#0: *20413 socket() failed (24: Too many open files) while connecting to upstream, client: 127.0.0.1, server: localhost, request: "GET /test.php HTTP/1.0", upstream: "fastcgi://127.0.0.1:9000", host: "127.0.0.1" 
    Note the: (24: Too many open files)

    No failures for nginx-logo.png however, perhaps that was a memory constraint?

    Edit: Ahha, the magic of Google provided a potential solution .
    Last edited by BTCentral - Ben; 09-24-2010 at 07:21 AM.
    Ben Thomas, Director - BTCentral Web Development Services
    http://www.btcentral.org.uk - Need a custom Web App? Visit us online.

  23. #73
    Quote Originally Posted by BTCentral - Ben View Post
    Just tried it myself.

    PHP Code:
    Failed requests:        962
       
    (Connect0Length962Exceptions0
    I found out why though:

    PHP Code:
    2010/09/24 12:13:59 [alert1539#0: *20413 socket() failed (24: Too many open files) while connecting to upstream, client: 127.0.0.1, server: localhost, request: "GET /test.php HTTP/1.0", upstream: "fastcgi://127.0.0.1:9000", host: "127.0.0.1" 
    Note the: (24: Too many open files)

    No failures for nginx-logo.png however, perhaps that was a memory constraint?

    Edit: Ahha, the magic of Google provided a potential solution .

    Thanks! i'm trying out the solution right now, will update on if it works.

  24. #74
    Well so far:

    PHP Code:
    [root@kuro ~]# su - nginx
    This account is currently not available
    So i modified the /etc/security/limits.conf to:

    PHP Code:
    nginx       soft    nofile   10000
    nginx       hard    nofile  30000 
    When i rebooted the images were being served fine, then i tired PHP and the socket() error came, after that i tried image again and it started to give errors too. I'm going to reboot again and see if it will help.

  25. #75
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Cheltenham, UK
    Posts
    1,416
    Quote Originally Posted by Dregond Rahl View Post
    PHP Code:
    [root@kuro ~]# su - nginx 
    su - nginx will not do anything, reason being that the nginx user is setup with the "/sbin/nologin" shell, therefore you can not use it to login .
    Ben Thomas, Director - BTCentral Web Development Services
    http://www.btcentral.org.uk - Need a custom Web App? Visit us online.

Page 3 of 25 FirstFirst 12345613 ... LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Perfect CentOs Server Setup (Low Memory)
    By skoobi2 in forum VPS Hosting
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 07-20-2010, 10:16 AM
  2. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-12-2009, 11:31 PM
  3. Script Install service, very low rates!
    By Justin in forum Employment / Job Offers
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-17-2006, 07:10 PM
  4. centos:apache,php, yum install or source install?
    By cchere in forum Hosting Security and Technology
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-29-2006, 05:14 PM
  5. How do I install GD on a default CentOS 4.x install?
    By Fabalo.com in forum Hosting Security and Technology
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-12-2006, 11:43 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •