Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Starting a hosting company...

I'm new to this and was wondering how pople began trheir hosting companies from scratch... Did you start off as a reseller:? If so who would be your number one pick to set up a resellers account with and what price did you pay?

I really need help with this. Im looking for someone with multiple plans and good bandwith for a good price. And someone who is reliable. Any ideas... suggestions.. Any help would be greatly apprciated.

Thanks

I'm not too sure about a company that provides solid reseller hosting, I haven't played around too much in that area, though I can tell you reselling is a good place to start. The only struggles you may experience are those of support... when you have an issue that can only be fixed by and administrator... and the support team is sleeping, you're not going to be having a good time... really, you can get an OK server for a cheap price at places like www.nocster.com. Some of their servers are about the price of some reseller packages.

If you're less experienced with server administration, and you want to start up a little hosting company, then reselling is the way to go until you aquire a better understanding of how things work. Just keep in mind what I said about the trouble shooting, and fixing of errors... you aren't really in control of them as a reseller. Also... make sure to keep an eye out on the use of your resources (especially bandwidth)

Start with an VPS/VDS from example www.servint.com

These days it is easy to start as a Reseller and see if the industry is for you. When we began there was very little in the way of control panels, much less reseller accounts.
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    UrNode - Virtual Solutions
    http://www.UrNode.com

Thank you very much!

Hi,
    I agree start with the reseller package first and test the waters for several months and then see how you go...

I started as a reseller.