Question Host multiple domains? (not for resale)

Hey All,

I’m new to WHT…

I am a developer and I am currently looking for a host to host a personal website of mine. I am going to use the site for a blog, picture gallery, resume, and also for testing purposes. I will probably be developing other web applications that I would like to run on the server. I also need a good amount of disk space (>= 3 gigs), as I would like to host large image files through my gallery. I don’t foresee the site generating a huge amount of traffic but a decent amount of bandwidth is required.

I don’t need any preinstalled software, as I will be writing the site on my own, all I need is the basic LAMP setup and want something very responsive. Mainly I will be using PHP or Perl but I would like to also have the option to use Java Servlets (Tomcat) or C++. Shell access would also be a huge plus. I know enough about Unix so support is not a major issue of mine as long as the service is reliable and I get a good amount of computer resources.

I also would like to have the option to host other domains on the account at little or preferably no cost. I am NOT looking to resell my account, but instead put up other work or test related sites for myself. So I do not need a control panel or anything else for that matter.

Cost is a major issue for me, as I would like to spend no more than $15 a month, maybe $20 if I could get root access and install my own software.

Can you give me any advice as to what I should be looking for? Is a reseller account the only account I can host multiple domains on? Should I look into a cheap VPS or will I not be able to run LAMP stably because of RAM limitations? Are there good, shared web hosts out there that allow multiple domains with my requirements?

Thanks for the help…