Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 75

Thread: HOW-TO: Vds

  1. #1

    HOW-TO: Vds

    This is a quick way of setting up a VDS. We will use the Kernel: 2.4.22-8um in this. You can use any you want.

    First of all, make a UML directory on the server with the following command in SSH

    mkdir /uml/
    Then, we need to change to the newly made directory, using the following command:

    cd /uml
    Then, Download the kernel via shell with the following command:
    Once the Kernel (roughly 2.5MB) is downloaded, execute the following CHMOD:
    chmod +x /uml/linux
    At this point, the kernel is in a runnable state, but we havent got any OS to boot into, or any tools to run the UML properly!

    So, next we will download the uml tools, and install them. To download them, in shell, type the following command:

    Now, we need to install these utilities with the following command:

    rpm -i ./uml_utilities-20030903-1.i386.rpm
    After this installtion, we are nearlly done, but we need one more item, the OS!

    For this tutorial, we will just grab a copy of the Redhat OS from the UML site, so you need to type the following into shell:

    Once this is downloaded, simply type the following to un bzip it:

    unbzip2 ./root_fs.rh-7.2-full.pristine.20020312.bz2
    This will take a while to unbzip. Once it is done, we will make a test vds to ensure all is working, so we will do the following commands:

    adduser vds1
    passwd vds1 myfirstvds
    This will add a user named: vds1 with the password: myfirstvds.

    Now, we will make the UML run under that users login, so we type the following in order:

    cp ./root_fs.rh-7.2-full.pristine.20020312 /home/vds1/root_fs
    cp ./linux /home/vds1/linux
    This will cause the files "root_fs.rh-7.2-full.pristine.20020312(which will now be named "root_fs")" and "linux" to be in the user "vds1" directory. Now, we will CHOWN it to user "vds1" so that the user can run it.

    chown vds1 /home/vds1/linux
    chown vds1 /home/vds1/root_fs
    Now, at this point we have a VERY basic VDS setup. So, we will run it with the following command line to test if it works:

    /home/vds1/linux ubd0=root_fs root=/dev/ubd0 mem=128m
    The above line says: Boot the linux kernel, and the OS is in root_fs and make 128MB of ram available to the UML.

    This should boot the VDS up to a running state.

    I will add more in the morning on VDS Networking (as it is 3:20am here, hehe)

    Enjoy!

  2. #2
    Killer post, its_just_me!
    Nice job, very helpful : )
    BliksemHosting.com || WEBHOST MAGAZINE & BUYER'S GUIDE Editors' Choice for Reseller Hosting
    *Exceptional Service & Uptime || True 24/7 Support & End-User Support || Industry Leading SLA
    *Shared --> Reseller --> Semi-Dedicated --> CO-OP --> VPS --> Dedicated
    *Fully Scalable --- We're the last host you'll need

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Manchester, UK
    Posts
    779
    Don't forget too that there is quite a bit of information at http://user-mode-linux.sf.net including information on compiling the UML kernels yourself. So if you're used to compiling kernels and have some time on your hands you might want to look there.

    I personally have quite a bit of experience with UML, so if anyone wants any help with any aspect of it, contact me and I will do my best to help

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    110
    warning: ./uml_utilities-20030903-1.i386.rpm: V3 DSA signature: NOKEY, key ID cbe5ddc7
    i can't setup?

  5. #5
    Originally posted by dqh
    warning: ./uml_utilities-20030903-1.i386.rpm: V3 DSA signature: NOKEY, key ID cbe5ddc7
    i can't setup?
    Just ignore that, its just a warning because we didnt use a MD5 key

    It should work for you still...

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    California USA
    Posts
    13,681
    [root@35130 vds1]# ./linux ubd0=root_fs root=/dev/ubd0 mem=128m
    Checking for the skas3 patch in the host...not found
    Checking for /proc/mm...not found
    Segmentation fault
    [root@35130 vds1]#


    On fedora
    Steven Ciaburri | Industry's Best Server Management - Rack911.com
    Software Auditing - 400+ Vulnerabilities Found - Quote @ https://www.RACK911Labs.com
    Fully Managed Dedicated Servers (Las Vegas, New York City, & Amsterdam) (AS62710)
    FreeBSD & Linux Server Management, Security Auditing, Server Optimization, PCI Compliance

  7. #7
    whats vds???

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Manchester, UK
    Posts
    779
    Originally posted by The Kid
    whats vds???
    Virtual Dedicated Server - software that allows you to partition a physical server into several "virtual" servers which give complete root access and a share of the physical host's CPU and memory resources.

    User Mode Linux (UML) is just one way of doing VDS/VPS.

  9. #9
    so is it like a mini-dedicated server? and if it has complete root, cant it delete your account and others that it doesnt own on ur server as well?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    California USA
    Posts
    13,681
    Originally posted by The Kid
    so is it like a mini-dedicated server? and if it has complete root, cant it delete your account and others that it doesnt own on ur server as well?
    No its like running a operating system inside an operating system.
    Steven Ciaburri | Industry's Best Server Management - Rack911.com
    Software Auditing - 400+ Vulnerabilities Found - Quote @ https://www.RACK911Labs.com
    Fully Managed Dedicated Servers (Las Vegas, New York City, & Amsterdam) (AS62710)
    FreeBSD & Linux Server Management, Security Auditing, Server Optimization, PCI Compliance

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    belgium
    Posts
    114
    Works nice, do you still plan to write a networking how to ?

    Also what is the root password ?

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    73
    is that have any GUI Interface for customer , can UML limit cpu ,ram , harddisk , network usage?

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Europe
    Posts
    714
    Originally posted by ck2004
    is that have any GUI Interface for customer , can UML limit cpu ,ram , harddisk , network usage?
    I also wanted to ask these questions..

  14. #14
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Malaysia
    Posts
    197
    good guide, waiting for the networking guide now

  15. #15
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    45
    great post! Thanks!

  16. #16
    To ensure that my guides are accurate, i had a test server which I lost the funds to trial everything on. So, until I can make up the funds, I cannot post the Networking Section sorry.

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    129
    any update on this? i mean the networking tutorial?

  18. #18
    I saw someone post wonder what is the root password. Here is how to set/get it:

    1) Shut down the VDS if you have it running
    2) Mount the device as a loop (ex: mount root_fs /mnt -o loop)
    3) chroot /mnt
    4) This is now like you're logged into root. Just type passwd root and set a root password
    5) Type exit
    6) Run the VDS and Login

    Hope this helps.

    - John

  19. #19
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    belgium
    Posts
    114
    thanks for this info

  20. #20
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    1,443
    its_just_me,

    Do you need a sponsor of a VDS for you to trial those things on?
    Synergy Blue LLC
    SonataWeb.net | SynergyBlue.com
    USA should so something about: http://www.brillig.com/debt_clock/

  21. #21

    Angry

    User Mode Linux (UML)

    i have install User Mode Linux rpm 2.4.19.5um-0 and cn not get it to work!

  22. #22
    Well, I could post the 2nd half of the howto, but i havent had linux erver access for a while, so i cant confirm my actions are correct..

    clementd.. please explain what yu did exactly?

  23. #23
    Hi thanks for the How to, got me started!

    i had to replace the kernel and now it work ok on fedora Core2
    keep up the good work!

  24. #24
    What about control panels?

    If you seperate the server into virtual server partitions, can you get the CP, such as CPanel/WHM to copy over as well?
    Mark - Owner/Lead Designer
    avidInteractive
    Lead vocalist for Circle7: Circle7 on MTV

  25. #25
    You will need to install the cp individually, or you can intergrate it into the OS image

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •