hosted by liquidweb


Go Back   Web Hosting Talk : Web Hosting Main Forums : Colocation and Data Centers : 80% rule in datacenters?
Closed Thread

Forum Jump

80% rule in datacenters?

Closed Thread Post New Thread In Colocation and Data Centers Subscription
 
Send news tip View All Posts Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #61  
Old
Virtually Flawless ;)
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: USA / UK
Posts: 4,539
Quote:
Originally Posted by funkywizard View Post
After being able to actually look at the NEC rules, it appears to be a little more strict than you're making them out to be.

The circuit size needs to be

1) Equal to 1.25 times the size of the continuous load

PLUS

2) Equal to 1 times the size of the non-continuous load

If you never drop below 14a of usage, then your continuous load is at least 14a. 1.25 times 14a is 17.5a. If you have a 20a circuit, then your "non continuous load" is allowed to be an extra 2.5a from this point. Meaning your bursts should be no more than 16.5a according to NEC under this scenario. Not even close to "tripping the breaker" as you seem to think you should be able to do.
What your continuous load may be, and what the maximum allowable continuous load is, is different.

If you have a 20 amp breaker, max continuous load is 16 amps. This is not questioned by anyone (20 / 1.25).

16 amps continuous load times 1.25 allowed spike load is, guess what? 20 amps - the size of the breaker.

If your datacenter doesn't define operating requirements in their environment stricter than those defined by laws / the NEC, then you should be able to spike non-continuous load to 20 amps without an issue.

Sponsored Links
  #62  
Old
unghhh... Baaandwidth....
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 9,093
Quote:
Originally Posted by ramnet View Post
16 amps continuous load times 1.25 allowed spike load is, guess what? 20 amps - the size of the breaker.
Nope, that's wrong. If you continually use 16a, it means you REQUIRE a 1.25 times sized circuit / breaker in order to be allowed to do that, leaving ZERO room for bursting on a 20a circuit. If, however, you have ZERO continuous load, you may then use the entire circuit size for your non continuous load.

Multiply continuous load times 1.25
add non continuous load

Result of the two added together must be less than rated circuit / breaker size.

In my case, I'm never using under 14a on that circuit, so there is no room for argument that my continuous load is under 14a. 14 times 1.25 = 17.5. If I'm using a 20a breaker, this means there is 2.5a "left over" for non continuous loads, which would mean, a total of 16.5a.

__________________
IOFLOOD.com -- We Love Servers
8 and 12 core Xeons back in stock.
Email sales [at] ioflood.com for more info.

  #63  
Old
Virtually Flawless ;)
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: USA / UK
Posts: 4,539
Quote:
Originally Posted by funkywizard View Post
Nope, that's wrong.
The NEC code does actually provide examples on how to size a circuit. It's fairly easy to follow.

The 125% sizing of the Over Current Protection Device (or 80% loading) is only applicable when continuous loads are involved. Circuit Breakers and other OCPDs can be sized at 100% of their rating for noncontinuous load applications.

What this means is, if you mix continuous and non-continuous loads on the same circuit, the circuit must be rated for the larger 125% sizing, and not simply 100% sizing. You do not add these together to come up with 225%

It is extremely rare for continuous and non-continuous loads to be on the same circuit, which is why this isn't very clear from reading the NEC as it assumes you will use separate circuits for the different loads types. If you mix loads you use the stricter continuous load definition at 125%, otherwise you use the 100% definition. You don't use both definitions at the same time.


Last edited by ramnet; 05-05-2012 at 04:48 PM.
Sponsored Links
  #64  
Old
Community Leader
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Tasmania, Australia
Posts: 33,217
Quote:
Originally Posted by funkywizard View Post

Mods can please close this thread, I've gotten the information I needed, thanks.
Okie dokie!

Closed Thread

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
UK Datacenters VN-Ken Colocation and Data Centers 31 09-15-2006 12:23 PM
datacenters? deskbar builder Web Hosting 4 10-25-2004 03:19 PM
Iptable firewall rule for icmp ping rule Cephren Hosting Security and Technology 2 08-24-2004 05:59 PM
DataCenters Real_FAN Dedicated Server 5 03-23-2004 06:16 PM
Datacenters... IGobyTerry Web Hosting Lounge 1 09-30-2002 01:17 AM

Related posts from TheWhir.com
Title Type Date Posted
Compass Datacenters Completes First Data Center in North Carolina Web Hosting News 2013-05-01 12:21:17
Compass Datacenters Builds its First Data Center in Tennessee Web Hosting News 2013-04-08 14:03:51
Modular Data Center Firm Compass Datacenters Launches Online Configurator Tool Web Hosting News 2013-01-30 12:06:18
Windstream Hosted Solutions Taps Compass Datacenters for Modular Data Center in Tennessee Web Hosting News 2012-12-03 13:33:33
Switch Datacenters Launches Incubator for Energy Efficient Data Center Hardware Web Hosting News 2012-11-19 13:09:07


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Postbit Selector

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump
Login:
Log in with your username and password
Username:
Password:



Forgot Password?
WHT Host Brief Email:

We respect your privacy. We will never sell, rent, or give away your address to any outside party, ever.

Advertisement:
Web Hosting News:
WHT Membership
WHT Membership



 

X

Welcome to WebHostingTalk.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

WebHostingTalk.com is the largest, most influentual web hosting community on the Internet. Join us by filling in the form below.


(4 digit year)

Already a member?