Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Looking for Managed VPS with no root access (maybe...)

Hi all,

I'm looking for a managed VPS probably *without* root access.

I'm a coder who'd like to let an expert take care of server management, especially security, hence why I'm looking for a managed VPS. I'm paranoid and I don't want to be kept awake at night worrying about servers getting hacked.

Now because I'm paranoid about security I'm reluctant to go with a managed VPS provider that gives me full root access (I realise people usually want this). I'm ready to be proved wrong but it seems like there's more chance of security maintenance going wrong if you give me, a server admin rookie, root access.

All of the managed VPS hosts that have been recommended to me so far *do* give full root access, which as explained I think its best to avoid for my situation. These hosts are KnownHost and WiredTree.

So I'm looking for a Managed VPS with the following

* Managed VPS - pro-active patching, security, server hardening

* Apache

* MySQL

* PHP

* No root access, unless you can allay my fears given above

* SSH access

* Support can install Passenger, Varnish, GIT, and SSL certificate for me

Any guidance would be greatly appreciated, many thanks in advance,

Eliot

Having root access, and being responsible with it (ie. not making system changes that you're unsure of) shouldn't pose any problems. I don't think you should limit yourself to providers that do not provide the client root level access. Most truly managed providers will take care of the things you outlined without a problem. The only issue might be with third party software installs; depending on the provider, they might install but not provide any other support besides that. Have you thought about which control panel you feel more comfortable with?
    -M