* Will buy LiteSpeed. Does Proxyshield (or BlackLotus) still needed to prevent DDoS?

Hi folks. I'm a newbie in this networking things

We will buy litespeed enterprise for our web server. I read from their features page (at http://www.litespeedtech.com/litespe...-editions.html) LiteSpeed enterprise has a very good (D)DoS protection.

- After bought Litespeed, do we still need to purchase Gigenet Proxyshield (or BlackLotus)?

- What's the difference (in DDoS protection) between LiteSpeed and Gigenet/BlackLotus?

- Which one do most people need to protect their server from DDoS?

Litespeed is not a full proof ddos protection. It is scale to take on more httpd requests than other web server like apache can take.

Ultimately, you will still need a true DDOS protection provider to filter out the attack.

And yes, you will still need to get anti dos protection if you are really EXPECTING DDOS attack.

Usually, servers that run IRC network will get the most DDOS activities.

If you are running small personal, non-profit sites, i doubt your server will be a target to be ddos.

Hope it helps.
    L
    I work with a cup of tea, prefer green tea.

Quote Originally Posted by Tealeaf View Post
    If you are running small personal, non-profit sites, i doubt your server will be a target to be ddos.
    we will run a commercial SaaS applicaction. is it vulnerable to ddos target attack?

Litespeed is an application. For efffective protection, you need hardware DDOS protection, rather than just relying on software (apache/litespeed, etc) protection. There is a huge difference between th etwo.

As far as "do I need ddos protection?" Honestly, only you can answer that really. Have you seen DDOS attacks in the past? Is your app (website) new, or is it something established? Is it 'popular', or is it something that attracts a few 100 visitors a day? Only you can decide whether or not you need to go with a DDOS appliance.
    Tom Whiting, WHMCS Guru extraordinaire