Thread: A few questions

A few questions

Yes, I am a so called newb when it comes to colocation. But I have read 14 pages of this forum and have a few questions.

I will be using my colo to move some of my clients off of my dedicated server. I run my own forums for my family, java chat, and file transfers for my buisness. The CLients I have do not use much bandwidth <10gb a month. I suspect that to begin with I could get away with ~1000gb a month (I do alot of file xfers).
    I am not looking to make any money this is a hobby for me and I want to have controll of my own hardware that is why I am getting out of the dedicated. I want to stay below $150.

Now my questions... (For all you guys that are going to say don't do it your a newb, this is not something I am going to do tomorrow. I will not undertake this till I feel comfortable that my few customers will be taken care of)

1. When they say 1000gb bandwidth do they mean out/in total or is it just out?

2. Should I be looking at a 10mbps line or would 1-5 be ok.

3 Firewall.. This may sound stupid but it is an idea.. Couldn't I just stick a small NAT router (desktop type)on the back of my box (it is a mini tower) and use it as the firewall?

4. Is it best to get the CP from them or should I invest in DA or Plesk? I know Cpanel whm makes things easy but I like DA layout and usablilty.

5 Remote OS installs.. I will be using FreeBSD 5.3 so what are my options for remote install (hopefully it won't be neccessary)?

6. I know I need to configure the box to boot w/o the need to push the power button. But what other things should I make sure are set right in the BIOS.

Thanks in advance for your suggestions. I already have a box with Freebsd loaded with a control panel for testing in my home network.

1. It depends on the provider.
    2. 1-5Mbps would be ok, but if you are doing file transfers I would imagine you would want to be able to burst to 10Mbps.