First Time Going Dedicated...

I currently have a semi-dedicated account with Hostgator. I'm very happy with my hosting there but unfortunately I need to go dedicated because my site is growing in popularity by the day. I was contacted by one of the managers of tech support there about my site needing to go to one of their dedicated plans because I am getting well over 10,000 visitors a day, using 15+GB of bandwidth a day and lots of MySQL connections. (I have a wordpress blog).

So I'm a noob when it comes to server stuff. My question is, if I sign up with one of Hostgator's managed dedicated plans, do I need to know much more than how to use WHM/Cpanel? I'm so worried that I'll get a dedicated plan and have no clue how to use it and that my server will crash or something and I won't know how to fix it. Is it relatively easy to use managed dedicated hosting?

It sounds like Hostgator is trying to dupe you into buying a dedicated server. 15+gb of traffic/day isn't that much. It's only 465gb/mo (based on a 31 day month), and dedicated servers usually come with 1000+gb/mo. Then again, I can't remember when the last time was that I actually used all my bandwidth.

Managed servers are managed for a reason, and it's so people don't need to be sysadmins to run a dedicated server. If you don't know that much about administrating a server, but want one anyway then I would go with a managed server, and stay away from self-managed ones.

As far as Hostgator is concerened, I've never delt with their company so I wouldn't know. You should definatly do some research on these forums for dedicated server companies, if that is the route you take.

If this is your first time getting a dedicated server then a managed one would be best because you would probably have trouble using an unmanaged one.
    XXtreme-Host.com
    Great Prices, Friendly Support, Quality Hosting Solutions

Quote Originally Posted by SyrusMX