hosted by liquidweb


Go Back   Web Hosting Talk : Web Hosting Main Forums : Specialty Hosting and Markets : VOIP etc : Is Russain DIDs needed?
Reply

Forum Jump

Is Russain DIDs needed?

Reply Post New Thread In VOIP etc Subscription
 
Send news tip View All Posts Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-29-2012, 08:12 AM
gosha gosha is online now
WHT Addict
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 110
Question

Is Russain DIDs needed?


Hi!

Wanted to ask about Russian DIDs (495 and 812 mainly) numbers. This is really hard to get but is there a lot of people outside Russia who needs it?



Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 02-01-2012, 03:30 AM
Ilya74 Ilya74 is offline
Aspiring Evangelist
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 360
I'd like recommend to contact http://teleum.ru, they should be able to provide 8-800, 8-804, 495, etc. It comes with Asterisk setup and very cheap (about $100 per month for full featured service).

Thanks,

__________________
Develvo Networks - Dedicated and virtual servers
Reliable and affordable solutions for your websites and projects
24x7 Support, Managed Services, Discounts on pre-payments
Contact us today - sales@develvo.net

  #3  
Old 02-01-2012, 05:30 PM
gosha gosha is online now
WHT Addict
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 110
It's not the same, they offer diverts, not usual number. And $100 it seems to be too expensive for just a phone per month

Sponsored Links
  #4  
Old 02-12-2012, 01:47 AM
CymraegWalesHosting CymraegWalesHosting is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Cardiff, Wales
Posts: 787
Quote:
Originally Posted by gosha View Post
It's not the same, they offer diverts, not usual number. And $100 it seems to be too expensive for just a phone per month
Serious communications, cost serious money.

In many countries (switzerland for instance) it costs $100/year just for a free phone number from the regulator (Ofcom). Before you start getting to the hosting fees of the number and the per minute charges etc.

I know russia is another expensive destination at wholesale in terms of getting number ranges from the regulations.

One of the things we have found while we are expanding our Global SS7/VoIP Network is that alot of regulators are very political driven. We are currently doing things in several Latin American countries and we need permission from various politicians or depts. Its not like the UK or USA where if you actually have a telecom network (not just a few asterisk boxes) you can goto the FCC or Ofcom and apply for 10k number range blocks. Also in a lot of countries you have to pay.

For example in spain, it costs us about 0.40/number/year. Now that might now sound alot. But lets look at the bigger picture.... Now numbers are assigned in blocks of 1k. So that automatically becomes 400/year/block.... Now how many area codes are there? About 20??? So thats 8,000/year. Now lets face it.... we are never going to sell all those numbers... so its false economy... Then we have port fees, interconnection charges, costs involved running the network.... So we are easily looking at 30,000/year just to expand/run a small network in Spain and get Spanish Numbering.... We were working with a company who did this in Russia and apart from it being complicated and lots of red tapes... It costs the company more like 100k/year just to run their network.

So $100 seems like a fair price to pay for a number in somewhere like Russia. Especially if they are actually the carrier/range holder/network operator... not just a reseller.

__________________
Wholesale Direct International Sip Termination & UK Numbering (DID's/DDI's)
Over 250 Direct Interconnects with guarnateed CLI/FAX | SIP & TDM Interconnectivity
http://wholesale.alohatelecom.co.uk | UK 03 Numbers (DIDs/DDIs)(Redirect to SIP and Landlines for Free) http://free03numbers.com/

  #5  
Old 02-12-2012, 05:34 AM
gosha gosha is online now
WHT Addict
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 110
Not really, I can provide Moscow (495) for much less and this will not be call divert, you will not need pay for incoming calls I mean.

and the traffic to Russia is not very expensive really the main problem with termination to Russia is that there is a lot of providers who make a termination with poor quality and without CLI

  #6  
Old 02-15-2012, 01:41 PM
andmed andmed is offline
Junior Guru Wannabe
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 36
Just for comparison - for locals the Moscow (499) number costs about 8USD, but you need to go with passport to local office to get it, of course.

It means, that relatively higher prices for Russian DID in european wholesale providers are mainly because of still the over-regulated market. Business costs are comparable. If I am not mistaken I glanced once that 20-25 is a normal price though, but I am not sure. Not 100USD, certainly


Last edited by andmed; 02-15-2012 at 01:47 PM.
  #7  
Old 02-16-2012, 05:32 AM
CymraegWalesHosting CymraegWalesHosting is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Cardiff, Wales
Posts: 787
It depends on whether its a reputable provider/carrier or is just a small provider who has there own little network.

Goto someone like Cable and Wireless and ask for a UK Number. Unless your buying real wholesale your going to be paying atleast 20 per number. Where as other providers may sell at 1 per number. So you can see the pricing difference.

Its a case of where you look. I will never change my opinion on that. I know several people who would be prepared to pay $200 for russian number that is guaranteed quality and SLA. Even prepared to pay for Port Capacity ontop.

__________________
Wholesale Direct International Sip Termination & UK Numbering (DID's/DDI's)
Over 250 Direct Interconnects with guarnateed CLI/FAX | SIP & TDM Interconnectivity
http://wholesale.alohatelecom.co.uk | UK 03 Numbers (DIDs/DDIs)(Redirect to SIP and Landlines for Free) http://free03numbers.com/

  #8  
Old 02-16-2012, 07:40 AM
andmed andmed is offline
Junior Guru Wannabe
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 36
200 minus 8 is a good business. I wish I new those people)

I have one UK number from didww for 5Euro. I have had one issue with them (posted in this forum), but short of that I am quite satisfied. Anyway, it is not getting too many many calls, may be that's the point. There is no calling center on it.

Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
UNBEATABLE: UK DIDs (Numbers) 5/year CymraegWalesHosting Other Hosting Offers 2 03-07-2011 01:50 PM
UNBEATABLE: UK DIDs (Numbers) 5/year CymraegWalesHosting Advertising Offers 0 03-06-2011 07:48 PM
UK DIDs (Numbers) 10/year CymraegWalesHosting Other Offers & Requests 2 02-26-2011 06:17 PM
UK DIDs (Numbers) 10/year CymraegWalesHosting Other Offers & Requests 0 02-17-2011 10:03 PM
UK DIDS (Numbers) 10/year CymraegWalesHosting Other Hosting Offers 1 02-01-2011 05:15 AM

Related posts from TheWhir.com
Title Type Date Posted
Stanford Researchers Increase Cost Effectiveness of Cloud and Contribute to Cleantech Web Hosting News 2014-05-01 08:31:18
Labour Calls for Greater Accountability by British Intelligence Agencies in Speech Addressing Cybercrime Web Hosting News 2014-03-03 11:20:48
GoDaddy Acquires Invoicing Tool Ronin Web Hosting News 2013-10-02 12:22:52
InfoRelay Online System Launches Cloud Hosting Platform SnapScale v2.1 Web Hosting News 2013-05-06 11:51:16
Software AG Acquires Cloud PaaS Vendor LongJump Web Hosting News 2013-04-26 12:05:25


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Postbit Selector

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump
Login:
Log in with your username and password
Username:
Password:



Forgot Password?
Advertisement:
Web Hosting News:
WHT Membership
WHT Membership



 

X

Welcome to WebHostingTalk.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

WebHostingTalk.com is the largest, most influentual web hosting community on the Internet. Join us by filling in the form below.


(4 digit year)

Already a member?