Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 48
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    NewYork
    Posts
    474

    Exclamation installing OpenVZ on centos problem

    Hello,

    I have installed OpenVZ on my centOS 5.2 server [Cpanel] using this method

    Code:
    http://www.unix-tutorials.com/go.php?id=3734 << install VPS
    http://www.unix-tutorials.com/go.php?id=3975 << configure VPS
    I have everything done right, but after i reboot my server i could not connect to the VPS port 8888;8887, i have this range

    Code:
    192.168.85.82 << main server ip
    192.168.85.83
    192.168.85.84
    192.168.85.85
    192.168.85.86
    192.168.85.87
    not i think i could connect to the main ip using port 8887/8888 by/without SSL

    Code:
    http://192.168.85.82:8887/8888
    or ssl
    https://192.168.85.82:8887/8888
    i add ports 8887/8888 in my csf firewall, but it's wont connect it give me

    Code:
    Unable to connect
    i check if the OpenVZ works on my server and installed all the modules

    Code:
    root@server [/home]# rpm -qa|grep gc
    libgcc-4.1.2-44.el5
    pkgconfig-0.21-2.el5
    libgcrypt-1.2.4-1.el5
    gcc-4.1.2-44.el5
    gcc-c++-4.1.2-44.el5
    root@server [/home]#
    Code:
    root@server [/home]# /sbin/service vz restart
    Bringing down interface venet0:                            [  OK  ]
    Stopping OpenVZ:                                           [  OK  ]
    Starting OpenVZ:                                           [  OK  ]
    Bringing up interface venet0:                              [  OK  ]
    Configuring interface venet0:                              [  OK  ]
    root@server [/home]#
    so what the problem please ? did i miss something or what ?
    Last edited by boxer; 10-07-2009 at 11:21 AM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    1,668
    Can you ping the IP of the VPS from inside the hostnode?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    1,572
    Are you testing this out on your home machine? did you remember to open those port in your router/switch?

    Cheers

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    NewYork
    Posts
    474
    It's the first time i install OpenVZ "TheServerExperts" So am not Expert please know that, am not selling VPS just am trying to make some box on my server as it big server .

    i didn't open it, i just open ports on 8888/8887 in csf.

    chris the ip you mean the main ip for the server ?

    Code:
    192.168.85.82
    I didn't understand what you mean by ping inside the hostnode ... sorry for my pure english.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Kingston, Ontario
    Posts
    1,588
    Try clearing the firewall on the VPS and host node.
    iptables -L will let you know if any firewall rules are active.

    vzlist -a will let you know if the vps is active or not.
    vzctl enter vpsIDhere to login to the vps from hardware node.
    netstat -anp |grep :8888
    That will let you know if the service on the VPS is active on the port you think it should be.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    1,668
    Quote Originally Posted by boxer View Post
    It's the first time i install OpenVZ "TheServerExperts" So am not Expert please know that, am not selling VPS just am trying to make some box on my server as it big server .

    i didn't open it, i just open ports on 8888/8887 in csf.

    chris the ip you mean the main ip for the server ?

    Code:
    192.168.85.82
    I didn't understand what you mean by ping inside the hostnode ... sorry for my pure english.
    When you are logged in as root on the main server (not in a vps) try and ping the IP of one of your VPS server. If you cant, then you can start looking at firewall rules on the main server. Since it appears you have tis server on your local network, you can just flush all the iptables rules on the main server for now and see if that helps.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    NewYork
    Posts
    474
    Thanks Ramprage, for the iptables -L there is alot of rules becouse i got some ddos before a weak, so i dont know what exacly looking in that rules,

    i run vzlist -a and i'ts show

    Code:
    root@server [/home]# /usr/sbin/vzlist -a
          CTID      NPROC STATUS  IP_ADDR         HOSTNAME
    root@server [/home]#
    Code:
    root@server [/home# netstat -anp |grep :8888
    root@server [/home#
    looks still now work ?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    1,572
    Quote Originally Posted by boxer View Post
    It's the first time i install OpenVZ "TheServerExperts" So am not Expert please know that, am not selling VPS just am trying to make some box on my server as it big server .

    i didn't open it, i just open ports on 8888/8887 in csf.

    chris the ip you mean the main ip for the server ?

    Code:
    192.168.85.82
    I didn't understand what you mean by ping inside the hostnode ... sorry for my pure english.
    Can you verify if your port is open on your router/switch?

    http://www.portforward.com/

    Port: 8888/8887

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    NewYork
    Posts
    474
    am using XP now,the server from Hivelocity, but i have added the ports in csf.conf

    Code:
    # Allow incoming TCP ports
    TCP_IN = "20,21,22,25,53,80,110,143,443,465,587,993,995,2077,2078,2082,2083,2086,2087,2095,2096,8888,8887"
    and the same cannot connect, i think it's not listing in that port at all becouse i explane before when i netstat the port 8888.

    by the way i have move after install the OpenVZ the yum to make sure the up2date well work in the VPS.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    1,668
    Quote Originally Posted by boxer View Post
    Thanks Ramprage, for the iptables -L there is alot of rules becouse i got some ddos before a weak, so i dont know what exacly looking in that rules,

    i run vzlist -a and i'ts show

    Code:
    root@server [/home]# /usr/sbin/vzlist -a
          CTID      NPROC STATUS  IP_ADDR         HOSTNAME
    root@server [/home]#
    Code:
    root@server [/home# netstat -anp |grep :8888
    root@server [/home#
    looks still now work ?
    From the output of the vzlist -a, it looks like there are no VPS servers setup.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    NewYork
    Posts
    474
    yea, i told you before Chris i have just installed what they say... how could i setup a new VPS so ? i asked becouse when you look at the thread here

    Code:
    http://www.unix-tutorials.com/go.php?id=3975
    at
    Code:
     3 Using HyperVM
    it's wont start in the main ip 192.168.85.82?

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    NewYork
    Posts
    474
    what i need to do to make VPS Account now ??

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    1,668
    Quote Originally Posted by boxer View Post
    yea, i told you before Chris i have just installed what they say... how could i setup a new VPS so ? i asked becouse when you look at the thread here

    Code:
    http://www.unix-tutorials.com/go.php?id=3975
    at
    Code:
     3 Using HyperVM
    it's wont start in the main ip 192.168.85.82?
    When you run vzlist -a, you should see something like

    [root@vpsnode ~]# vzlist -a
    Warning: Unknown iptable module: ipt_ecn, skipped
    Warning: Unknown iptable module: ipt_mac, skipped
    Warning: Unknown iptable module: ipt_recent, skipped
    Warning: Unknown iptable module: ipt_ULOG, skipped
    CTID NPROC STATUS IP_ADDR HOSTNAME
    101 - stopped 192.168.1.10 xxx.xxxx
    102 2 running 192.168.1.110 xxx.xxxx
    103 2 running 192.168.1.12 xxx.xxxx
    104 2 running 192.168.1.13 xxx.xxxx

    Also, are you trying to use the 192.168.xx IP's? As far as I know, those are not routable on the internet. That may have changed, but I dont think so.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    NewYork
    Posts
    474
    no i just changed the real ip Chris, now restart HyperVM

    Code:
    root@server [/home]# /etc/init.d/hypervm restart
    /usr/local/lxlabs/hypervm/httpdocs
    Stopping hypervm: Waiting for the process to die.....
    Stopped hypervm
    
    Starting hypervm: /etc/init.d/hypervm: line 65: /etc/init.d/mysqld: No such file or directory
    /etc/init.d/hypervm: line 66: /etc/init.d/mysqld: No such file or directory
    Could not connect to Mysql server... <br> 2009-10-07 12:20:57: (network.c.358) SSL: error:02001002:system library:fopen:No such file or directory /usr/local/lxlabs/hypervm/etc/program.ca
    Started hypervm
    
    root@server [/home]#
    and how to make a New VPS account in my main IP/ or other ip in my range ?

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    1,668
    You will need to follow the tutorial again.

    Start on page 2 at the top. Forget about HyperVM for the moment.

    http://www.unix-tutorials.com/go.php?id=3734

    This is where it seems soemthing went wrong,

    Code:
    I want to use CentOS 5 in my virtual machines, so I download a CentOS 5 template (a default CentOS 5 template in this case):
    
    cd /vz/template/cache
    wget http://download.openvz.org/template/precreated/contrib/centos-5-i386-default.tar.gz
    
    I will now show you the basic commands for using OpenVZ.
    
    To set up a VPS from the default CentOS 5 template, run: 
    
    vzctl create 101 --ostemplate centos-5-i386-default --config vps.basic
    
    The 101 must be a uniqe ID - each virtual machine must have its own unique ID. You can use the last part of the virtual machine's IP address for it. For example, if the virtual machine's IP address is 192.168.0.101, you use 101 as the ID. 
    
    If you want to have the vm started at boot, run
    
    vzctl set 101 --onboot yes --save
    
    To set a hostname and IP address for the vm, run:
    
    vzctl set 101 --hostname test.example.com --save
    vzctl set 101 --ipadd 192.168.0.101 --save
    
    Next we set the number of sockets to 120 and assign a few nameservers to the vm:
    
    vzctl set 101 --numothersock 120 --save
    vzctl set 101 --nameserver 213.133.98.98 --nameserver 213.133.99.99 --nameserver 213.133.100.100 --nameserver 145.253.2.75 --save
    
    (Instead of using the vzctl set commands, you can as well directly edit the vm's configuration file which is stored in the /etc/vz/conf directory. If the ID of the vm is 101, then the configuration file is /etc/vz/conf/101.conf.)
    
    To start the vm, run
    
    vzctl start 101 
    
    To set a root password for the vm, execute
    
    vzctl exec 101 passwd
    
    You can now either connect to the vm via SSH (e.g. with PuTTY), or you enter it as follows:
    
    vzctl enter 101 
    
    To leave the vm's console, type
    
    exit
    
    To stop a vm, run
    
    vzctl stop 101
    
    To restart a vm, run
    
    vzctl restart 101
    
    To delete a vm from the hard drive (it must be stopped before you can do this), run
    
    vzctl destroy 101 
    
    To get a list of your vms and their statuses, run
    
    vzlist -a

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    NewYork
    Posts
    474
    Thanks Chris,

    Code:
    /vz/template/cache
    total 1167568
    drwxr-xr-x 2 root root      4096 Oct  7 09:58 ./
    drwxr-xr-x 3 root root      4096 Oct  7 09:20 ../
    -rw-r--r-- 1 root root 172227951 Apr  6  2009 centos-5-i386-afull.tar.gz
    -rw-r--r-- 1 root root 392013031 May 15 08:34 centos-5-i386-hostinabox576.tar.gz
    -rw-r--r-- 1 root root 138249419 Apr  6  2009 debian-5.0-x86-default.tar.gz
    -rw-r--r-- 1 root root 154796652 May 10 16:38 fedora-10-i386-default-20090509-default.tar.gz
    -rw-r--r-- 1 root root 129739954 Nov 30  2008 gentoo-openvz-x86-2008.11.30-default.tar.gz
    -rw-r--r-- 1 root root      2889 Oct  7 09:54 index.html
    -rw-r--r-- 1 root root  94704566 Dec 29  2005 opensuse-10-i386-default.tar.gz
    -rw-r--r-- 1 root root 112625577 Apr  6  2009 ubuntu-8.04-x86-default.tar.gz
    i have them already when i installing it by

    Code:
    cd /etc/yum.repos.d
    wget http://download.openvz.org/openvz.repo
    rpm --import http://download.openvz.org/RPM-GPG-Key-OpenVZ
    now i need to setup a new VPS so should i use the main ip ? or i can use any of my range ip's like

    Code:
    192.168.85.84
    becouse i read before that if i use in the same server main ip a Cpanel it well have some problem to install HyperVM in it, so if i use

    The ip xxx.xxx.85.84 for the new VPS and install the HyperVM in it.. is that okay ? or should i use in the main ip...?

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    1,668
    You are going to want to use one of the free IP's from the range your host gave you. I dont think it will allow you to use the host nodes IP and that wouldnt be a good idea anyway.

  18. #18
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    NewYork
    Posts
    474
    sorry Chris to this question, but i had give the first vps name 85 as the last ip.no so

    Code:
    root@server [/vz/template/cache]# /usr/sbin/vzctl create 85 --ostemplate centos-5-i386-hostinabox576 --config vps.basic
    Creating container private area (centos-5-i386-hostinabox576)
    vzquota : (error) Quota on syscall for id 85: File exists
    vzquota on failed [3]
    vzquota : (error) Quota is not running for id 85
    Performing postcreate actions
    Container private area was created
    root@server [/vz/template/cache]#
    Is everything fine? or there is something wrong...

  19. #19
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    inside wht
    Posts
    746
    Just do this one too in your NODE,

    Edit /etc/sysctl.conf and set
    net.ipv4.ip_forward = 1 after that enter the command "sysctl -p "
    24x7 PROACTIVE SERVER MANAGEMENT | OUTSOURCED WEB HOSTING SUPPORT
    Sales : sales @ syslint.com | Call us : (+91)9447607799 | Are you looking for DevOps Admins ?

  20. #20
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    1,668
    Quote Originally Posted by boxer View Post
    sorry Chris to this question, but i had give the first vps name 85 as the last ip.no so

    Code:
    root@server [/vz/template/cache]# /usr/sbin/vzctl create 85 --ostemplate centos-5-i386-hostinabox576 --config vps.basic
    Creating container private area (centos-5-i386-hostinabox576)
    vzquota : (error) Quota on syscall for id 85: File exists
    vzquota on failed [3]
    vzquota : (error) Quota is not running for id 85
    Performing postcreate actions
    Container private area was created
    root@server [/vz/template/cache]#
    Is everything fine? or there is something wrong...
    All VPS servers you create need to have an ID number greater than 100 (100 is used by the system. ) Start at 101 for you VPS ID's and go up from there. All of this is covered in the tutorial as well.

  21. #21
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    inside wht
    Posts
    746
    Quote Originally Posted by boxer View Post
    sorry Chris to this question, but i had give the first vps name 85 as the last ip.no so

    Code:
    root@server [/vz/template/cache]# /usr/sbin/vzctl create 85 --ostemplate centos-5-i386-hostinabox576 --config vps.basic
    Creating container private area (centos-5-i386-hostinabox576)
    vzquota : (error) Quota on syscall for id 85: File exists
    vzquota on failed [3]
    vzquota : (error) Quota is not running for id 85
    Performing postcreate actions
    Container private area was created
    root@server [/vz/template/cache]#
    Is everything fine? or there is something wrong...
    It seems to be issue with initializing quota. what is " lsmod | grep -i quota"
    24x7 PROACTIVE SERVER MANAGEMENT | OUTSOURCED WEB HOSTING SUPPORT
    Sales : sales @ syslint.com | Call us : (+91)9447607799 | Are you looking for DevOps Admins ?

  22. #22
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    inside wht
    Posts
    746
    Quote Originally Posted by Chris_M View Post
    All VPS servers you create need to have an ID number greater than 100 (100 is used by the system. ) Start at 101 for you VPS ID's and go up from there. All of this is covered in the tutorial as well.
    I have VPS with CTID less than 100
    24x7 PROACTIVE SERVER MANAGEMENT | OUTSOURCED WEB HOSTING SUPPORT
    Sales : sales @ syslint.com | Call us : (+91)9447607799 | Are you looking for DevOps Admins ?

  23. #23
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    1,668
    Quote Originally Posted by vcPanel View Post
    I have VPS with CTID less than 100
    While you may be able to do that, the docs suggest other,

    Every Virtual Private Server has a numeric ID, also known as VPS ID, associated with it. The ID is a 32-bit integer number beginning with zero and unique for a given Hardware Node. When choosing an ID for your Virtual Private Server, please follow the simple guidelines below:
    �� ID 0 is used for the Hardware Node itself. You cannot and should not try to create a Virtual Private Server with ID 0.
    �� OpenVZ reserves the IDs ranging from 0 to 100. Though OpenVZ uses only ID 0, different versions might use additional Virtual Private Servers IDs for internal needs. To facilitate upgrading, please do not create Virtual Private Servers with IDs below 101.
    The only strict requirement for a VPS ID is to be unique for a particular Hardware Node. However, if you are going to have several computers running OpenVZ, we recommend assigning different VPS ID ranges to them. For example, on Hardware Node 1 you create Virtual Private Servers within the range of IDs from 101 to 1000; on Hardware Node 2 you use the range from 1001 to 2000, and so on. This approach makes it easier to remember on which Hardware Node a Virtual Private Server has been created, and eliminates the possibility of VPS ID conflicts when a Virtual Private Server migrates from one Hardware Node to another.

  24. #24
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    inside wht
    Posts
    746
    Quote Originally Posted by Chris_M View Post
    While you may be able to do that, the docs suggest other,
    The ID 0 for your hardware node. And if you arrange ID's in a range for each particular nodes it will be easy for managing . Unfortunately there seems to be no other reservation for CTIDS . Still searching it .


    Any one have any docs for it ?
    24x7 PROACTIVE SERVER MANAGEMENT | OUTSOURCED WEB HOSTING SUPPORT
    Sales : sales @ syslint.com | Call us : (+91)9447607799 | Are you looking for DevOps Admins ?

  25. #25
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    1,668
    Quote Originally Posted by vcPanel View Post
    The ID 0 for your hardware node. And if you arrange ID's in a range for each particular nodes it will be easy for managing . Unfortunately there seems to be no other reservation for CTIDS . Still searching it .


    Any one have any docs for it ?
    The quote I posted was from the docs.
    Attached Files Attached Files

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Installing openVZ on CentOS 5.2 64-bit
    By websplash in forum Systems Management Requests
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-09-2008, 06:32 PM
  2. CentOS 5 - Problem Installing OpenVZ Kernel
    By EdwardTobia in forum Hosting Security and Technology
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-22-2008, 11:19 AM
  3. Quota Problem in OpenVZ/HyperVM/CentOS
    By JohnSH in forum VPS Hosting
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 06-10-2008, 04:27 PM
  4. Problem with installing HyperVM on CentOS (Problem w/ YUM?)
    By DennisM in forum Hosting Security and Technology
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 11-05-2007, 09:05 PM
  5. problem with installing linux centos
    By goolex in forum Hosting Security and Technology
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 02-13-2006, 07:09 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •