Thread: Hosting advice

Question Hosting advice

Hello there,

I am new to all this but i hope someone can advise me. I have read some of the posts and you all seem to know so much! This is my first post and i'm a bit of a techno doofus - so please bear with me!

I have set up a website using [not sure if i can use their name here ] as a host but i am pretty disappointed with the speed of customer services not to mention the difficulty i have had in using the web builder packages.

The thing is - this site is for a voluntary organisation - all the members are pretty old and dont really know how to turn on a pc - never mind put up sites! I felt sorry for them as i knew it needed doing and i offered to do it for them. My web knowlege is very very limited and thats why i like web builder packages.

The thing is - it is due to expire soon (in about 2 months) and the organization is struggling a bit. We have our own domain name but can anyone recommend a free/ v. cheap hosting site that gives you web building packages?

Its not used a great deal and has had just 280 hits in 10 months.

It doesnt involve downloads - just a bit of text, a few photo's and a message board.

Hope someone can help with some advice soon! Thanks - Louise.

OOooh - and how do i submit it to search engines? Is that difficult or does it rely on the site having millions of hits in the first place?

Thanks!

Submitting to search engines doesn't guarantee you are going to have hits. Exactly what are you looking for? I have read your post two times and still don't understand. Granted, it is early in the morning and I haven't had my caffeine intake yet Maybe you could clarify for me

Thanks for your reply.

Firstly, I am looking for a web hosting site that is dirt cheap (less than £30 per year if possible) and 'no frills'. It must have web-building tools (templates) and be suitable for a beginner to use.